Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
1,270 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there! I'm a newbie and I do more reading on this forum and so this is my first thread. Now I have been thinking a while now of whether it is possible to drop a V6 into a 5 door and how simple or complicated it is?I have done a search and I cannot find anything on this topic so I'm guessing that nobody has done this project before.Now I know I can have a 156 v6 or the GTA but no offence to any 156/GTA owners but I want to keep my 5 door 147 and dont want to get into 147 vs 156 debate. Also other than dropping a v6 what else do I need to change (remap,suspension,etc).Any advice will be great as I'm no mechanic.

Thanks in advance

P.S.

I forgot to mention I own a Alfa 147 2.0l Lusso:cool:

L

·
0 Posts
too much hassle, better to buy a 147 GTA, you will need at least:

engine
engine wiring loom
clutch
gearbox
ecu/body computer/key's
engine bay/dash wiring loom
fr uprights x 2
330mm brembo front calipers & brakes
GTA front & rear suspension
GTA Fr & Rear ARbs
+ lots of time

·
Registered
1,270 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks for the advice guys.I know its going to be a hassle but if it can be done,anyone knows or heard if its done?I scene somewhere that a 156 facelift version been modified with an 3.2 v6 engine or was it a 3.7?

I have been toying the idea of buying a second car too,just don't know if I should go for 147GTA,156GTA,GT 3.2 or a 3.0 GTV.Spoilt for choice :inlove:

The thing is I like the idea of a 3.2 on a 5 door but keep the 2.0l badge on and be interesting to see people face when they are left behind by the lights:cheese:

·
Registered
573 Posts
Thanks for the advice guys.I know its going to be a hassle but if it can be done,anyone knows or heard if its done?I scene somewhere that a 156 facelift version been modified with an 3.2 v6 engine or was it a 3.7?