Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I'm new to the Alfa world and I'm hoping to move from my trusty Fiat Stilo 1.2 (which is my first car and I've had for 8 years now) to an Alfa 159 but I'm torn between either the 1.9 diesel or 1.8 petrol. I've read threads on here and people say the 1.9 is the better choice of the two but I'm worried about DPF problems, sticking EGR valves etc as I only do short journeys. Don't really want to go for the 2.2 as its going to be thirsty and I'd love a 1.75TB but its a bit out of my price range; is the 1.8 any good considering I'm coming from a 1.2 litre 75bhp shopping trolley? :D

Thanks

·
Premium Member
5,395 Posts
Hi,

I'm new to the Alfa world and I'm hoping to move from my trusty Fiat Stilo 1.2 (which is my first car and I've had for 8 years now) to an Alfa 159 but I'm torn between either the 1.9 diesel or 1.8 petrol. I've read threads on here and people say the 1.9 is the better choice of the two but I'm worried about DPF problems, sticking EGR valves etc as I only do short journeys. Don't really want to go for the 2.2 as its going to be thirsty and I'd love a 1.75TB but its a bit out of my price range; is the 1.8 any good considering I'm coming from a 1.2 litre 75bhp shopping trolley? :D

Thanks
Petrols the way to go for short journeys. The 1.9JTDm engine suits the 159 well though and makes a lovely combination. I have had a 1.9JTS too and there is a big difference in fuel economy! The 159 is a heavy car, it is also deceptively fast - you never quite feel that you are going as fast as you are! If I were you I think I'd be out there trying to get a long test drive with the computer readout on mpg and see what you think. You might find that there isn't as big a difference between the 2.2 & the 1.8 as you think.

·
Registered
36,768 Posts