High Pressure Fuel Pump Swap - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Tuning & Upgrades Discuss performance enhancements for your Alfa Romeo

 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 11 Old 23-01-13 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
TMC_Motorsport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Spain
County: Sevilla
Posts: 66
High Pressure Fuel Pump Swap

Has anyone successfully swapped a CF3 high pressure pump for a CF4 on a CF3 engine & ECU?. From what I understand, a CF4 pump has a 2 stage regulator that must be controlled by the ECU, where the CF3 has only a 2 pin terminal. But CF4 pump from JTD 8v has only 2 pin terminal, too!


would a JTD 8v + EDC15C7 be any different from a JTD 16v + EUC16C8?
TMC_Motorsport is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: no pain, no gain
AO Silver Member
 
yan.ko's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Czech Republic
County: Moravskoslezský
Posts: 1,951
Garage
Did you check rail on CF4 JTD 16v? Isn't there one valve more?

Imho it would be possible to left fuel dosing unit on CF4 pump open and just control the DRV valve on rail, but then the swap lost the sense as the fuel pump still run on full throttle. EDC15C7 is simply missing one actuator.

Last edited by yan.ko; 23-01-13 at 13:15.
yan.ko is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 11 Old 23-01-13 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
TMC_Motorsport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Spain
County: Sevilla
Posts: 66
The CF4 pump is from a JTD 8v CF4. (R70)

Only have one valve (in pump)
TMC_Motorsport is offline  
Status: no pain, no gain
AO Silver Member
 
yan.ko's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Czech Republic
County: Moravskoslezský
Posts: 1,951
Garage
thought it has the same rail as seen on 159s'. It would work then.

rail.jpg
yan.ko is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 11 Old 23-01-13 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
TMC_Motorsport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Spain
County: Sevilla
Posts: 66
147 JTD8v CF4 is different, has only 1 DRV (in fuel pump)
TMC_Motorsport is offline  
Status: To GTB or not to GTB?
AO Silver Member
 
TribesMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Slovenia
County: -
Posts: 2,289
Well I have noticed this many times... It is a bit confusing... some JTDm engines have one regulator in the pump and other in the fuel rail, but some only have one in the fuel pump, and nothing on the rail.

And I saw 159 1.9 16V without DRV...

What is this all about then? :>
TribesMan is offline  
(Post Link) post #7 of 11 Old 23-01-13 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
TMC_Motorsport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Spain
County: Sevilla
Posts: 66
I'm afraid EDC15C7 isn't capable to control DRV from CF4 pump, from JTD8v CF4.

Both have 2 pin terminal
TMC_Motorsport is offline  
Status: Suck , Squeeze , Bang , Smoke!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Allerd's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 1723
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Netherlands
County: Drenthe
Posts: 770
r70 pump is also fitted to the 156 20v jtd, which is a cp1s3 instead of a cp1h3.
Should swap right over.

I'm not completly sure , but cranck could probably be swappen from cp1h3r70 to cp1s3r55 making it a cp1s3r70.
Yanko did this with a cp1s3r70 crank to his r55 , but those where both sp1s3 units
Allerd is offline  
Status: no pain, no gain
AO Silver Member
 
yan.ko's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Czech Republic
County: Moravskoslezský
Posts: 1,951
Garage
I remember there is CP1 - CP3 switch in the EDC15C7 ECU software (CP1H3 is defacto CP3 brought back to CP1). This may select proper software DRV driver.
yan.ko is offline  
(Post Link) post #10 of 11 Old 24-01-13 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
TMC_Motorsport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Spain
County: Sevilla
Posts: 66
where is the diference???

CF3 DRV, is a servo-valve controlled by current, mas i don't know anything about CF4 DRV of 1.9 JTD 8v (Alfa 147)
TMC_Motorsport is offline  
Status: Swapp :D
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Italy
County: Arezzo
Posts: 8
Hi, is it any news? I need to mount cp1h3 because I'm swapping 937A5000 in my 156 1.9JTD 8V (937A2000).
Thanks
SandroMarciano is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Tuning & Upgrades

Tags
fuel , high , jtd or jtdm or jtdm , pressure , pump , swap

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome