Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts
P

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
evening gents I'm new to this forum but have a quick question about the 1.9 diesel engine as far as I can gather they come in two guises 119ishbhp and 150 bhp.

question is do you just remap a 119 to get a 150? and if not whats involved in tweaking it up?

I recently drove a veloce 150bhp job with a 6 speed box and I was well impressed, to the point I'm considering buying my first diesel.

many thanks for the soon to be arriving, full of wisdom answers.:)

Jim

·
Registered
188 Posts
Im no expert but i just bought the 156 jtd mjet 16v 1.9. my understanding is this is the 140bhp. mine is an 04 plate but i think some of the later engines gave 150bhp. with a remap ive read you can get the 140 to give 150bhp but im perfectly happy with mine. If you want a stupidly fast diesel get the 2.4jtd:thumbs:

·
Registered
207 Posts
im no expert but i just bought the 156 jtd mjet 16v 1.9. My understanding is this is the 140bhp. Mine is an 04 plate but i think some of the later engines gave 150bhp. With a remap ive read you can get the 140 to give 150bhp but im perfectly happy with mine. if you want a stupidly fast diesel get the 2.4jtd:thumbs:
+1

:)

·
Registered
166 Posts
Easy answer.

115BHP = 8valve

140BHP = 16 valve

You can, however, get either re-mapped to add about 30 ish horsepower although I
don't know how much

·
Registered
5,621 Posts
it's true i attended a remapping meet a few months ago and the GT JTDM's and the 156 JTDM both saw increases around that infact the GT may even have gained closer to 40 bhp if memory serves both are 1.9s not to mention huge increases in torque

·
Registered
3,809 Posts
The first JTDs were 8v and had 105bhp (156), then 110 (156), then 115 (147 & 156), then 120 (147 & 156).

Then the JTD mulitjet 16v came out with 140bhp in the 147 and 156 and 150 in the GT.

At the end of the 156's production run a few 150 mjet 156s were built.