Do you guys ever heared of KCPerformance - question for the EDC16 Tuners - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Tuning & Upgrades Discuss performance enhancements for your Alfa Romeo

 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 16 Old 10-12-14 Thread Starter
Status: fix it till it's broken
AO Member
 
Black-Sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Germany
County: Sachsen
Posts: 562

Member car:

Delta III 1.9 TT

Do you guys ever heared of KCPerformance - question for the EDC16 Tuners

Hi guys,

i just sold my trusty 156 JTD and went for something more compfy.
A 2009 Delta 1.9 TwinTurbo Platino.

The car drives verry nice but i wouldn't mind a little more punch from the Turbos.

KCPerformance told me something like 220bhp would be possible... so far so good.
But i wonder if this company is trustworthy - afaik they are in the netherlands. I already have had contact with those guys but i'd like to have a second input.

2nd i do wonder if it's possible to alter oil-pressure settings of the ECU especially the warning limit on cold engine.

Reason behind it: i'd like to drive a 5w-30 C3 Oil instead of the 10W-40 factory but the thinner oil will trigger oil pressure warning on the cold engine (hot no problems).


thanks for your input

Selling a Brembo Upgrade for 156's, Project Mu Pads (New) and fitting brake lines (new).

link to the thread
Black-Sheep is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: [URL
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wrexham
Posts: 1,758
at a higher hp figure would you not be better using a ester 5w40 or even a 5w50 id be looking more at the hot temperature spec of the oil, the heat in the turbo/turbos is only going to get hotter with more power, I don't think id want to go thinner , although I use a 0w40 but for my commute car barely gets up to temp, the only reason I wanted a thinner when cold oil.
sussexa is offline  
Status: playing kill by numbers
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Belgium
County: Down in the Park
Posts: 8,786
if you're planning to get a remap in the Netherlands, just gor to Squadra or Rvcorse.

Delta 1.9 MultiJet Twinturbo 16v, Lancia Delta MY - Squadra Tuning
RVCorse

is this oil pressure warning specific to the delta twin turbo? others don't have anything like this.
Cuore_Sportivo_155 is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Midlands
Posts: 3,118
That's a cool looking car and twin turbo diesel
AYAT is offline  
Status: 329 hp
Club Member
Membro Medio
 
JS JTD's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 1004
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Netherlands
County: Noord Brabant
Posts: 1,713
Quote:
Originally Posted by Black-Sheep View Post
Hi guys,

i just sold my trusty 156 JTD and went for something more compfy.
A 2009 Delta 1.9 TwinTurbo Platino.

The car drives verry nice but i wouldn't mind a little more punch from the Turbos.

KCPerformance told me something like 220bhp would be possible... so far so good.
But i wonder if this company is trustworthy - afaik they are in the netherlands. I already have had contact with those guys but i'd like to have a second input.

2nd i do wonder if it's possible to alter oil-pressure settings of the ECU especially the warning limit on cold engine.

Reason behind it: i'd like to drive a 5w-30 C3 Oil instead of the 10W-40 factory but the thinner oil will trigger oil pressure warning on the cold engine (hot no problems).


thanks for your input
Yes, I've heard of KC performance. They're Saab specialists.
For the software, you can also ask TribesMan if he has experience with this engine.

Why would you use 5w-30 instead of the factory spec grade?
JS JTD is offline  
(Post Link) post #6 of 16 Old 10-12-14 Thread Starter
Status: fix it till it's broken
AO Member
 
Black-Sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Germany
County: Sachsen
Posts: 562

Member car:

Delta III 1.9 TT

Hey,

As the 1.9 twinturbo was frequently used in saab cars they seem trustworthy then?

Regarding the oil: the factory spec oil is a 10w40 if i am not mistaken. But this as most 10w-40s contains a high amount of sulfate (ash). When such oil is used on a dpf application it will cause considerable more soot than any API C3 (low ash) oil - from burnt oil gases (e.g: blowbuy). More soot will trigger dpf regeneration early - in my case: on factory specd oil dpf regenerates after ~490km that's 2 times a tank - raising fuel consumtion a lot, the car's fuel consumption will double for 10 minutes till regen is complete. I do need 5.2l/100km cruising at 120kph, if regen kicks in it will need 11l/100km. Apart from the bad fuel consumption you'll have another more serious problem.

I could observe that as well. During regeneration the ecu injects eccessive amounts of fuel - more than can be burned - this fuel will bypass the piston rings and end up in the oilpan raising oil level and degrading you verry expensive selenia 10w40 (there is only 1 officialy allowed on this particular engine) to junk. Now the blowbuy gases not only contain engine oil but alsow diesel fuel which causes even more clogging of the dpf...

I did change to a fuchs 5w-30 wich is one of the best diesel oils regarding engine protection and fuel consumtion out there. DPF regen cycle increased from 490 to 780km - as a result fuel consumption dropped from mid 7s to high 5s (5,9l/100km) and oil level remained constant.

Only one Problem: the ecu does not like the lower oil pressure on a cold (over night cold) engine ideling around (warning light is on only the first minute, ONLY on idle) - the low pressure warning never occured during autobahn driving (including topspeed runs)
I'd just like to get rid of this warning it's annoying and complete useless as oilpressure will be mile high on a die cold engine anyway and way higher then on operational temperture.

I don't like a higher temperture oil for three more reasons:
- there is no such thing as a low ash high temp oil
- the car gets driven in town and we all know how long it can take a jtd to warm up on a cold day i realy prefer having an oil working at lower temps over a high temp oil (not going to have huge load in a trafficjam)
- i don't rev the hell out of it the engine is still a diesel and will never ever see any use on higher revolutions (4500+) so for me there is simply no reason to use an oil designed to work on 7000rpm and above..


Best regards

PS: forgive my language, it's late and i'm only using a phone to write..


Edit: there is one 5w-40 wich is c3 specd it's castrol but as this it a 5w it's quite possible that this oil will trigger the low pressure as well...

Edit②: unfortunately i live in germany and we don't have anyone i consider trustworthy who has experiance on the twinturbo ... so i ended up with the dutch guys.... i'd realy like to have stephan a closer look but it's a 2 day trip wich i simply have no time for. KCP offered me some flasher so i could do the actual flashing myself - only sending them my ecu file...

Last edited by Black-Sheep; 10-12-14 at 21:35.
Black-Sheep is offline  
Status: To GTB or not to GTB?
AO Silver Member
 
TribesMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Slovenia
County: -
Posts: 2,289
Oh man... you sure like to complicate your life, don't you?

There is not much to alter in the ECU around the oil pressure sensor. Fuel pressure error sensor is a simple switch. It is either on or off. And it is off as soon as the oil pressure gets high enough. ECU just looks for the oil pressure error signal, and if it is not deactivated in specified time then you get low oil pressure error.

Only thing you could change is that time delay after the engine start.

But I feel this is not normal behavior, 1.9 engine is prescribed to use 5W30 engine oil (at least 120 and 150HP variants with DPF filter). So there should be no issues using that oil ona twinturbo, since the engine block and oil pump are the same.

Maybe there is something wrong with the fuel pump...
TribesMan is offline  
(Post Link) post #8 of 16 Old 11-12-14 Thread Starter
Status: fix it till it's broken
AO Member
 
Black-Sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Germany
County: Sachsen
Posts: 562

Member car:

Delta III 1.9 TT

Hello TribsMan,

jeah - i decided to go 5w-30 because of the good experiance i had on my previous 1.9's (Chipped 8V and std. 16V).
However - the manual clearly states to only use a 10w-40 it is to my knowledge the only 4 Port Diesel in FPT Range which is not allowed for 5w-30 so i guess the switch is different to the older engines.

I had the Oil-pump in mind too but as a defective oil pump would have normaly more trubble generating enough pressure on a hot engine than on a cold one the pump is most likely ok. And while using a 10W-40 the warning does not come up.

thank's for the input i guess i'll ask my garage if it's possible to change the sensor for one from the 2.0 or the other 1.9s.

Just hope the signal metric fit's.
i guess any sensor from an EDC16 Engine would do?


thanks again


EDIT: just checked - the Oil-Pressure Switch is set to 0,3 BAR - THAT IS DAMN LOW? I am totaly confused now.
EDIT2: The 1.9 JTDM Engines use the same switch
EDIT3: does anyone know the cold oil pressure on idle on a healthy 1.9 JTDM? anything below 1 Bar can't be right says my mind but what do i know about jtd's (not much)?

Last edited by Black-Sheep; 11-12-14 at 06:39.
Black-Sheep is offline  
Status: To GTB or not to GTB?
AO Silver Member
 
TribesMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Slovenia
County: -
Posts: 2,289
AFAIK all JTD engines use same switch, so there is nothing to "upgrade".
But it could be that your switch is faulty.
TribesMan is offline  
(Post Link) post #10 of 16 Old 11-12-14 Thread Starter
Status: fix it till it's broken
AO Member
 
Black-Sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Germany
County: Sachsen
Posts: 562

Member car:

Delta III 1.9 TT

the switch was already changed
will monitor the behaviour
Black-Sheep is offline  
Status: To GTB or not to GTB?
AO Silver Member
 
TribesMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Slovenia
County: -
Posts: 2,289
Well another option you have is to buy simple oil pressure gauge, and then you can monitor in real time, what is going on with oil pressure...

Anyway I think this engine should work just fine with 5W30 engine oil. You just need to find out what exactly is the problem.
TribesMan is offline  
Status: [URL
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wrexham
Posts: 1,758
jeez I never realised the pressure switches were so low, by the time they light up you've had it anyway at 0.3bar ?
how many wire circuit is it ? could it be a plug or loom fault ?
a gauge actual value would be quickest and set your mind at rest also, if ok your onto elec fault.
total guess id have to say 2 or 3 bar cold engine whatever oil, some 5w oil has viscosity close to 10w anyway as they are classed in bands
heres a link to selinia oils
http://www.pli-petronas.eu/products_...NIA&idLingua=2
and they list the 100c but not the 40c and depending which 10w40 it is the 5w or 10w are probably pretty close at 40c like 85cst vs 80cst but the 100c is quite a bit thinner 40 to 30 maybe eg 14cst vs 10cst(made up value from gulf racing specs)
surely the only reason to use lower high temp viscosity oil is mpg at the cost of protection. which is why manufacturers have reduced them ? to gain mpg figures to sell cars.
edit, cant understand why triggering fault on cold engine and not warm? pressure should be higher cold , any chance issue is with anti drain valve in oil filter ? could be draining out and seeing no pressure till filters refilled, how fast does the light go out started on cold engine, seconds or minutes.
sussexa is offline  
Status: playing kill by numbers
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Belgium
County: Down in the Park
Posts: 8,786
cold engine, you will go to the max pressure which often is 5 bar, even at idle unless there's excessive wear or the oil pump/oil filter bypass valve gets stuck open
Cuore_Sportivo_155 is offline  
(Post Link) post #14 of 16 Old 12-12-14 Thread Starter
Status: fix it till it's broken
AO Member
 
Black-Sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Germany
County: Sachsen
Posts: 562

Member car:

Delta III 1.9 TT

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cuore_Sportivo_155 View Post
...unless there's excessive wear or the oil pump/oil filter bypass valve gets stuck open
can give a little more detail?
i never realized there'd be some bypass valve in the oil system?
Black-Sheep is offline  
Status: no pain, no gain
AO Silver Member
 
yan.ko's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Czech Republic
County: Moravskoslezský
Posts: 1,951
Garage
It's in oil filter. Worth trying to change in first step imho.
yan.ko is offline  
Status: [URL
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wrexham
Posts: 1,758
For the anti drain flap if these have them when the pump stops it should shut and retain the oil in the filter and above it(if these have them)
The bypass valve is designed to open if the filter is blocked and pressure gets high on dirty side, to save the engine from failing with no oil it will let unfiltered oil bypass the filter media .
But i guess if this stays stuck open the oil would drain back to sump same as anti drain.
Theres a youtube vid on mann filters with demos of cut in half filters deacribing what does what, and more what doesnt do much on cheap supposidly oe filters.
http://youtu.be/rKwmk1RYHpk
This one shorter with demo footage
http://youtu.be/AajTItBn148

Last edited by sussexa; 12-12-14 at 07:12.
sussexa is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Tuning & Upgrades

Tags
edc16 , guys , heared , kcperformance , question , tuners

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome