About upgrade brake system on GT JTD - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Tuning & Upgrades Discuss performance enhancements for your Alfa Romeo

 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 16 Old 16-05-13 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
bigfoot1702's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Belgium
County: Brabant Wallon
Posts: 15

Member car:

GT

About upgrade brake system on GT JTD

Hello,
I'd like to know where i can buy an adapter (bracket) for alfa romeo GT 1.9JTD
to fit calipers from alfa romeo 147 GTA and disc 305mm.
The GTA disc, mounts without problem on jtd?


thanks and sorry for my english...
bigfoot1702 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,811
Pud237 is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 16 Old 16-05-13 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
bigfoot1702's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Belgium
County: Brabant Wallon
Posts: 15

Member car:

GT

I know this is what I need, but it's expensive..
Just a brackets to mount the caliper it's ok no?

Like this: PA080695 - HostingPics.net - Hbergement d'images gratuit
picture from alfaowner
bigfoot1702 is offline  
Status: Suck , Squeeze , Bang , Smoke!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Allerd's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 1723
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Netherlands
County: Drenthe
Posts: 770
those are 166 calipers , gta wont fit on stock upright.
Mounting holes are to close apart for bracket
Allerd is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,811
Doesn't look very safe to me, it is very small and thin.. Also, it doesn't look like the caliper is properly central on the discs.

I think if you are making your own brackets then it is better to buy radial mount calipers then the bracket can be made big & strong. Or buy Mito 1.4 TBI 155bhp calipers and brackets, they will bolt straight on using 147 GTA 305mm discs.
Pud237 is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,811
Quote:
Originally Posted by Allerd View Post
those are 166 calipers
Good spot - I didn't notice. Always think of 166 calipers being a grey colour.
Pud237 is offline  
Status: fix it till it's broken
AO Member
 
Black-Sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Germany
County: Sachsen
Posts: 562

Member car:

Delta III 1.9 TT

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pud237 View Post
hey Pud,

i'm having an eye on that too, but
afaik the only thing needed is the uprights.

Bearings need to be renewed as the hubs are different on non GTA an thus needs to be exchanged cause the (JTD) drive shafts won't fit the GTA hub. And for ABS i'm not shure the 147 ABS will work on a 156 .... so sensors may need to be renewed too....

so.... plenty of unusable (for a brake upgrade) wight to ship and pay for
(i am seariously interessted to the uprights....)
Black-Sheep is offline  
(Post Link) post #8 of 16 Old 16-05-13 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
bigfoot1702's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Belgium
County: Brabant Wallon
Posts: 15

Member car:

GT

A caliper and disc from GTA in belgium or france 350e approximately + 350e for the hub of GTA...
it's a bit expensive, more interesting if I find an brackets kit...
bigfoot1702 is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,811
Quote:
Originally Posted by Black-Sheep View Post
hey Pud,

i'm having an eye on that too, but
afaik the only thing needed is the uprights.

Bearings need to be renewed as the hubs are different on non GTA an thus needs to be exchanged cause the (JTD) drive shafts won't fit the GTA hub. And for ABS i'm not shure the 147 ABS will work on a 156 .... so sensors may need to be renewed too....

so.... plenty of unusable (for a brake upgrade) wight to ship and pay for
(i am seariously interessted to the uprights....)
You need to use your original hubs with new bearings in these uprights. As for ABS sensors, best thing to do is compare these ABS sensors to your originals. If they are the same, there is no need to change. If they are different, you should use your originals.
Pud237 is offline  
Status: More to do
AO Member
 
cree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Northamptonshire
Posts: 569

Member car:

ALFA 147 JTDm 8v

Or do what i did and try and take the sensors out to clean and paint the uprights and wrecked them in the process

Btw what size are the bleed nipples on the GTA calipers as in the thread length i want some new ones?
cree is offline  
Status: WINNING!!!!
AO Silver Member
 
Singularity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: -
Posts: 2,036

Member car:

Van & astra GTC

Just how cost effective is it buying and refurbing parts and fitting a multitude of other parts to fit 330s?

I paid 800ish for my k sport upgrade, that includes pads, discs and braided hoses, they just bolted straight on too.
Singularity is offline  
Status: fix it till it's broken
AO Member
 
Black-Sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Germany
County: Sachsen
Posts: 562

Member car:

Delta III 1.9 TT

Ksport is 1400 Euro in Germany if you want it road legal ...
Black-Sheep is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
David C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 29,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigfoot1702 View Post
A caliper and disc from GTA in belgium or france 350e approximately + 350e for the hub of GTA...
it's a bit expensive, more interesting if I find an brackets kit...
This has been covered literally hundreds of times including several times in this thread.
You can not safely fit the GTA 305 calipers on to a std 156/147/GT upright.
The caliper lugs occupy the same space as the upright lugs. It can't be done unless you do something stupid like thinning the caliper lugs, which is a very bad idea.

So forget the idea of finding brackets to fit the GTA 305 Brembos to a std upright.
David C is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
David C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 29,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pud237 View Post
...Or buy Mito 1.4 TBI 155bhp calipers and brackets, they will bolt straight on using 147 GTA 305mm discs.
That is by far the simplest way now.
Or buy a new or s/h after-market kit.
But do not do a massive bodge to get the GTA 305 calipers onto a std upright....



It has been done before by using larger 2-piece race discs on custom bells, but that just means more money!
David C is offline  
(Post Link) post #15 of 16 Old 22-05-13 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
bigfoot1702's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Belgium
County: Brabant Wallon
Posts: 15

Member car:

GT

Hello David,
if I understand you, what is the difference between a k-sport (exemple) kit with a 6pot, discs and brackets... and a kit from a GTa + bracket home made ?

between http://prolex-uk.com/shop/images/k-sport%20kit.jpg
and

a brembo 6pot original brembo from gta or brera...
like that http://img16.imageshack.us/img16/1084/photo075oq.jpg
bigfoot1702 is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
David C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 29,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigfoot1702 View Post
Hello David,
if I understand you, what is the difference between a k-sport (exemple) kit with a 6pot, discs and brackets... and a kit from a GTa + bracket home made ?

between http://prolex-uk.com/shop/images/k-sport%20kit.jpg
and

a brembo 6pot original brembo from gta or brera...
like that http://img16.imageshack.us/img16/1084/photo075oq.jpg
Those are the larger GTA Brembos with the 330x32mm discs. Very different.
The 330 GTA calipers (they are 4-pot, not 6-pot) have separate brackets , so you can make a different bracket to fit them to a std 156.
The GTA 305mm calipers are lug mounted, so that isn't an option.
David C is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Tuning & Upgrades

Tags
brake , jtd , system , upgrade

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome