Remap of GT V6 - first thoughts - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Tuning & Upgrades Discuss performance enhancements for your Alfa Romeo

 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 12 Old 09-06-12 Thread Starter
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hertfordshire
Posts: 9

Member car:

GT 3.2 V6

Remap of GT V6 - first thoughts

I had my 3.2 GT remapped by Red Dot yesterday. Helpful and knowledgeable guys. First thoughts are it feels crisper in terms of throttle response, that annoying lumpiness at about 2,500 RPM seems improved and it delights in being pushed to the red line which now seems a little higher. Fuel economy seems quite a bit better, had to go down to Southampton this morning so a combination of 90 MPH ish and a fair bit of M25/M3 slow traffic both ways and i averaged 29MPG on regular unleaded according to the trip. On the down side it doesn't feel much quicker, just a nicer drive.

Time will tell i guess.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg GRAPH FOR SE54 SKJ 224BHP 194FTLB on 2012-06-08 @ 14-02-52.jpg (45.3 KB, 157 views)
File Type: jpg GRAPH FOR SE54 SKJ 245bhp 214ftlb on 2012-06-08 @ 14-56-53.jpg (42.9 KB, 160 views)
DavidJM is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: Breraless :(
AO Platinum Member
 
Squadrone Rosso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Neath Port Talbot
Posts: 30,126
Interesting / interested - well down on power before though

Dare I ask the cost?
Squadrone Rosso is online now  
(Post Link) post #3 of 12 Old 09-06-12 Thread Starter
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hertfordshire
Posts: 9

Member car:

GT 3.2 V6

Yep i thought it down on power, but according to the guys at Red Dot it is about typical. The term used was they never produce what the factory says, Italian horses are a little smaller!

It cost 300. As i do a fair few miles it might even pay for itself if the economy savings continue. I have had the Q2 diff done a few weeks back, the only thing left that the tuners mentioned was possibly getting the injectors cleaned, thoughts?
DavidJM is offline  
Status: Alfaless!!
AO Silver Member
 
phil-gtv6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Sussex
Posts: 3,090
Garage

Member car:

E82 125i

this also suggests that they are generally down fron factory:

Powertrain Performance Graph for Alfa Romeo 147 GTA -05 (184 kW)
phil-gtv6 is offline  
Status: Search for perfection...
Temp Un-Registered
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Posts: 3,532

Member car:

GTA & Scooby

That is very interesting as when I had mine on a RR it was up on power and torque from the factory so something seems to be wrong, have you checked your maf as that's deffo not right for a 3.2 Busso....thought you meant a GTV V6 from the power before
BeautifulBusso is offline  
Status: Alfaless!!
AO Silver Member
 
phil-gtv6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Sussex
Posts: 3,090
Garage

Member car:

E82 125i

Quote:
Originally Posted by BeautifulBusso View Post
That is very interesting as when I had mine on a RR it was up on power and torque from the factory so something seems to be wrong, have you checked your maf as that's deffo not right for a 3.2 Busso....thought you meant a GTV V6 from the power before
What dyno was it? - more reliable than the rototest hub dyno?
phil-gtv6 is offline  
Status: Search for perfection...
Temp Un-Registered
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Posts: 3,532

Member car:

GTA & Scooby

Quote:
Originally Posted by phil-gtv6 View Post
What dyno was it? - more reliable than the rototest hub dyno?
It was a Dyno Dynamics Phase 3 and done at Surrey Rolling Road, they are known within the car world as one of the most realiable and accurate RR places around
BeautifulBusso is offline  
Status: In the red...
AO Silver Member
 
silvervalver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: East Sussex
Posts: 2,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by BeautifulBusso View Post
It was a Dyno Dynamics Phase 3 and done at Surrey Rolling Road, they are known within the car world as one of the most realiable and accurate RR places around
Surrey RR are good. Had mine done there many years ago when it was standard. Charlie was impressed with the power they make, they hasn't had a GTA before and I believe the graph is still up on their wall in the luxurious waiting area.
silvervalver is offline  
(Post Link) post #9 of 12 Old 15-06-12 Thread Starter
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hertfordshire
Posts: 9

Member car:

GT 3.2 V6

Quote:
Originally Posted by BeautifulBusso View Post
That is very interesting as when I had mine on a RR it was up on power and torque from the factory so something seems to be wrong, have you checked your maf as that's deffo not right for a 3.2 Busso....thought you meant a GTV V6 from the power before
Surely if it was the MAF it would show up in the fueling ratio, which although a little lumpy in the before isnt terrible. Also in the high 20's i get pretty good mileage from a spiritedly driven GT with that lump.
DavidJM is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,814
Quote:
Originally Posted by phil-gtv6 View Post
this also suggests that they are generally down fron factory:

Powertrain Performance Graph for Alfa Romeo 147 GTA -05 (184 kW)
A lot of them weren't timed up correctly from the factory either...
Pud237 is offline  
Status: Vroooooooom!
AO Silver Member
 
paulmacs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Armagh
Posts: 2,338

Member car:

Giulietta QV

You got some good gains from a V6 there.
paulmacs is offline  
Status: Alfaless!!
AO Silver Member
 
phil-gtv6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Sussex
Posts: 3,090
Garage

Member car:

E82 125i

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pud237 View Post
A lot of them weren't timed up correctly from the factory either...
That'd make sense

- Looking through the various cars tested a majority of the N/A cars are at about 90-95% power, others less. Seems only turbos that are getting 100% or more which I can believe
phil-gtv6 is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Tuning & Upgrades

Tags
remap , thoughts

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alfa Romeo Engine Numbers TS,JTS,V6,JTD biffa Engines (TS, JTS, JTD & V6) 35 27-03-17 21:58
Swapped GT for 159 - my thoughts 3 months on GTMAT Alfa 159, Brera & 946 Spider 45 03-07-12 20:38
Alfas in computer games? K18 NOB General Alfa Discussion 24 03-06-11 20:51
Why does the GT 3.2 v6 get less gain form remap? mellinator2k Tuning & Upgrades 46 28-06-10 07:33
Drove my first Alfa today - Few Questions 2.5 V6 156 Gwedo Alfa 147, 156 & GT 21 13-06-10 22:48

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome