Camshafts - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Tuning & Upgrades Discuss performance enhancements for your Alfa Romeo

 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 28 Old 03-10-15 Thread Starter
Status: Working Hard On 156 Veloce 3.0 Turbo Project
AO Silver Member
 
mirlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Northamptonshire
Posts: 1,309
Camshafts

Hi All

If i was to get some inlet Cams from a 3.2 GT would it be worth fitting to my 166 3.0 Engine. ive searched about and all i can find is the Gt 3.2 cams are not as good an upgrade as the GTA cams
mirlock is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: playing kill by numbers
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Belgium
County: Down in the Park
Posts: 8,786
as far as I know the 3.2 cams are all the same. in fact all 3.2 engines are the same aswell.
Pud237 likes this.
Cuore_Sportivo_155 is offline  
Status: no pain, no gain
AO Silver Member
 
yan.ko's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Czech Republic
County: Moravskoslezský
Posts: 1,951
Garage
yes, 3.2 GT and GTA camshafts are the same
Pud237 likes this.
yan.ko is offline  
(Post Link) post #4 of 28 Old 04-10-15 Thread Starter
Status: Working Hard On 156 Veloce 3.0 Turbo Project
AO Silver Member
 
mirlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Northamptonshire
Posts: 1,309
Thx guys

Nice to know
mirlock is offline  
Status: Race cars in progress
AO Silver Member
 
Gertie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Posts: 5,990
Garage
Mirlock, one can re-grind the 2.5 / 3.0 cams to 3.2 inlet spec and have the 3.2 inlet profile matched (re-grind) on the exhaust cams without need to change anything else (the extra play in the valve lifters will pick up the slack). I have done this (both inlet and exhaust to 3.2 inlet spec) last year to my 3.0 and works well.

The wider exhaust helps N/A a bit more than Turbo. The Turbo will like the wider inlet
Gertie is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: United Kingdom
County: Carmarthenshire
Posts: 3,982

Member car:

Alfa 156 Gta

3.2 cams arent that wild.. if purchasing the cams would be better saving up and getting the 3.0 cams reground.. Jim K can offer a regrind service
maxiboy wales is offline  
Status: Race cars in progress
AO Silver Member
 
Gertie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Posts: 5,990
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxiboy wales View Post
3.2 cams arent that wild.. if purchasing the cams would be better saving up and getting the 3.0 cams reground.. Jim K can offer a regrind service
Yes - this is what I have been trying to say - I have reground my cams here in SA at Vanderlinde and it works well. Just make sure they harden the cams after grinding, otherwise they will grind themselves and the valve lifters over time
Gertie is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Chris155's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 2,963
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gertie View Post
Yes - this is what I have been trying to say - I have reground my cams here in SA at Vanderlinde and it works well. Just make sure they harden the cams after grinding, otherwise they will grind themselves and the valve lifters over time
Maxiboy is saying the 3.2 inlet profile isn't as good as it could be and is suggesting the OP looks at Jim K's thread - he's offering a regrind that apes a Renault clio williams spec which is regarded as being 'wilder' than the 3.2 profile.
Chris155 is offline  
Status: Race cars in progress
AO Silver Member
 
Gertie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Posts: 5,990
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris155 View Post
Maxiboy is saying the 3.2 inlet profile isn't as good as it could be and is suggesting the OP looks at Jim K's thread - he's offering a regrind that apes a Renault clio williams spec which is regarded as being 'wilder' than the 3.2 profile.
Agreed, you can go wilder, but head warning that one start loosing vacuum at idle and coming quickly off the throttle straight onto the brakes - brake assist are much less in those situations and can be alarming One guy I know added a vacuum collector and another even resorted to adding a vacuum pump to compensate
Gertie is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Chris155's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 2,963
Chris155 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Ipoh, Malaysia
Posts: 223
I have Jim's 10mm cams in my 156 3.0 Auto. The idle is lumpy. Usable on a stock map, but not recommended.There are a few of us with his 10mm cam setup. Stock 3.0 with the 10mm cams can go from 230 bhp to 265 bhp. He tried it on a 147 3.0. Saabretooth has the10mm cams in a modified GT 3.2 and has 300 bhp. Most if not all of FWD car owners use the long runners which cut down top end power by quite a bit according to Jim's simulations. But the torque advantage is quite big for low rpm torque.

The 9.Xmm profile will net you less, maybe 250+ or so (not sure) but will be better for a road car.

I just purchased another 10mm set from him for my Alfa 75 3.2 race car. I can remap the Autronic ECU myself so idle is not going to be an issue. .

For road use, I'd recommend the 9.x mm Clio Williams cam profile. It's a lot better than the GTA(inlet)+stock(exhaust) combo performance wise.

2006 Honda Accord CL9 Type S 6-Speed
1996 155 2.5 V6, Squadra Tuning, RJR Cams
1995 164 Super 3.0 24V
2001 156 3.0 V6, Jim Kartalamakis 10mm cams,
1987 75 3.2 V6, Jim Kartalamakis 10mm cams, Stage2 Injectors, Autronic SM3 & CDI 500R
75evo is offline  
(Post Link) post #12 of 28 Old 08-10-15 Thread Starter
Status: Working Hard On 156 Veloce 3.0 Turbo Project
AO Silver Member
 
mirlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Northamptonshire
Posts: 1,309
Thanks alot guys for the information i will go and have a good read. i did look in to regrind but was not sure what results i would get, The link below was one option.

Also im worried with all the mods im doing will i end up with more torque then the gearbox can take and rip it to bits

Reading time thx again

Products - Piper Cams - Europe?s leading manufacturer of performance camshafts

Last edited by mirlock; 08-10-15 at 22:57.
mirlock is offline  
Status: no pain, no gain
AO Silver Member
 
yan.ko's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Czech Republic
County: Moravskoslezský
Posts: 1,951
Garage
Are we talking about N/A 3.0 or turbo? Turbo has quite different needs to cam than N/A
yan.ko is offline  
Status: Race cars in progress
AO Silver Member
 
Gertie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Posts: 5,990
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by yan.ko View Post
Are we talking about N/A 3.0 or turbo? Turbo has quite different needs to cam than N/A
Yes one should decide what ones desires are... IMHO that is where the GTA inlet and exhaust combo is a nice and not OTT for either scenarios.
Gertie is offline  
(Post Link) post #15 of 28 Old 09-10-15 Thread Starter
Status: Working Hard On 156 Veloce 3.0 Turbo Project
AO Silver Member
 
mirlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Northamptonshire
Posts: 1,309
Quote:
Originally Posted by yan.ko View Post
Are we talking about N/A 3.0 or turbo? Turbo has quite different needs to cam than N/A

Its 3.0 turbo
3.2 Red injectors
enlarged plenum 90mm neck to fit throttle body
f430 throttle body
90mm induction pipes from intercooler
td05h g20 turbo 8-10 psi (adjustable)
fully ported
CR 9:1

So cams are about last thing to modify on the engine i think besides remap which i will do last
mirlock is offline  
Status: Race cars in progress
AO Silver Member
 
Gertie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Posts: 5,990
Garage
You'll gain more from cams than that HUGE throttle body in a turbo environment - well actually this is also true for N/A.

If you have to still spend money to get the TB, I'd rather spend that money on the cams TBH. If you already have it, sure go that way
Gertie is offline  
(Post Link) post #17 of 28 Old 09-10-15 Thread Starter
Status: Working Hard On 156 Veloce 3.0 Turbo Project
AO Silver Member
 
mirlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Northamptonshire
Posts: 1,309
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gertie View Post
You'll gain more from cams than that HUGE throttle body in a turbo environment - well actually this is also true for N/A.

If you have to still spend money to get the TB, I'd rather spend that money on the cams TBH. If you already have it, sure go that way
I have everything and all fitted and working except the cams
With advise and reading others experiences i will choose what will be the best cam regrind to get and try to get it done next month and fit them.
i want what is best for the engine but with a stable idle, as i will not be happy with a lumpy idle.

How much does it cost to get a regrind and should i just get inlet reground and forget exhaust cams ?

also can i regrind my 2.5 cams or only the 3.0 cams

Last edited by mirlock; 09-10-15 at 10:43.
mirlock is offline  
Status: Race cars in progress
AO Silver Member
 
Gertie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Posts: 5,990
Garage
If you stick to below 260 degree cam's it will idle ok enough. With aircon on (idle lifted to 900rpm) mine idles OEM. Aircon off, one can hear it is warm cams, but not like
Gertie is offline  
Status: Race cars in progress
AO Silver Member
 
Gertie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Posts: 5,990
Garage
2.5 and 3.0 cams are identical
Gertie is offline  
(Post Link) post #20 of 28 Old 09-10-15 Thread Starter
Status: Working Hard On 156 Veloce 3.0 Turbo Project
AO Silver Member
 
mirlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Northamptonshire
Posts: 1,309
How do these spec of regrind cams look like and would you think it would give me a little more then gta and still an steady idle although they are over 260

inlet 272 / exhaust 268 / inlet lift 10.16 / exhaust lift 9.53 / inlet timing 32-60 / exhaust timing 62-26 / overlap 58 / inlet full lift 104 / exhaust full lift 104

Or the one in link that is 260

Products - Piper Cams - Europe?s leading manufacturer of performance camshafts

Also what cam locks am i going need or will it be a custom job

Last edited by mirlock; 09-10-15 at 12:04.
mirlock is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,752
Quote:
Originally Posted by mirlock View Post
also can i regrind my 2.5 cams or only the 3.0 cams
2.5 & 3.0 cams are exactly the same.

3.2 use the same exhaust cam as a 2.5 & 3.0, but a different inlet cam.
Pud237 is offline  
(Post Link) post #22 of 28 Old 09-10-15 Thread Starter
Status: Working Hard On 156 Veloce 3.0 Turbo Project
AO Silver Member
 
mirlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Northamptonshire
Posts: 1,309
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pud237 View Post
2.5 & 3.0 cams are exactly the same.

3.2 use the same exhaust cam as a 2.5 & 3.0, but a different inlet cam.
Thanks for that Pud.



Ive had a good read and ive had a phone about. im still on a budget so i have to keep cost down as ive still got the stage 2 clutch to buy plus other stuff, so this being the case how does this sound and will it work.

keeping exhaust cams stock and having the inlet re-profiled to (below) for 220

inlet duration 260 / valve lift 9.65 / inlet timing 21-59 / inlet atdc 109 / lift tdc clearance 1.02mm


What do you guys think ?
mirlock is offline  
Status: no pain, no gain
AO Silver Member
 
yan.ko's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Czech Republic
County: Moravskoslezský
Posts: 1,951
Garage
personally I wouldn't bother. Vernier pulleys would be more helpful
yan.ko is offline  
(Post Link) post #24 of 28 Old 09-10-15 Thread Starter
Status: Working Hard On 156 Veloce 3.0 Turbo Project
AO Silver Member
 
mirlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Northamptonshire
Posts: 1,309
Hmm im getting confused now with threads saying get gta cams and others saying regrind a new profile and now pulleys.
mirlock is offline  
(Post Link) post #25 of 28 Old 09-10-15 Thread Starter
Status: Working Hard On 156 Veloce 3.0 Turbo Project
AO Silver Member
 
mirlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Northamptonshire
Posts: 1,309
Found this profile for alfa's , the bottom profile with 300 duration i guess would be aggressive

http://www.newman-cams.com/pdf/alfaromeo.pdf
mirlock is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Tuning & Upgrades

Tags
camshafts

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome