Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 65 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
476 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi Peeps. I’ve been very quiet. My GTV is running very good, and all my conversions are running and finished. Well so i thought, till last night.

Last night a friend gave me a call. He bought a 145 on auction. Complete car, just missing the Engine end gearbox. He wants to sell it to me for R3500. I can’t say now for it at that price. Only crap its that lime green colour, but that we can sort out, with a nice red or black.

Now for the technical stuff. Me and Turbonutters had a chat last night. I want to use this topic to get most of the technical stuff on the parts that are interchangeable between the 145, 156 and GTV6 for such a conversion.

Mounting the Engine and gearbox.
Some say the 2.5l (156) and 3.0 GTV motor and gearbox is a straight fit onto the 145 nose.
1. Will there be any mods to be done to the 145 cross member for the V6 fitment and the exhaust?
2. Will V6 Mountings fit on the 145 body engine and gearbox mountings? Straight or Modification needed?
3. V6 has a Cable shift Gearbox. How easy is it to fit the cable shift selector setup in the car
4. The 145 speedo picks up from the gearbox. The V6 picks up from the CV. Will the 156 Struts and front brakes, hubs , fit on the 145 lower control arm
5. What CV’s and Shafts do I need?
6.

Electronics.
1. ECU. I want to keep it STD (If I can) I know its easy just to slap on a aftermarket ECU, But to keep it True Alfa will be better.
2. I want to use the wire loom and the ECU of the engine that I’ll be using.
3. I dont want to remove the 145 ABS setup. Can i keep it in?
4. Will i be able to splice in the V6 ECU wires into the 145 ECU Wire loom?

Motor
1. Now the Question of the Motor. Mr Nutters say 3.0l (GTV one) I say 2.5l (156 one)
2. 2.5l. Reason you can Pick up a rear ended 156 2.5 V6 at SMD for like R10k to R15k. Then you got everything you need for this conversion. Any Ideas what to look for?
3. Mr Nutter Mentioned that the Pre 2000 156 model parts must be used. Please tell me more.

Gearbox
1. 5 Speed or 6 peed
2. What V6 comes all standard with 6 speed boxes
3. What comes with 5 speed.
4. It’s there really such a biiig differences between the 5 and 6 speed boxes?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,285 Posts
I might be wrong, but the front of the 145 and the 155 was exactly the same......
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
13,815 Posts
OK. When I have time I'll search for that black 145 with the GTA motor and gearbox, it had a COMPLETE build thread somewhere on the net.

That should be of majour help to you! I love it when people modify Alfa's...

Ah, here we go, read and enjoy


Alfa Romeo Community: Page 1

maybe get intouch with the builder and ask questions! Go Big or Go Home! There is a 156 GTA that was burnt to a crisp from the dash backwards, meaning, the electronics, ecu and engine and gbox and side shafts are in tact...check here and contact the alfamaniacs lol...

The Cape Alfa Romeo Club - Classifieds
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
476 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Correct. 145 and 155 Nose inside the engine bay are the same. Dunno about the cross member though.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
476 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks Guili.... Thats the Motor i want
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
13,815 Posts
did you read that 145 GTA 3.2 build thread? Very detailed, will definately help you!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
476 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
did you read that 145 GTA 3.2 build thread? Very detailed, will definately help you!
Yes i did. Great job they have done, but then again. We in SA have to make due with what we can get, and then there is the Cost factor.

I dont see any reason for changing the rear axle. interating the 145 Cluster with the V6 wire loom, will be some serious Witchery to get everything working together.

We dont have the tools here to remap the ECU like they do.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,004 Posts
1st off: Just do it!!

Motor
1. Now the Question of the Motor. Mr Nutters say 3.0l (GTV one) I say 2.5l (156 one)
2. 2.5l. Reason you can Pick up a rear ended 156 2.5 V6 at SMD for like R10k to R15k. Then you got everything you need for this conversion. Any Ideas what to look for?
The 3.0 has so much more grunt in it - go for it, unless you get that cheap 2.5

We in SA have to make due with what we can get, and then there is the Cost factor
You'll have to forget about the money - it is NOT cost effective I was under the impression +/-R20k for V6 and gearbox, then you start on building costs - easily end up R25k - R40k - you'll have to WANT to do it. Most here will recommend you do a belt change before you install - regardless of what mileage on the engine - you don't want to risk it after a build like this

Gearbox
2. What V6 comes all standard with 6 speed boxes
4. It’s there really such a biiig differences between the 5 and 6 speed boxes?
All V6's have 6speed and you cannot put a Q2 in 5 speed box - you have to get some other LSD at more $$$$
5th gear in a 145 sits at close to 4000rpm at just above 120km/h - it will run out of legs if you push it on that private road.

will be some serious Witchery to get everything working together.
We dont have the tools here to remap the ECU like they do.
You'll have to get a V6 ECU - no way you'll get the 4 cylinder ECU "doctored" to handle timing and fueling for 6 cylinders - not enough outputs. I'd recommend getting a stand-alone ECU to handle timing and fueling - Old ECU "could" still handle auxiliaries like ABS, fans, etc.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7,047 Posts
The v6 is a straight bolt in job nothing changed from the 155, 145 to the 156, GT and 147.
Q2 fits in both V6 5spd and 6spd box without a problem. Bothe are cable shift.
Speedo isn’t working from the CV it runs from the ABS magnet strip on the wheel bearings so the 2000 145 will be ok as far as that is concerned. I am actually sure that if you can find the output from the ABS unit that drives the early 156 it will probably be on the 2000 145 ABS as well since they used the same ABS EBD system and probably the harness as well. If the cluster will accept the input is another question.
If you get a 155 V6 5spd box you can use the normal Speedo drive running from the gearbox and fit a Q2 you will just have to transfer the speedo gear from the OE dif to the Q2 as well.
Management is another story but if you get a early (pre 2000) 156 it might not be as difficult since the systems were not as integrated, if I remember correctly only 6 wires connecting the ECU loom and normal car loom.
You can fit 3.0 GTV front struts with hub carriers and brakes or just change the complete side shafts from the 2.0 units to GTV 3.0 or 155 2.5 units they fit in perfectly.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
476 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
Thanks Gertie. i see the 156 V6 makes about 140kw. Thats more than enough in a 145.

Also noticed the 156 have a calbeless TB, like my GTV. I recon the Accel peddle unit of the 156 must be build into the 145 to work.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7,047 Posts
Yes but that is easy if you get a early 156
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
476 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
So just to be Clear... All 156 2.5 V6 motors is 24v. and all of them came out with cable-less TB's?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7,047 Posts
Yes
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
476 Posts
Discussion Starter · #14 ·
OK. So why is the Pre2000 ECU easy to connect and not the Post 2000?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
476 Posts
Discussion Starter · #15 ·
Oh.. and the 156 V6 has the Bosch ME 2.1 ECU in with the MY97 Airbag setup?

145 has the Bosch M1.5.5 ECU and a TRW MY99 airbag ECU
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7,047 Posts
Between 2002 is still fine as well but the ones without side impact air bags are the best.
The newer they got the more integrated everything got.
Unless you will be using aftermarket management i will not get a 156 with the ecu on the plenum.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
476 Posts
Discussion Starter · #17 ·
Cool. Let the Hunt begin.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,004 Posts
The v6 is a straight bolt in job nothing changed from the 155, 145 to the 156, GT and 147.
3ltr V6 Engine - Alfa Romeo 145 - 146 Forum
The write-up here suggest there is a bit of chop-and-changing to be done, but if you think of the 155 and 156 came out in both 2.0TS and 2.5V6 - I think this guy tried to make things difficult for himself - you get that from time to time.
Q2 fits in both V6 5spd and 6spd box without a problem. Both are cable shift.
RIGHT!!! my bad! I still suggest the 6 speed - your car will have longer legs and cruising is just better in 6th

So just to be Clear... All 156 2.5 V6 motors is 24v. and all of them came out with cable-less TB's?
You answered yourself: I recon the Accel peddle unit of the 156 must be build into the 145 to work. Two more reasons: idling control is done by ECU on TB - on the 145 it had a stepper motor to control idling. 2nd: cruise control - maybe later project?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
476 Posts
Discussion Starter · #19 ·
if i decide to use an aftermarket ECU, will the TB still work?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7,047 Posts
No then you fit a tb from a old gtv v6 or something of similar size
 
1 - 20 of 65 Posts
Top