Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi forgive me as I know there is a lot on hear about the oil drinking in TS engines....but...

I'm new to the TS motor. When I bought my 1.6 TS about 3 weeks ago the oil was at half on the dipstick - fine I thought. Then the other day the 'low pressure' message came on the dashboard while going round a corner. Went off, then came on again and stayed on - fortunately close to home!!

I stopped, checked the dipstick and was horrified to find no oil on the stick - not even at the tip!!! so in about 3 weeks or 500 odd miles its used all the oil in the engine!!?? Really that can't be right!?

So the question is what could be the cause of this excessive oil consumption? I know the TS uses about 1ltr per 1000 miles. but in this case it appears to have drunk at least 3 ltrs in about 500 miles!!??? I cant see any blue smoke and there is no puddle of oil on the driveway!? Are there any common/known things I can look for?

For now I've filled it up with 10w40 and it seems to be ok. I'm terrified I may have caused serious engine damage so will get it properly checked out. In the meantime any help/advise welcomed, cheers

·
Registered
801 Posts
It’s probably not used *all* the oil - the difference between max & min is a litre and it holds 4.5l - but there won’t be much left, maybe 3l. It’s best to always run as close to the max mark as possible.

A litre in 1000 miles is the ‘acceptable’ upper end of consumption, but leaks and burning can easily increase that. I had a 2.0 TS 156 that did a litre every 4-500 miles consistently. There was a leak from the rear main seal (between engine & gearbox) and it had a fair few miles on it. The leak didn’t leave so much as spot on the ground but it was still there. They also can leak from the rocker cover gasket. Basically I had to check and top up a couple of times a week, or after a long run. Enthusiastic driving would also up the consumption.