Traffic Light Grand Prix - after market traction control - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Tuning & Upgrades Discuss performance enhancements for your Alfa Romeo

(Post Link) post #1 of 9 Old 05-12-12 Thread Starter

County: -

Member car:

GTV V6

Traffic Light Grand Prix - after market traction control

Hi all,

I have been searching & reading posts from this web site for a few years now. The information & answers posted were good enough that I have never had any reason to post a question myself. So this is my first post. HELLO!

My question is that I want to know whether any of you have installed an after market traction control system such as that from RaceLogic. I am concerned that if I install it, it may result in misfire detection & put the car in limp home mode. (it works by creating a misfire so as to quell power to the tires). Before all of you reply saying that I do not need it if I am a good driver please remember that this is a FWD car with a lot of power. Yes I have installed a Q2 diff. And yes I can drive without traction control but I detest constantly buying NEW tires.

The car is a phase 2 GTV 2002:
- I have dropped a 3.2L engine from an Alfa GT in
- The car has a Q2 diff
- new Koni shocks
- new control arms
- new Good Year Eagle F1 directional tires
And handles like a dream.

Once moving I do not need traction control as the GTV handles very well, however when having a drag race at the traffic lights there is just too much power to be put to the tarmac. This keeps destroying the tires.(traction is much better after putting in new control arms however as this is a FWD car tyre wear is still excessive.)

Any advice would be appreciated from anyone who has installed one of these.

Hong KONG Phooy.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

AO Member

County: Luxembourg