Turbo boost gauge advice. - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Tuning & Upgrades Discuss performance enhancements for your Alfa Romeo

 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 27 Old 17-11-13 Thread Starter
Status: The Rosso twins are here!
AO Silver Member
 
edraven71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Tyne and Wear
Posts: 3,851
Garage
Turbo boost gauge advice.

Ok so I won a pillar mount for my 147 complete with a nice boost gauge and all fittings etc (brand new on the bay of E's for £20), now wasnt going to fit it but tried it today and I actually quite like it.
So any advice on a good take off point for the line into the inlet? is there a port somewhere that can be utilized or is it a case of drilling and tapping an outlet, or would an outlet close the the throttle body work as well, if not as accurately, it is only for my entertainment after all.

I did think about mounting one of these as close to the throttle as possible Self Seal Take off<br>Breather outlet<br>for Silicone or Rubber hoses from Viper Performance would that give a reasonably accurate reading?
edraven71 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Durty dog
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by edraven71 View Post
Ok so I won a pillar mount for my 147 complete with a nice boost gauge and all fittings etc (brand new on the bay of E's for £20), now wasnt going to fit it but tried it today and I actually quite like it.
So any advice on a good take off point for the line into the inlet? is there a port somewhere that can be utilized or is it a case of drilling and tapping an outlet, or would an outlet close the the throttle body work as well, if not as accurately, it is only for my entertainment after all.

I did think about mounting one of these as close to the throttle as possible Self Seal Take off<br>Breather outlet<br>for Silicone or Rubber hoses from Viper Performance would that give a reasonably accurate reading?
Do you have a link for the pod please?
 
(Post Link) post #3 of 27 Old 18-11-13 Thread Starter
Status: The Rosso twins are here!
AO Silver Member
 
edraven71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Tyne and Wear
Posts: 3,851
Garage
This was the pod, not sure if they have more or not.
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Alfa-147-p...vip=true&rt=nc
edraven71 is offline  
Durty dog
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Bargain, well done
 
Status: -
AO Member
 
acab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Belarus
County: Minskaya
Posts: 191

Member car:

Alfa GT TBi

nice
where i can get holder for 3 gauges and for GT?
acab is offline  
Durty dog
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
3 gauges, what do you have in mind?
 
Status: GTA facelift + engine rebuild. In progress
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Joss's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 1014
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 19,112
Garage
I ran a defi boost gauge on my 156 jtd. I ended up drilling and tapping a hole for a connector in small metal mount where the top turbo hose bolts to the inlet manifold. It was just infront of the butterfly valve.
Joss is offline  
Durty dog
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Where did you mount the gauge Joss?
 
Status: GTA facelift + engine rebuild. In progress
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Joss's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 1014
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 19,112
Garage
Next to the info centre on the dash. Always meant to cut two holes so the mount was underneath but I never got round to it. Pic of when I was originally getting it in place
Attached Images
File Type: jpg boost.jpg (84.0 KB, 56 views)
Joss is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
woodlehouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: United Kingdom
County: North Yorkshire
Posts: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by acab View Post
nice
where i can get holder for 3 gauges and for GT?
Not a good idea & why no pillar mount with the side curtain air bag on a gt , in a crash the 3 gauge pod will hit you in the face
woodlehouse is offline  
Durty dog
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joss View Post
Next to the info centre on the dash. Always meant to cut two holes so the mount was underneath but I never got round to it. Pic of when I was originally getting it in place

Im thinking of doing something with the waste of toim cup holder and coin tray.
 
Status: GTA facelift + engine rebuild. In progress
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Joss's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 1014
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 19,112
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by woodlehouse View Post
Not a good idea & why no pillar mount with the side curtain air bag on a gt , in a crash the 3 gauge pod will hit you in the face
The only way you'd hit the dash is if you didn't have your seatbelt on surely
Joss is offline  
jwq
Status: driving Giulia Veloce AWD
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
jwq's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 857
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The Netherlands
County: Zuid Holland
Posts: 6,695
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joss View Post
The only way you'd hit the dash is if you didn't have your seatbelt on surely
Side curtain airbag is in the pillar, so if it goes off (explosively) the pod will be launched at you.....
jwq is online now  
Status: GTA facelift + engine rebuild. In progress
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Joss's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 1014
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 19,112
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by CSR dog View Post
Im thinking of doing something with the waste of toim cup holder and coin tray.
You can turn that into another cup holder
Joss is offline  
Durty dog
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joss View Post
You can turn that into another cup holder

Ah theres an idea
 
(Post Link) post #16 of 27 Old 31-12-13 Thread Starter
Status: The Rosso twins are here!
AO Silver Member
 
edraven71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Tyne and Wear
Posts: 3,851
Garage
Well finally finished fitting this today, it's been flapping around on the dash waiting for me to sort it.

Works fine and looks good, even matches the dash quite well.

Also snuck an oil catch tank in while I was at it before the daylight ran out, now to see how much gunk it keeps out of the engine.

Off.
Attachment 262921

On.
Attachment 262929

And connection into IC pipework.
Attachment 262937

Last edited by edraven71; 29-09-17 at 20:52.
edraven71 is offline  
(Post Link) post #17 of 27 Old 31-12-13 Thread Starter
Status: The Rosso twins are here!
AO Silver Member
 
edraven71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Tyne and Wear
Posts: 3,851
Garage
And catch tank. Went for one of those small ones just see how often it needs emptying, I may regret that decision.
Attachment 262953

Attachment 262961

Attachment 262969

Last edited by edraven71; 29-09-17 at 20:52.
edraven71 is offline  
Status: no pain, no gain
AO Silver Member
 
yan.ko's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Czech Republic
County: Moravskoslezský
Posts: 1,951
Garage
You like red color I guess?
yan.ko is offline  
(Post Link) post #19 of 27 Old 31-12-13 Thread Starter
Status: The Rosso twins are here!
AO Silver Member
 
edraven71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Tyne and Wear
Posts: 3,851
Garage
Yeah, kind of show's then does it?
edraven71 is offline  
Durty dog
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Love the engine cover.

Is there a thread on here regarding your oil catcher?
 
(Post Link) post #21 of 27 Old 31-12-13 Thread Starter
Status: The Rosso twins are here!
AO Silver Member
 
edraven71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Tyne and Wear
Posts: 3,851
Garage
No, was something I've been going to do for a while and had the chance today.

Hope it cuts down the residue in the cooler pipes, time will tell.

[color=gray]Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App[/color]
edraven71 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
handmade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Spain
County: -
Posts: 31

Member car:

156

iGood.
I remove the clock from the time that goes into the central clock and put the turbo pressure
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 25092010391640x480.jpg (68.1 KB, 36 views)
ALFADOIT likes this.
handmade is offline  
jwq
Status: driving Giulia Veloce AWD
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
jwq's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 857
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The Netherlands
County: Zuid Holland
Posts: 6,695
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by handmade View Post
iGood.
I remove the clock from the time that goes into the central clock and put the turbo pressure
much better
jwq is online now  
Status: GT clover 170 Q2 called SOOTY.:-)
AO Silver Member
 
ALFADOIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,222

Member car:

GT.Clover 170 Q2

Quote:
Originally Posted by edraven71 View Post
And catch tank. Went for one of those small ones just see how often it needs emptying, I may regret that decision.
Attachment 262953

Attachment 262961

Attachment 262969
Huge respect to this mod..I was considering this myself..especially on the 1.9jtd.. Be really interested to see if she pulls up some gunk?

Damien.
ALFADOIT is offline  
(Post Link) post #25 of 27 Old 15-12-14 Thread Starter
Status: The Rosso twins are here!
AO Silver Member
 
edraven71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Tyne and Wear
Posts: 3,851
Garage
Do have to empty it around once a fortnight, usually when I check oil etc but its a nasty grey sludge that it fills up with.

Haven't took a picture as this is a family forum and I don't want to scare anyone.
edraven71 is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Tuning & Upgrades

Tags
advice , boost , gauge , turbo

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome