can i upgrade the 1.6 to 1.8 engine into 156 - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Tuning & Upgrades Discuss performance enhancements for your Alfa Romeo

 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 13 Old 09-08-14 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
meandmyalfa156's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Ireland
County: Kerry
Posts: 67
can i upgrade the 1.6 to 1.8 engine into 156

can i swap the 1.6 for the 1.8?
has anyone done it and what would it involve?

reason being there is a problem with my engine the 1.6 so iv got to replace it anyway so i thought i might as well get the 1.8 in to see some more power

Last edited by meandmyalfa156; 09-08-14 at 13:51.
meandmyalfa156 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
David C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 29,957
Someone just done exactly that with a 147.
So yes, very easy and also difficult for anyone to notice by looking under the bonnet...
David C is online now  
(Post Link) post #3 of 13 Old 09-08-14 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
meandmyalfa156's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Ireland
County: Kerry
Posts: 67
cheers for the reply
do they have any information up here about it?
meandmyalfa156 is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
David C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 29,957
David C is online now  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
scottyf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Midlands
Posts: 5,225

Member car:

Alfa 166

Hello All,
Struggling to upload the videos at the moment but if you need a step by step guide the only thing I found that was any real diffeerence that you need to change is the vacuum brake line from the inlet plenum. Its on the top of the 1.8 where as the 1.6 its on the underneath. So you need some new tubing for it.

All pretty simple though.

I even managed to use the 1.6 down pipes on the CF 3.

Try to get the same model CF1/2/3 variant of the engine though.
Also if its a 156 to 156 swap it should be even easier as they share the same gearbox mount too.

Regards
Scott
Alfa 166 2.0 Twinnie - LPG and a few trick performance parts
scottyf is offline  
Status: OEM++
AO Silver Member
 
Egon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 2,040

Member car:

147ts plus bits

Which lump did you use? Cf1/2/3?
Egon is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
scottyf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Midlands
Posts: 5,225

Member car:

Alfa 166

I used a cf 3 in the end. Just bolted straight in.

only needed to change what I did above and hey presto she fired up. No light or anything so far using the 1.6 ecu.
And you do get much more torque. Smoother and the longer gear ratios make for a more relaxing drive. Very happy so far.
scottyf is offline  
Status: OEM++
AO Silver Member
 
Egon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 2,040

Member car:

147ts plus bits

I've got a 2.0 gearbox sat in the garage, wondering if it'd be worth it now, with the improved parts on board.
Egon is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
scottyf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Midlands
Posts: 5,225

Member car:

Alfa 166

You'll at least get better mpg out of it. Its not a huge difference. But its enough to notice.
If anything I think the 1.6 gearbox is too short. Especially for motorway journeys.
scottyf is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Antrim
Posts: 19

Member car:

2008 159 - Black

Quote:
Originally Posted by David C View Post
Someone just done exactly that with a 147.
So yes, very easy and also difficult for anyone to notice by looking under the bonnet...
i noticed in my 1.8 159 that there is a lot of empty space under the bonnet, lots could be hidden in there!
theitalianjob is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
scottyf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Midlands
Posts: 5,225

Member car:

Alfa 166

Thats because you opted for the wrong engine. Should have gone for the 2.4 20v


however I did a spreadsheet of the gear ratios to help see their differences.
Yes I am bored.
Attached Files
File Type: xls gearbox.xls (53.0 KB, 8 views)
scottyf is offline  
Status: OEM++
AO Silver Member
 
Egon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 2,040

Member car:

147ts plus bits

Heh, definitely bored!
Doesn't make much difference really, does it? Averaged 37.7 mpg on the way back tom autolusso yesterday but much of it spent at 4000rpm.
1.8's fine on a 159, less crap to go wrong!!!
Egon is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
scottyf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Midlands
Posts: 5,225

Member car:

Alfa 166

You say that but the feel of it transforms the way you drive.
You hold the gears a little longer and the overtaking potential changes.

I never thought 500rpm would make a difference but it really does.
scottyf is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Tuning & Upgrades

Tags
156 , engine , upgrade

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome