using MultiECUscan on windows 8 - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Tuning & Upgrades Discuss performance enhancements for your Alfa Romeo

 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 10 Old 26-02-14 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Soldiiier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Australia
County: Queensland
Posts: 361

Member car:

RX-8

using MultiECUscan on windows 8

has anyone done this?

tossing up weather to fix my old netbook and install win 8 or 7

or load win 8 on a partition on my macbook.

or to buy a decent second hand netbook with win 7 already installed.

any advice is appreciated
Soldiiier is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: OEM++
AO Silver Member
 
Egon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 2,040

Member car:

147ts plus bits

I have XP (ptui!!!) on my macbook pro, partitioned on "virtualbox" annd it works fine with MES.
You have to allocate the USB and the net connection but other than that all is well.
And windows on a mac is sacrelidge, i realise that. but needs must.
Egon is offline  
Status: [URL
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wrexham
Posts: 1,758
i have used it on windows 8 no issues ive come accross with the extra .net stuff downloaded
using with edc16c39 jtdm.
sussexa is offline  
Status: Phil
AO Member
 
PMGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: United Kingdom
County: Staffordshire
Posts: 367
No problems using it with win8 under parallels on my MacBook Air
PMGT is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 10 Old 26-02-14 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Soldiiier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Australia
County: Queensland
Posts: 361

Member car:

RX-8

thanks guys, im looking into the option of virtually running win7 or 8

trialling parallels and this new one that you mentioned Egon, VirtualBox
Soldiiier is offline  
(Post Link) post #6 of 10 Old 27-02-14 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Soldiiier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Australia
County: Queensland
Posts: 361

Member car:

RX-8

purchased Windows 8.1 and Parallels licences. so ive got some exploring to do...

meanwhile still waiting for my OBD cables, been like 2 weeks now. coming from china
Soldiiier is offline  
(Post Link) post #7 of 10 Old 27-02-14 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Soldiiier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Australia
County: Queensland
Posts: 361

Member car:

RX-8

All installed.

Pleated with the simulator.

I must say. Very impressed with the way windows 8 is handling on the mac as a virtual machine

Now just still waiting for my cable to be delivered
Soldiiier is offline  
Status: Phil
AO Member
 
PMGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: United Kingdom
County: Staffordshire
Posts: 367
I use the 3 finger swipe between OSX and win8.1 on my MacBook Air and it's instant
PMGT is offline  
(Post Link) post #9 of 10 Old 02-03-14 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Soldiiier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Australia
County: Queensland
Posts: 361

Member car:

RX-8

i feel like using parallels drains the battery much quicker tho.
Soldiiier is offline  
Status: OEM++
AO Silver Member
 
Egon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 2,040

Member car:

147ts plus bits

No, it just feels dirty....
Egon is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Tuning & Upgrades

Tags
multiecuscan , windows

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome