Fuelcuts in stilo jtd - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Tuning & Upgrades Discuss performance enhancements for your Alfa Romeo

 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 15 Old 05-08-12 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Laster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Spain
County: Girona
Posts: 92

Member car:

fiat stilo

Fuelcuts in stilo jtd

Hi to all!!

I open a new thread to explain the problem:

The fuelcut comes pushing up from low revs.. Engine stops and I have to park take off the key and wait for a moment to start, and after that car goes perfect.
If I go in high rpms car goes perfect and never had a fuelcut.

I will do:
1.-Diesel filter must be changed and I suposse intake manifold is empty of oil
Yesterday I put off map sensor to looks and It was pretty cleaned, I don't understand anything.
2.-I would buy seafoam but it's not so easy in Spain, I suposse go to the forte option easy to buy in Spain.
3.-Finally an oil catch can from toyosport is comming from UK

Thxs to all

Jordi
Laster is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: no pain, no gain
AO Silver Member
 
yan.ko's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Czech Republic
County: Moravskoslezský
Posts: 1,951
Garage
logs logs logs needed (rpm, total fuel quantity, fuel pressure regulator, fuel pressure, desired fuel pressure).

There will be probably substantial difference between desired and real fuel pressure, as the fuel flow is higher and pump is not capable to develop the fuel pressure so fast. Two possible solutions - make fuel pressure maps less steep or adjust rail pressure PI maps to react faster at the low revs or (yes, third) - get a bigger fuel pump :-)

But these are just few early thoughts. Let's wait for the logs.
yan.ko is offline  
Status: Paint it black
AO Member
 
INS147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Highlands
Posts: 551

Member car:

Alfa-less

I used to have a Stilo JTD which had some issues like you describe following a remap, never did get it fully sorted

Assuming your car is remapped and you are maxing out power from low revs..... sounds like you are getting a sudden cut out (like a limp home mode) then the problem may be the MAP sensor.
That is what Peter (ex GSR.... remember them) and I reckoned was the problem following a Red Dot remap. Initially it was thought to be the GSR induction that was fitted the same time as the remap but this proved not to be the case. Attention moved to the MAP sensor but unfortunately I am in Scotland and Red Dot & GSR were not so a satisfactory solution was not found as long range diagnosis just doesn't work.

What I couldn't find out at the time was exactly how the MAP sensor was causing an issue, but the suggestion was that it wasn't up to the job with the remap - too low a value. A 3 bar sensor was mentioned, but never found/fitted. Mine was a JTD 115 remapped to 150+
According to the Bosch specialists in Aberdeen the original sensor should have been fine depending on how the map was 'written'. Fuel pressure was checked - just in case - and was more than up to the job. Apparently.

It's maybe something to look at but, as yan.ko says, you really need the diagnostic information to come up with an answer.

In the end.... I bought an Alfa.

Ocht
INS147 is offline  
(Post Link) post #4 of 15 Old 06-08-12 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Laster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Spain
County: Girona
Posts: 92

Member car:

fiat stilo

Hi.

I answer all your questions:

Yan.ko the option of putting a bigger CR pump is very interesting. I've read mine is R55 and will be upgraded with R75 from Fiat doblo 2.8, this is correct?

INS147 Stilo engine is upgraded: fmic, 2256, map sensor, air filter, decat, EGR off.. I've changed the map sensor for other of 3.5Bar (0 281 002 456) from Bosch after turbo upgrade.

Finally I attached the log I did this mornimg.

Log conditions:
Time: 08:30hs
Temp: 21C

Thxs

Jordi
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Log_Laster_060812.jpg (79.1 KB, 44 views)
Laster is offline  
Status: no pain, no gain
AO Silver Member
 
yan.ko's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Czech Republic
County: Moravskoslezský
Posts: 1,951
Garage
Did the fuel cut happened at the log time? I just see there some low fuel pressure below ~1500rpm.

Big pump is wrong as well, because pumping the high fuel volume consumes more engine power. Yes, you will probably reach higher fuel pressure at low revs, but in mid to high revs you will be vasting more fuel. Not talking about additional heating.

Last edited by yan.ko; 06-08-12 at 12:51.
yan.ko is offline  
(Post Link) post #6 of 15 Old 06-08-12 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Laster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Spain
County: Girona
Posts: 92

Member car:

fiat stilo

Quote:
Originally Posted by yan.ko View Post
Did the fuel cut happened at the log time? I just see there some low fuel pressure below ~1500rpm.

Big pump is wrong as well, because pumping the high fuel volume consumes more engine power. Yes, you will probably reach higher fuel pressure at low revs, but in mid to high revs you will be vasting more fuel. Not talking about additional heating.
This is a normal log, in 4th gear 1500-4500revs. I tried to fuelcut a lot of times but was unsuccesful.. I have 3 more logs of my trip Blanes-Barcelona, I'll try this afternoon again.

thanks I talk to chiper to resolve it.

Jordi
Laster is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
coolbits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Slovenia
County: -
Posts: 156
Maybe just rail limiter done wrong in low revs.

Probably cuts out at same IQ and rpm?
coolbits is offline  
(Post Link) post #8 of 15 Old 06-08-12 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Laster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Spain
County: Girona
Posts: 92

Member car:

fiat stilo

Quote:
Originally Posted by coolbits View Post
Maybe just rail limiter done wrong in low revs.

Probably cuts out at same IQ and rpm?
I don't know.. My intention was log the cut.

My chiper send me another file solving this arrising rail at low revs. I'll check it this envening.

Btw engines seems smokes a little, probably the same problem?

Thxs

Jordi
Laster is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
coolbits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Slovenia
County: -
Posts: 156
I doubt this is related to smoke.

Probably low AFR and/or SOI maps.
coolbits is offline  
(Post Link) post #10 of 15 Old 06-08-12 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Laster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Spain
County: Girona
Posts: 92

Member car:

fiat stilo

I uploaded new file and tested..

Log conditions:
1500-4500 revs in 4th gear
21C

I tried to log fuelcut unsucessfully
Now I am about to start holidays, in september I'll change oil, change filters, clean intake manifold and put oil catch can; and then We'll try to arrise fuel preasure from 1400 to 1750mBar

Thxs

Jordi
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Log_Laster_060812_2.jpg (89.7 KB, 32 views)

Last edited by Laster; 07-08-12 at 05:33.
Laster is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
tb205gti's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Denmark
County: Kobenhavn
Posts: 74

Member car:

Peugeot

Holy *, railpressure control is all over Turbo control is also..

Who is your "chipper"?
tb205gti is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
coolbits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Slovenia
County: -
Posts: 156
Tell your "tuner" to not increase injector calibration (duration) map but only extend it to 100mm3...
coolbits is offline  
(Post Link) post #13 of 15 Old 07-08-12 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Laster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Spain
County: Girona
Posts: 92

Member car:

fiat stilo



Soooorry.. I'll see you in Lloret speaking spanish? 'Shangrrria' xD (it's only a joke)

Quote:
Originally Posted by coolbits View Post
Tell your "tuner" to not increase injector calibration (duration) map but only extend it to 100mm3...
Ok thanks, now he's very busy and probably didn't watch out tuning my file.

Thxs for all

Jordi
Laster is offline  
(Post Link) post #14 of 15 Old 10-09-12 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Laster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Spain
County: Girona
Posts: 92

Member car:

fiat stilo

My stilo works correctly.. Some days ago I put a oil catch can, I'll make a log and uploaded it

Regards

Jordi
Laster is offline  
(Post Link) post #15 of 15 Old 26-09-12 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Laster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Spain
County: Girona
Posts: 92

Member car:

fiat stilo

New log; error (P0191) only arrise at high revs..

I'll try to log the fuelcut
Attached Images
File Type: jpg log.jpg (96.6 KB, 26 views)
Laster is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Tuning & Upgrades

Tags
fuelcuts , jtd , stilo

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
stilo 1.9 jtd will not start garymaule Engines (TS, JTS, JTD & V6) 13 29-09-12 17:14
Data Cable and Software Andyg1983 Alfa 147, 156 & GT 25 30-08-10 07:48
Diagnostic software freeware? 156head Alfa 147, 156 & GT 27 18-03-10 14:24

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome