Dpf Bypass pipe - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Tuning & Upgrades Discuss performance enhancements for your Alfa Romeo

 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 19 Old 07-08-14 Thread Starter
Status: Enjoying 159 :)
AO Member
 
gangerlv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 855
Dpf Bypass pipe

Just finished taking DPF off- took 2 hrs, had to cut all the bolts - good old dremel 2 * 12 mm nuts, and one 10mm and welded on
I have bought dpf bypass pipe, and it comes with one sensor and one pressure hole, but my dpf has 2 pressure pipes. Do i connect only one?
Havent fitted it yet - temp sensor thread is damaged ( not going to mention which garage did that - well known on here - saw him forcing it back before forced regen), so i need to buy a sensor...
Or leave it plugged in and hidden away for ecu, dpf is disabled anyway.

Last edited by gangerlv; 07-08-14 at 21:10.
gangerlv is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: To GTB or not to GTB?
AO Silver Member
 
TribesMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Slovenia
County: -
Posts: 2,289
Why would you buy a new sensor if you are taking the DPF off. You don't need that sensor...
TribesMan is offline  
Status: need a dyno ASAP
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lincolnshire
Posts: 92

Member car:

saab 93 tid

Quote:
Originally Posted by TribesMan View Post
Why would you buy a new sensor if you are taking the DPF off. You don't need that sensor...

thissss
nathanbrand1987 is offline  
(Post Link) post #4 of 19 Old 08-08-14 Thread Starter
Status: Enjoying 159 :)
AO Member
 
gangerlv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 855
Well, the pipe has one sensor hole, and one pressure. I did start the car up without pipe fitted and eml came up - was too late to check what was it. so im think i will have to delete that sensor somehow.
gangerlv is offline  
Status: playing kill by numbers
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Belgium
County: Down in the Park
Posts: 8,786
you need a dpf delete in a remap.
Cuore_Sportivo_155 is offline  
(Post Link) post #6 of 19 Old 08-08-14 Thread Starter
Status: Enjoying 159 :)
AO Member
 
gangerlv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 855
I used dpf off switch.
In FES - vehicle type - without dpf and lambda.
gangerlv is offline  
Status: playing kill by numbers
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Belgium
County: Down in the Park
Posts: 8,786
apparently it didn't work?
Cuore_Sportivo_155 is offline  
(Post Link) post #8 of 19 Old 08-08-14 Thread Starter
Status: Enjoying 159 :)
AO Member
 
gangerlv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 855
Right, the pipe is on, connected sensor and front pressure sensor, reset eml and went for a test drive - no issues.
bye bye egr and dpf.
Now just unbolt all the egr gubbins.
cheers
gangerlv is offline  
Status: To GTB or not to GTB?
AO Silver Member
 
TribesMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Slovenia
County: -
Posts: 2,289
There is no such thing as DPF off switch in this ECUs.

That bit you are talking about only changes diagnostic parameters in the ECU (diagnostics say "no DPF or lambda). But it does not affect any DPF related routines.

Also if you change that bit to zero, you will be unable to reset oil change interval in the ECU.
TribesMan is offline  
(Post Link) post #10 of 19 Old 08-08-14 Thread Starter
Status: Enjoying 159 :)
AO Member
 
gangerlv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 855
So is there a way to disable the clogging timer?
Because of pressure differences dpf shouldnt regenerate anymore.
There are a lot of dpf related maps, now just i need to find the right ones
gangerlv is offline  
Status: To GTB or not to GTB?
AO Silver Member
 
TribesMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Slovenia
County: -
Posts: 2,289
Yes there is a way... but not an easy way (ok, there is an easy way, call Gus).

DPF will regenerate no matter what pressure difference is, if DPF off is not made as it should be, you can probably see the DPF clogging is increasing, and when it is high enough it will regenerate.
Pressure difference does not have a major role at defining the frequency of regeneration. It more or less happens every 10 hours of engine operation.
TribesMan is offline  
(Post Link) post #12 of 19 Old 08-08-14 Thread Starter
Status: Enjoying 159 :)
AO Member
 
gangerlv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 855
Ecusafe has removed 2 maps and changed a lot of other things - probably removed dtc and sensors.
I dont want the easy way, Its more fun to understand how it all works. I can get it removed in few mins on other forums, but i want to learn. And Gus is too far from me.
I could use my fixitsan dongle, but hopefully i wont have to.
If it regens, will it smoke a lot and thats it?
gangerlv is offline  
(Post Link) post #13 of 19 Old 08-08-14 Thread Starter
Status: Enjoying 159 :)
AO Member
 
gangerlv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 855
regeneration demand - set to 00000
gangerlv is offline  
Status: To GTB or not to GTB?
AO Silver Member
 
TribesMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Slovenia
County: -
Posts: 2,289
Hint...

Find ECU file from 166 2.4 20V 185HP, and compare it with 159 2.4 20V 200HP.
Those two are very similar, especially if you find very similar SW numbers, so you will be able to find the differences, then you take a look at damos file to see what the changes are and if they are related to DPF.

You can get a decent DPF off in a few hours, or days, or weeks of work... depending on how skilled you are

There are around 70-80 maps and single value differences that are DPF related. But you can get away with much less that that if all your sensors are still in place and working.
TribesMan is offline  
(Post Link) post #15 of 19 Old 09-08-14 Thread Starter
Status: Enjoying 159 :)
AO Member
 
gangerlv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 855
Thanks, will have a look.
70 80 maps, that's a lot, but wouldn't be easier to change regeneration startup conditions(similar to egr off), so it never regenerate.
gangerlv is offline  
(Post Link) post #16 of 19 Old 09-08-14 Thread Starter
Status: Enjoying 159 :)
AO Member
 
gangerlv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 855
Just tried with volta and compared maps - lobotomy would do less damage than volta.
It is disabling limp mode, deleted dtc's and for some reason increased engine torque limit in normal conditions by 2.8%
So basically everything is being done so as soon as regen starts it gets interrupted and all the dtc's deleted.
Volta doesn't stop regenations..
my 2p
gangerlv is offline  
(Post Link) post #17 of 19 Old 12-08-14 Thread Starter
Status: Enjoying 159 :)
AO Member
 
gangerlv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 855
Have you got damos for 166 2.4?
Cant find it on net anywhere.
ta
gangerlv is offline  
Status: To GTB or not to GTB?
AO Silver Member
 
TribesMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Slovenia
County: -
Posts: 2,289
AFAIK there is no Damos for 166 2.4.

Take Damos for Croma 1.9 JTDm, ECU structure is practically the same. Addresses are shifted, but it is not that hard to find things.
TribesMan is offline  
(Post Link) post #19 of 19 Old 13-08-14 Thread Starter
Status: Enjoying 159 :)
AO Member
 
gangerlv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 855
Yes i couldn't find damos for 166 or 156 20v, but maps are very similar. Its just not enough hrs in a day
gangerlv is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Tuning & Upgrades

Tags
bypass , dpf , pipe

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome