reading fiatecuscan data - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Tuning & Upgrades Discuss performance enhancements for your Alfa Romeo

 
Thread Tools
kevjtd
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
reading fiatecuscan data

i have a 156 20V jtd and have been looking on fiatecuscan to see if anything untoward is happening. car does seem to hold back a bit until properly on boost and performance isn't quite what i would have expected having had the 10V jtd and V6 in the 156

the "injection correction" figures, what exactly do they mean? is it to do with the fuel flow, might i have an issue with clogged injectors or am i worrying about nothing?

below are pics logged after a quick run, on 2 screens as i can only get 4 items up at once.

Last edited by kevjtd; 22-02-13 at 19:05.
 
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: Contra principia negantem non est disputandum
AO Silver Member
 
coxy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Toliman
County: Toliman
Posts: 2,045
Sit at idle and take it upto 2000 rpm and hold it there while connected to FES. The rule of thumb anything +2 or above point at a injector issue.
coxy1 is offline  
kevjtd
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by coxy1 View Post
Sit at idle and take it upto 2000 rpm and hold it there while connected to FES. The rule of thumb anything +2 or above point at a injector issue.
brilliant, thanks for that. will pop out after the rugby and try that.

does FES have the facility to check the air-flow meter is functioning ok too?
if so, what readings should i be looking for?

 
Status: Contra principia negantem non est disputandum
AO Silver Member
 
coxy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Toliman
County: Toliman
Posts: 2,045
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevjtd View Post
brilliant, thanks for that. will pop out after the rugby and try that.

does FES have the facility to check the air-flow meter is functioning ok too?
if so, what readings should i be looking for?

No worries.

I sure FES can give you the air-flow meter reading but to be honest I'm not sure of what the figures would be on your car. I'm sure someone will come along shortly and help you out.

Going out after the rugby thats commited, I'll be in no fit state to find the car let alone work on it after the rugby
coxy1 is offline  
kevjtd
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
tried it, all injectors stay below 2.00 at 2,000rpm.

also found the "air intake quantity" and "desired air intake quantity"

guess they relate to the AFM?

think i've found my issue if i've guessed right?

at around 1,500rpm in high gears the "desired" goes to 1,200 mg/i but the reading only goes to about 600 then steps up but not going above 900.
at idle and stable/part throttle positions it's about equal between desired & actual readings.

it's at the full throttle/lor rpm/high gear situation where my issues are so guess that points towards a failed AFM?

i did actually get a ilttle stutter from it too which coincided exactly with a spike down when following the traces on the graph...
 
Status: Contra principia negantem non est disputandum
AO Silver Member
 
coxy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Toliman
County: Toliman
Posts: 2,045
Good to hear it sound like youre getting to to the route of the issue. I can if you like take the readings from my old 156 1.9 jtdm which I gave to my Mum when I got my 159. However I don't know how much use it would be as it does not seem to pull as well as it did when I owned it, old poeple diving style and all that. Let me know and I get some readings if you want.
coxy1 is offline  
kevjtd
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
fitted the original bosch afm back in this morning after giving it a clean, instantly better than the "new" one.

peaked at about 1140 when desired was 1200, other one would hardly get above 900.

almost identical readings through the rev range now, drives much smoother.

wish i'd just cleaned the old one first time now
 
Status: proud owner of a 159 too now
AO Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Posts: 896
what did you clean it with ? , just out of interest , think my maf,playing up will have to check the reading under load.
phwspider is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Tuning & Upgrades

Tags
data , fiatecuscan , reading

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome