Alfa 147 JTDm 150hp - EGT problem (GTB project) - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Tuning & Upgrades Discuss performance enhancements for your Alfa Romeo

(Post Link) post #1 of 6 Old 05-03-14 Thread Starter

County: -

Member car:

Alfa 147 1.9 16v

Alfa 147 JTDm 150hp - EGT problem (GTB project)

Hi,
I'm new to the forum and I'm not a real alfa owner (hope I didn't break some rules).
I'm here to try to resolve a problem on a my friend car.
I'm a computer science student, I've a good experience on engine tuning (mechanical part) and I'm well prepared on the ecu tuning side.
Some months ago we planned a GT2056 turbo (Trim 55) upgrade due to original turbo failure (broken vnt actuator and noisy turbo), we built from scratch the exhaust manifold and adapted everything else.
Stock turbo back exhaust without cats and stock intercooler, upgrade of both were surely planned but not yet installed.
GT2056 was choosen only because I had one used unit available.
Started tuning the part-throttle and quickly realized EGTs were sky high, with almost stock injection and boost pressure of 1.5 bar 900C were archived after no more than 15 sec at WOT.
Considering that installed turbo started making some very strange noise even at low boost (no surge) we planned to swap to a brand new GTB2056 (Brera 210hp) thinking that the high EGT problem was related to bad custom exhaust manifold design.
After that we finally installed the GTB on the stock exhaust manifold.
Started tuning the VNT maps and actually I was really surprised having better spool than stock with no sign of compressor surge.
MAF started giving error due to max flow reached so I planned to switch to speed-density (MAP).
Anyway the problem was that with completely stock injection and 1.4 bar boost (a bit more that stock) we still had EGT higher than 850 on a 20 sec. pull.
After that we double checked everything:
- IAT ~70 max after a very long pull and heatsoaked
- EMP ~1,3 bar