Remapping - winOLS - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Tuning & Upgrades Discuss performance enhancements for your Alfa Romeo

 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 26 Old 02-07-14 Thread Starter
Status: need a dyno ASAP
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lincolnshire
Posts: 92

Member car:

saab 93 tid

Remapping - winOLS

so anyway thought id start to learn winOLS what a steep learning curve

watched many videos on youtube around VAG's but the edc16 on our diesels are different and the maps seem to be harder for me to pick out......

for instance drivers wish maps egr maps yes easy. then the video stated i need to find the torque limiting map on vag was very easy and right next to the egr maps...

but i cannot find it, i can find many other limiting maps but not the limiter for barometric/ambient pressure

i would like to follow the guide i am using in order so i dont miss anything so any advice or guidelines would be great

cheers
nathanbrand1987 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
(Post Link) post #2 of 26 Old 02-07-14 Thread Starter
Status: need a dyno ASAP
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lincolnshire
Posts: 92

Member car:

saab 93 tid

right i have found files that arent showing up in winOLS as a map but i know they are due to seeing other maps..

they are the egr hysteresis maps i can select them but cannot get them into the "my maps" section on the left

i have tried "w" and "m" and a curser with ctrl but win ols wants to put it into a 3 column map for some reasons and its just not working out

am i missing something ??
nathanbrand1987 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hampshire
Posts: 517

Member car:

1.9CDTI 16v

You can add a custom map using [Edit], [Insert/delete window], [Insert new map]
Then you can either manually insert the hex offsets or put the cursor on them in the hex dump and use the 'from hex dump' option in the map properties window.
nutron is offline  
(Post Link) post #4 of 26 Old 09-07-14 Thread Starter
Status: need a dyno ASAP
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lincolnshire
Posts: 92

Member car:

saab 93 tid

cheers ill give it ago and report back
nathanbrand1987 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Serbia
County: -
Posts: 43

Member car:

Alfa Romeo155 V6

I also started learning WinOLS and at the start I already have difficulties to recognize the maps inside.
Can anybody give me some instruction/guidelines?
Pittatore is offline  
(Post Link) post #6 of 26 Old 02-08-14 Thread Starter
Status: need a dyno ASAP
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lincolnshire
Posts: 92

Member car:

saab 93 tid

it just takes time mate, and ive spent less than id of liked... join some forums look at the guides..... then side by side some maps with the maps already in the MY MAPS section then copy that over to another file. this will teach you the shapes etc... there is also guides on you tube one guy has about 80 videos startign with edc15 then moving on to 16 they are for vag but it doesnt matter
nathanbrand1987 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hampshire
Posts: 517

Member car:

1.9CDTI 16v

If you can get a map pack or an ols file for your software version it will make life much easier.
nutron is offline  
Status: Enjoying 159 :)
AO Member
 
gangerlv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 855
had a play today with winols, with egr hysteresis maps.
watched few of videos.
on alfa/fiat edc16c39 egr hysteresis maps are 1 * 25 and the axis data are slightly different from vag - i think.
i have managed to select them as a map with - shift K.
hope that helps.
im in the process of deleting egr and dpf - i hope.
cheers
gangerlv is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Serbia
County: -
Posts: 43

Member car:

Alfa Romeo155 V6

Could You please explain me what map "pack" and ols file mean? You mean an original map file for my car?
Pittatore is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hampshire
Posts: 517

Member car:

1.9CDTI 16v

If you download 'ECU safe' you can remove the dpf and egr much quicker.

A map pack is a file saved with tables for the map stored in it that can be imported to give you instant access to them in the file you want to work on.

Map files are either 1MB or 2MB depending of if they are C9 or C39 respectively and usually saved with a BIN extension (binary). OLS files are files saved from WinOLS in project format rather than as a binary file, so all the details of the tables in the map are stored in the file for instant access when you open it. You can not write an OLS file to an ECU, you must export it as a BIN.
nutron is offline  
Status: Enjoying 159 :)
AO Member
 
gangerlv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 855
Map packs are called Damos.
I've just amended my map - egr is off and dpf switched off too.
Now i just need to grow balls to flash the ecu. 40mins is a long time. I could have invested in BDM100, but unless ecu is bricked - i wont do it.
alfanacleto likes this.
gangerlv is offline  
Status: To GTB or not to GTB?
AO Silver Member
 
TribesMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Slovenia
County: -
Posts: 2,289
Write time is about 50 seconds...
TribesMan is offline  
Status: To GTB or not to GTB?
AO Silver Member
 
TribesMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Slovenia
County: -
Posts: 2,289
On a side note... don't use ECUSafe for removing DPF. Along with DPF it deletes every fault code path in the ECU. That is really not cool.
TribesMan is offline  
Status: Enjoying 159 :)
AO Member
 
gangerlv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 855
50 sec over K-line?
gangerlv is offline  
(Post Link) post #15 of 26 Old 06-08-14 Thread Starter
Status: need a dyno ASAP
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lincolnshire
Posts: 92

Member car:

saab 93 tid

I just got a clone mpps for 15quid on eBay ..... Reads and writes fine .....
nathanbrand1987 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hampshire
Posts: 517

Member car:

1.9CDTI 16v

I got two for £20
nutron is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mexico
County: Mexico
Posts: 21

Member car:

‎Alfa 147

Good EGR off with WinOLS
https://sites.google.com/site/vagecu...ng-map-changes

If it is wrong to post the link, remove it
Liliflower is offline  
Status: no pain, no gain
AO Silver Member
 
yan.ko's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Czech Republic
County: Moravskoslezský
Posts: 1,951
Garage
No, it's not good EGR off.
yan.ko is offline  
Status: To GTB or not to GTB?
AO Silver Member
 
TribesMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Slovenia
County: -
Posts: 2,289
Far from good EGR OFF... in fact it will cause MCSF on most newer engines if you do it like that.
TribesMan is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Serbia
County: -
Posts: 43

Member car:

Alfa Romeo155 V6

Ok I got to the stadium of importing Dammos file and I got a huge list of maps in the left three.
Could somebody please give some push or instruction what are the most common maps for modifying for example in edc15c7?
Pittatore is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Netherlands
County: Flevoland
Posts: 146

Member car:

156 1.9 JTD 2002

Why is this a bad EGR off map?
This guy has loads of video's on youtube, I started watching the first few, but if it's rubbish I'd better stop..

here's where I got for now:
There is a switch bit, 001 001 001 etc. (egr, turbo etc.) that you want to turn off.
Viewing in 8bit decimal in WinOLS, change the first into 000. (second will turn of turbo etc.).

I removed my hardware (156 1.9 JTD 8v euro3) so I have to remove the DTC (havn't found it yet).

I think it's not needed, but most forums advice to fully open the EGR by changing the map to the highest available number.
It makes more sence to me to close the EGR in the map making the ECU think it's closed and to expect a higher intake air flow.

But I havn't tried anything yet, just following some vid's on how to find maps in the first place.
Don't know about limits, what's save or not etc..

It's a huge learning curve and whilst reading stuff about Winols and remapping, I'm also reading books on automotive technology (schoolbooks, pdf from A to Z (in Dutch I must add).
sanscorp is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Hungary
County: Budapest
Posts: 84
I'm too in the learning steps of edc16 tuning. Also watched that guys video... and for a beginner like myself it seems logical to keep the EGR shut to effectively turning it "off". Whats the catch here?
I have to add I plan to keep the EGR in place, plug connected, but blanking plate placed under the valve. So in my case it should be ok.. I guess..

To my understanding there is a different EGR map for DPF regen, isn't it?
Nari is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Hungary
County: Budapest
Posts: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by nutron View Post
If you download 'ECU safe' you can remove the dpf and egr much quicker.
....
dudes over ECU modding forums advise strongly against using ecusafe and any other EGR and DPF removing software... unfortunately I don't have any personal reference. But I can see potential problems with these softwares. I wouldn't flash the ecu with a modified bin from ecusafe (or any other "tool") without comparing it first with the original one.
Nari is offline  
Status: no pain, no gain
AO Silver Member
 
yan.ko's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Czech Republic
County: Moravskoslezský
Posts: 1,951
Garage
From what I remember, ECUSafe usually increases DPF volume (to prolong the time to regen), change regeneration startup allowance (min time after engine startup), cut A LOT of DTCs' and for sure increase the failsafe torque limiter (probably just for case the engine switch to limp mode). Not a proper way imo.
yan.ko is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mexico
County: Mexico
Posts: 21

Member car:

‎Alfa 147

this ECUsafe can work alone? or it have have to be used with other programmers, e.g kess v2?
Liliflower is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Tuning & Upgrades

Tags
remapping , winols

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome