Stilo jtd problems - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Tuning & Upgrades Discuss performance enhancements for your Alfa Romeo

 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 17 Old 21-05-14 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Finland
County: Etela-Suomen Laani
Posts: 281
Stilo jtd problems

Hello.

actually it is this mr-s with stilo jtd, where I have problems.

I have taken the electrics from fiat. I have the engine bay wiring all, and then the fusebox from inside too, with wirings, so I can have the obd .

problem:

When key is not in hole , the obd reader goes " on " , but wont show me anything.. just a little light, that its on.

When I turn the key, it goes off..

same time, the fuel pressure starts to rise ( normal behavior... i believe )
and makes the noise ... fuel pump etc... so 12v goes there.

When turning key, as starting the engine... Nothing happenes.

I have already check:

12v goes to keyhole ( sorry, dont know english word )
also it goes to starter
and for the " inside" fusebox

also it goes from battery to the enginebay fuse box.

what could be wrong ?

how much v goes to ecu ? I only could read around 0.6v or something like that....

but when you disconnect and then connect the ecu wires, it start to make the same fuel noise..

same, when taking off the relay.

I really need you help guys

16vt / 190hp / 400nm / 3300rpm
Jarkko.Männistö is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: no pain, no gain
AO Silver Member
 
yan.ko's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Czech Republic
County: Moravskoslezský
Posts: 1,951
Garage
Neither starter works? Seems like ignition circuit relay/fuse or ignition box issue.
yan.ko is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 17 Old 21-05-14 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Finland
County: Etela-Suomen Laani
Posts: 281
Yes you are correct, the starter is not working.
Jarkko.Männistö is offline  
(Post Link) post #4 of 17 Old 21-05-14 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Finland
County: Etela-Suomen Laani
Posts: 281
Oh forgot to ask.. Where is ignition box ..
Jarkko.Männistö is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 17 Old 27-05-14 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Finland
County: Etela-Suomen Laani
Posts: 281
Ok so the ecu still is not given me any info...

connecting the obdreader gives light to it, but nothing else..

and turning the key makes the light go away.

does someone has all the relay/ fuse location info ?

I really would like to put this on the road this summer...

( I do like to drive my 156q4... but still )
Jarkko.Männistö is offline  
Status: [URL
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wrexham
Posts: 1,758
Try posting it here also.
Stilo - The FIAT Forum
Theres a couple of really helpful guys possibly techs
Usually post up some good elec diagrams pretty quick.
I think davren and deckchair(or similar) spring to mind.
sussexa is offline  
(Post Link) post #7 of 17 Old 27-05-14 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Finland
County: Etela-Suomen Laani
Posts: 281
ok, I will. thanks for the tip
Jarkko.Männistö is offline  
(Post Link) post #8 of 17 Old 31-05-14 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Finland
County: Etela-Suomen Laani
Posts: 281
ok.... no answer from the fiatforum...

well lets continue..

the 12v goes to the little black box, and continues from ther too ( to injectors ? )

I' m thinking, that have I missed some earth point, or what could it be, because it seems,

that the 12v goes like it should.

And if I didnt sayd that before; I have driven the car to my home, so the engine and
everything was fine, before the engine swap
Jarkko.Männistö is offline  
(Post Link) post #9 of 17 Old 31-05-14 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Finland
County: Etela-Suomen Laani
Posts: 281
UUUUUUUUUUUUhh baby

I have the ignition now ...

Battery was a little empty or something, wasnt enough power to really start the engine,
but seems, that there was a bad connection between battery and engine.

hopefully I can continue from here
Jarkko.Männistö is offline  
Status: [URL
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wrexham
Posts: 1,758
engine earth points are an issue ,also one to gearbox I think, worth taking all off and cleaning up now you suspect. some have even run new cables as extras.
Fixing Bad Earth Problems - The FIAT Forum
Technical: Engine Bay Grounding (Earth lead improvements) - The FIAT Forum
http://www.fiatforum.com/stilo/31059...ody-earth.html

Last edited by sussexa; 31-05-14 at 15:58.
sussexa is offline  
(Post Link) post #11 of 17 Old 01-06-14 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Finland
County: Etela-Suomen Laani
Posts: 281
ok, so the starter works... but

car still wont start, and obd wont show anything...
Jarkko.Männistö is offline  
(Post Link) post #12 of 17 Old 10-06-14 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Finland
County: Etela-Suomen Laani
Posts: 281
little wire was a problem... some little black box, that takes itself to earth also.. there was wires badly.. ( connector was not tight ) I dont know what that box was, but after checking that out

my car started as normally so problem solved
Jarkko.Männistö is offline  
Status: no pain, no gain
AO Silver Member
 
yan.ko's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Czech Republic
County: Moravskoslezský
Posts: 1,951
Garage
yan.ko is offline  
(Post Link) post #14 of 17 Old 11-06-14 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Finland
County: Etela-Suomen Laani
Posts: 281
the obd reader shows max values for everything, so that is not right...

could that be somekind of earth connection also ?
Jarkko.Männistö is offline  
Status: playing kill by numbers
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Belgium
County: Down in the Park
Posts: 8,786
I doubt it, sounds more like an incompatible reader.

What year is the Stilo and it's ecu? before 2004 fiat diesels weren't EOBD compliant
Cuore_Sportivo_155 is offline  
(Post Link) post #16 of 17 Old 11-06-14 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Finland
County: Etela-Suomen Laani
Posts: 281
Oh.. Do I need a different reader ? I have scangauge at the moment.

Stilo is 2003 and edc15
Jarkko.Männistö is offline  
Status: playing kill by numbers
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Belgium
County: Down in the Park
Posts: 8,786
multiecuscan would be best
Cuore_Sportivo_155 is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Tuning & Upgrades

Tags
jtd , problems , stilo

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome