Alfa 147 1.6TS Remap - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Tuning & Upgrades Discuss performance enhancements for your Alfa Romeo

Old 17-08-14 Thread Starter
AO Silver Member

County: Lancaster

Member car:

147 & GQV

Alfa 147 1.6TS Remap

So I was looking to add to probably the other 100 topics of the same name and asking likely the same annoying questions.

I recently bought the 147 1.6TS on a 2007 (07) plate, and I got what I fully expected. I really do enjoy my car and I am glad I went through two years of looking to get what I wanted.

I am contemplating later in the year upgrading the car with an ECU remap, as I have no desire to have any invasive work carried out of the car. My last (and first) car was a 1.25 Fiesta, and hence I have no experience of these topics. I was just looking for some advice regarding what can be done with the 1.6. Really it is probably something where the obvious answer would be "Get a bigger engined car", but I would also like to know if it is practical to have some remapping carried out?

I am in Lancaster, so I would almost certainly have to go to Alfatune for such a service. I have read many great wonders worked with lots of engines, and so I am just asking for the usual advice on such upgrades.

I notice the car can have issues on some types of hill, for example I notice the torque issue on the M6 incline getting out of Preston. I really enjoy the free engine, but it would be nice to have a tweak.

I know I should expect a cost of 300-400, and I should not expect a miracle (1000HP 1.6!!), and to be honest I don't feel experienced enough to drive a stupidly powerful car, but I would like to know if it is worth the upgrade on the 1.6 and what experiences people have had with this particular engine on upgrade.

Thanks

David