JTD 8V with JTDm turbo / now JTDm 16v Stilo - Page 24 - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Tuning & Upgrades Discuss performance enhancements for your Alfa Romeo

 119Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #576 of 597 Old 27-04-19 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Germany
County: Bayern
Posts: 541
Please help me!

After i have installed the fmic, i have trouble with the VNT. They are to high. First tought: boost leak. But the air quantity is ok.

Here a 4th gear log with stock ic and fmic.
http://www.danverclan.de/downloads/s...c_vs_fmic.xlsx

What is the cause of that? Overbosst valve? dead turbo? vaccum issue?
crossshot is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: [URL
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wrexham
Posts: 1,758
air qty is maf before turbo , the boost pressure is lower fmic say 3000rpm up and yet vnt is 10% higher.
still looks like boost leak to me
boost leak pic.png
worth going over all pipe clips again had similar with my fmic if i remember right.

Last edited by sussexa; 28-04-19 at 17:48.
sussexa is offline  
(Post Link) post #578 of 597 Old 28-04-19 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Germany
County: Bayern
Posts: 541
Thank you!

But about the MAF. When you have a boost leak, your air quantity will be higher. And there are no big difference.

And i remove yesterday all pipes, check all clamps and install it again. Same VNT...

I try to get a hard pipe as soon as possible.
crossshot is offline  
(Post Link) post #579 of 597 Old 02-05-19 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Germany
County: Bayern
Posts: 541
I don't think its a boost leak. I exchange a few month ago the vnt actuator and i think this is the problem. I try to shorten the rod and see what happens...

new material

327s injectors - cleaned, checked and new ima codes as 308s
http://www.danverclan.de/media/pics/..._stilo_252.jpg

and new inlet manifold without swirl (stock). The old manifold was leaky and with plugs for the swirl.
I removed all stock studs and use studs with allen drive. Its easyer to remove the manifold in the future.
http://www.danverclan.de/media/pics/..._stilo_253.jpg
http://www.danverclan.de/media/pics/..._stilo_254.jpg
http://www.danverclan.de/media/pics/..._stilo_255.jpg
http://www.danverclan.de/media/pics/..._stilo_256.jpg
http://www.danverclan.de/media/pics/..._stilo_257.jpg
http://www.danverclan.de/media/pics/..._stilo_258.jpg
http://www.danverclan.de/media/pics/..._stilo_259.jpg
crossshot is offline  
Status: 329 hp
Club Member
Membro Medio
 
JS JTD's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 1004
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Netherlands
County: Noord Brabant
Posts: 1,710
It is normal for the VNT to jump some up after installation of a FMIC. Initially, the boost drops because of the lower temperature of the intake air. So the ECU compensates this by increasing VNT.
I have seen it more often.

For the studs with internal hex; nice solution! But ofcourse you can also use (allen) bolts instead of studs.
JS JTD is offline  
(Post Link) post #581 of 597 Old 03-05-19 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Germany
County: Bayern
Posts: 541
Quote:
Originally Posted by JS JTD View Post
It is normal for the VNT to jump some up after installation of a FMIC. Initially, the boost drops because of the lower temperature of the intake air. So the ECU compensates this by increasing VNT.
I have seen it more often.

For the studs with internal hex; nice solution! But ofcourse you can also use (allen) bolts instead of studs.
I know that with the VNT but now its very high and i don't reach the desired boost. So there is a problem.

In the past, i've used bolts. I don't know why: i like studs much more But what the engineers thought... If you want to remove the manifold, the timing belt and the engine braket has to be removed in the Stilo. Thats so much work! My way: cut a part of the manifold and remove the studs.
crossshot is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
County: -
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by crossshot View Post
And the new engine mount braket is great. Lower engine noise inside the car and lower vibrations.
Hi,

Loving your work, i also have a Stilo 115 8V, great car. Mine have 333.000 km, still pulling strong.
May i ask which engine mount did you applied? I am having problems finding a quality engine mount.
bianom is offline  
(Post Link) post #583 of 597 Old 06-05-19 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Germany
County: Bayern
Posts: 541
Quote:
Originally Posted by bianom View Post
Hi,

Loving your work, i also have a Stilo 115 8V, great car. Mine have 333.000 km, still pulling strong.
May i ask which engine mount did you applied? I am having problems finding a quality engine mount.
I use stock engine mount (from Fiat), but from later models.

You can use a 120hp mount but on this model the ecu is at the battery box. The 120hp mount have no threads for the ecu braket.

And look at the screws. For the later mount what i have used, i need longer screws.
crossshot is offline  
Status: 329 hp
Club Member
Membro Medio
 
JS JTD's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 1004
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Netherlands
County: Noord Brabant
Posts: 1,710
Quote:
Originally Posted by crossshot View Post
I know that with the VNT but now its very high and i don't reach the desired boost. So there is a problem.
I'm looking at your logs now, and you are right, that's a huge difference. With the intercooler it is a few % difference at most.
Did you check the turbo?
Maybe it is time for something new!

Quote:
Originally Posted by crossshot View Post
In the past, i've used bolts. I don't know why: i like studs much more But what the engineers thought... If you want to remove the manifold, the timing belt and the engine braket has to be removed in the Stilo. Thats so much work! My way: cut a part of the manifold and remove the studs.
Well, a stud a nice for positioning the part and to keep the engine thread better since you have to screw and unscrew the nut only. But since you have to remove the stud anyway for (dis)assembly, it is the same situation for bolts.
JS JTD is offline  
(Post Link) post #585 of 597 Old 07-05-19 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Germany
County: Bayern
Posts: 541
Quote:
Originally Posted by JS JTD View Post
I'm looking at your logs now, and you are right, that's a huge difference. With the intercooler it is a few % difference at most.
Did you check the turbo?
Maybe it is time for something new!
I hope i can place the order for "something new" very soon.

Yesterday i have adjusted the VNT actuator rod a shorten it two times. Spooling is way better now, VNT in higher revs drops but i don't reach the desired boost.

Here the logs from yesterday. And a new VNT actuator comes today.

http://www.danverclan.de/downloads/s..._gear_vnt.xlsx

For me, it looks like the turbo can not deliver more air quanitity.
crossshot is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
County: -
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by crossshot View Post
I use stock engine mount (from Fiat), but from later models.



You can use a 120hp mount but on this model the ecu is at the battery box. The 120hp mount have no threads for the ecu braket.



And look at the screws. For the later mount what i have used, i need longer screws.
Thanks a lot, i think i'll try an original 120 mjet mount, if necessary i can open the threads.
bianom is offline  
Status: [URL
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wrexham
Posts: 1,758
think you could back it off a little looks like too much with large boost spike now on adj no2 around 2500revs maf airrises very high but iq doesnt increase much at all from no adj or adj 1 , are you fuel limited ? needs a certain qty of fuel to make exhaust gas to spin turbo ?
can you try increasing iq 1-2mm3 and see if boost reaches desired and requires less vnt % to do it .
just a thought.your afr looks around just under 20 sure you could go into 18's or low 19's

Last edited by sussexa; 07-05-19 at 20:35.
sussexa is offline  
(Post Link) post #588 of 597 Old 08-05-19 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Germany
County: Bayern
Posts: 541
I give you a feedback when the new actuator is in.

Next step: fuel pump!

If someone remember, i build in my old stilo a hybrid pump. R55 pump with R65 eccentric shaft.
Now i did the same with the R70 pump. I've installed a R80 eccentric shaft.
When its installed, i show you logs before/after.

http://www.danverclan.de/media/pics/..._stilo_260.jpg
http://www.danverclan.de/media/pics/..._stilo_261.jpg
http://www.danverclan.de/media/pics/..._stilo_262.jpg
http://www.danverclan.de/media/pics/..._stilo_263.jpg
emre2blue likes this.

Last edited by crossshot; 08-05-19 at 20:38.
crossshot is offline  
Status: 329 hp
Club Member
Membro Medio
 
JS JTD's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 1004
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Netherlands
County: Noord Brabant
Posts: 1,710
Quote:
Originally Posted by crossshot View Post
I hope i can place the order for "something new" very soon.
Very good!

Quote:
Originally Posted by crossshot View Post
Yesterday i have adjusted the VNT actuator rod a shorten it two times. Spooling is way better now, VNT in higher revs drops but i don't reach the desired boost.

Here the logs from yesterday. And a new VNT actuator comes today.

http://www.danverclan.de/downloads/s..._gear_vnt.xlsx

For me, it looks like the turbo can not deliver more air quanitity.
Yes it is very strange. Something is not right for sure, as VNT is much too high around 4000 rpm. I would expect values around 30 with these conditions.
But on the other hand, spoolup is normal and the turbo delivers enough boost in the midrange, even too much with almost 3000 mbar. Is that with stock turbo btw? Not sure how long you can do that before you damage the turbo bearings. For sure is struggles to deliver its boost in the upper rpm range. What about exhaust restrictions, is there still a DPF in place? Maybe clogging?

147 JTDm 16v - GTB2060v - 329 hp/578 Nm
JS JTD is offline  
(Post Link) post #590 of 597 Old 09-05-19 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Germany
County: Bayern
Posts: 541
Quote:
Originally Posted by JS JTD View Post
Yes it is very strange. Something is not right for sure, as VNT is much too high around 4000 rpm. I would expect values around 30 with these conditions.
But on the other hand, spoolup is normal and the turbo delivers enough boost in the midrange, even too much with almost 3000 mbar. Is that with stock turbo btw? Not sure how long you can do that before you damage the turbo bearings. For sure is struggles to deliver its boost in the upper rpm range. What about exhaust restrictions, is there still a DPF in place? Maybe clogging?
Thats, its with stock turbo. The peak with 3000mbar was only one time for the log after the actuator adjustment. Before the adjustment the boost was never so high. And i dont drive WOT at the moment, if the problem is not solved.

The car has no dpf stock (2005 model). But exhaust clogging is a point, that i don't have checked yet. I have a look at this. Main cat is still under the car and exhaust is stock. But i remember, in the past i feel the heat of the muffler in the trunk floor (i never feel this in my old stilos). Mhhh maybe is the muffler bad inside.
crossshot is offline  
Status: 329 hp
Club Member
Membro Medio
 
JS JTD's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 1004
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Netherlands
County: Noord Brabant
Posts: 1,710
Quote:
Originally Posted by crossshot View Post
Thats, its with stock turbo. The peak with 3000mbar was only one time for the log after the actuator adjustment. Before the adjustment the boost was never so high. And i dont drive WOT at the moment, if the problem is not solved.

The car has no dpf stock (2005 model). But exhaust clogging is a point, that i don't have checked yet. I have a look at this. Main cat is still under the car and exhaust is stock. But i remember, in the past i feel the heat of the muffler in the trunk floor (i never feel this in my old stilos). Mhhh maybe is the muffler bad inside.
Yes, check out the main cat, and try to disconnect or remove it for a test.
crossshot likes this.
JS JTD is offline  
(Post Link) post #592 of 597 Old 10-05-19 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Germany
County: Bayern
Posts: 541
Thanks for the pointer, Joel!
crossshot is offline  
(Post Link) post #593 of 597 Old 14-05-19 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Germany
County: Bayern
Posts: 541
R70 pump with R80 shaft is in. Was not as easy as i thought... The old pump was not ok. Very rusty inside and the Mprop was broken. Car starts and one second later engine stops. So i've fitted the R80 shaft in the pump from the car. But this works instantly.
http://www.danverclan.de/media/pics/..._stilo_264.jpg

And first welding tests for hard boost pipes
http://www.danverclan.de/media/pics/..._stilo_265.jpg
http://www.danverclan.de/media/pics/..._stilo_266.jpg
crossshot is offline  
(Post Link) post #594 of 597 Old 17-05-19 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Germany
County: Bayern
Posts: 541
327s injectors with 308 ima codes and 4 bar map sensor are installed

http://www.danverclan.de/media/pics/..._stilo_267.jpg
http://www.danverclan.de/media/pics/..._stilo_268.jpg
http://www.danverclan.de/media/pics/..._stilo_269.jpg
http://www.danverclan.de/media/pics/..._stilo_270.jpg

The old injectors liftime was over. All smoke in low revs is gone with the new injectors and i feel a little more torque.

And freeflow selfmade muffler from my old stilo is installed.

http://www.danverclan.de/media/pics/...td_esd_020.jpg
http://www.danverclan.de/media/pics/...td_esd_021.jpg
TribesMan, emre2blue and bianom like this.
crossshot is offline  
(Post Link) post #595 of 597 Old 22-05-19 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Germany
County: Bayern
Posts: 541
Today i have installed a new fuel line from the filter to the pump. The stock fuel line vibrates very strong (most when its cold outside) and the resonance of this vibration is extremly loud inside of the car. A lot of Alfa and Fiat drivers have this issue and i hope its solved with this new flexible line.

http://www.danverclan.de/media/pics/..._stilo_271.jpg
http://www.danverclan.de/media/pics/..._stilo_272.jpg
http://www.danverclan.de/media/pics/..._stilo_273.jpg
http://www.danverclan.de/media/pics/..._stilo_274.jpg

And like you have seen in other picture of my engine bay, a marten has distroyed the engine bay isolation

Here you can see it: http://www.danverclan.de/media/pics/..._stilo_259.jpg

How can i fix it? Mhh, my idea was a heat shield. And yes, it works perfect and the engine bay looks even better now

http://www.danverclan.de/media/pics/..._stilo_275.jpg
http://www.danverclan.de/media/pics/..._stilo_276.jpg
http://www.danverclan.de/media/pics/..._stilo_277.jpg
emre2blue likes this.
crossshot is offline  
(Post Link) post #596 of 597 Old 29-05-19 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Germany
County: Bayern
Posts: 541
I want to show you something, guys!

Actually, I wanted to weld the boost pipes, because i have two 90 pipes without bead. And two times the hose jumped off the pipe. But welding is a little bit difficult and when i change something (turbo or something else) i need to weld again.

Now i saw this video on youtube:
The guy in this video make beads in an alu pipe with a cool crimping tool. It looks like a very easy and cheap solution.

I've bought this tool, too. And yes, it works great!

Here my first test:

one with and one without bead
http://www.danverclan.de/media/pics/..._stilo_278.jpg
http://www.danverclan.de/media/pics/..._stilo_279.jpg

the crimping tool
http://www.danverclan.de/media/pics/..._stilo_280.jpg
http://www.danverclan.de/media/pics/..._stilo_281.jpg

and the result
http://www.danverclan.de/media/pics/..._stilo_282.jpg
http://www.danverclan.de/media/pics/..._stilo_283.jpg
http://www.danverclan.de/media/pics/..._stilo_284.jpg
coolbits, emre2blue and BobanR like this.
crossshot is offline  
(Post Link) post #597 of 597 Old 4 Days Ago Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Germany
County: Bayern
Posts: 541
Long time no update - but waiting is over!

What happened in the last almost two month?

After a 350km ride to Legoland Germany the turbo made howl noises
GTB turbo kit was not yet ordered and i don't want to wait for a blown turbo. So i have ordered a used turbo (not cheap - 250 EUR), install it and 25 kilometers later - broken shaft. Great I wanted to prevent damage and now I have one...
Big smoke cloud behind the car and when i stop the car - big cloud out of the engine bay... Oil - everywhere oil...
Shaft broken and oil ran into the exhaust and boost pipes. Cars runs fine no oil pressure error all the time.
Car came home with a tow service and i removed the turbo. But first i have removed the boost pipe. Damn - around 1 liter of oil was in it...
It was a lot of work to clean all boost pipes and the intercooler from oil and debris. The engine needed around 2 liter of new oil.
Then with another used turbo (same seller) is all fine. First ride with the other turbo was funny. I need some hard accelerations before all oil in the exhaust was burned

But with this new turbo, the vnt problem still exist.

I have actived the lambda controller from my old stilo and connect the stock lambda probe with it. I make a datalog and a video of the AFR display - is nearly the same (difference 0,1). So i have no fueling issue or something else.

I think by now that it is a clogged exhaust. I read a lot of stuff in different forums and a lot off people with clogged dpfs have nearly the same problem (underboosting).

Positve news: my new JTD Performance 2.5 clutch is here.

Here some pictures and a video

damage and new used turbo
http://www.danverclan.de/media/pics/..._stilo_286.jpg
http://www.danverclan.de/media/pics/..._stilo_287.jpg
http://www.danverclan.de/media/pics/..._stilo_288.jpg
http://www.danverclan.de/media/pics/..._stilo_289.jpg
http://www.danverclan.de/media/pics/..._stilo_290.jpg
http://www.danverclan.de/media/pics/..._stilo_291.jpg
http://www.danverclan.de/media/pics/..._stilo_292.jpg
http://www.danverclan.de/media/pics/..._stilo_293.jpg
http://www.danverclan.de/media/pics/..._stilo_294.jpg

clutch
http://www.danverclan.de/media/pics/..._stilo_298.jpg

lambda controller
http://www.danverclan.de/media/pics/..._stilo_299.jpg
http://www.danverclan.de/media/pics/..._stilo_300.jpg
http://www.danverclan.de/media/pics/..._stilo_301.jpg

video afr and here the datalog to the video: http://www.danverclan.de/downloads/F..._gear_log.xlsx
emre2blue and Skindo like this.
crossshot is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Tuning & Upgrades

Tags
gtb , jtd , jtdm , multijet , stilo

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome