Anyone have experience on DTS tuning box? - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Tuning & Upgrades Discuss performance enhancements for your Alfa Romeo

 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 6 Old 01-04-14 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Hong Kong
County: Tai Po New Territories
Posts: 11
Anyone have experience on DTS tuning box?

I think the Spider is good after reading review from here https://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/a ... ing-box-review.html
but at the end I ordered a DTS just for 165.00 (by their current promotion)
I think they're almost the same and most of them are generic (although all sites claimed they're different and better), I opted for a cheap one.

Many of you use Novitec & TMC, can anyone share their experience with the DTS?
kenfkk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
los
Status: drive like you stole it
AO Member
 
los's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Serbia
County: -
Posts: 15
Give me info on your engine. DTS boxes are in 90% a resistant, which is sending a false air and engine temperature signal to the ecu. So that ecu send more fuel in to the intake manifold... Sorry english is not my native, i hope you understood what i ment to say :/ .

p.s. If your engine is natural aspirated (no turbo) chip-tuning and tuning boxes and similar stuff are waste of time and money. When you do a proper ECU chip tuning, and by that i mean, reading a ECU map, edit it and write it back to the ecu. And all that done by a proper tuner in the best case scenario you wont get more that 12-15% of power increase, with minimal NM increase. And in order for you to feel the power increase it has to be at least 20%.
los is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 6 Old 02-04-14 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Hong Kong
County: Tai Po New Territories
Posts: 11
Thanks los.
My Mito engine is a petrol 1.4 turbo Multiair 135hp, do you mean DTS tuning box are 90% faulty?
I'm not going to remap the ECU since mu Mito is still in warranty period.
kenfkk is offline  
(Post Link) post #4 of 6 Old 03-04-14 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Hong Kong
County: Tai Po New Territories
Posts: 11
Sorry for my misunderstanding, you mean the DTS box only modify the actual data to fool the ECU, so you suggest me doing the proper remap.

Both method are just useful for turbo engine only.

I cannot do a remap as this will affect my warranty, so tuning box is my only choice.

Just wonder if there's any comparison with tuning boxes, Novitec, TMC, Spider, Race chip vs DTS.
kenfkk is offline  
Status: Race cars in progress
AO Silver Member
 
Gertie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Posts: 5,994
Garage
The guys here rate the Novitec box quite high
Gertie is offline  
los
Status: drive like you stole it
AO Member
 
los's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Serbia
County: -
Posts: 15
Yup Novitech nerds are legit. When it comes to ecu programing. I have met a couple of their official representatives for Serbia, lads know their busines. As for tuning box's unless it has EPROM in it, it can write NASA on them, it will still bee a pice of s**t.

As for warranty, how they can know have you, or have you not remaped your ecu? When you do your usual services or what ever there is no need for reeding an ecu. Unless you have a problem that requires reading the ecu. Or just wait until your warrant is out of date and do a proper tuning
los is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Tuning & Upgrades

Tags
box , dts , experience , novitec , remap , spider , tmc , tuning

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome