I love my Alfa and want to upgrade but... - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Tuning & Upgrades Discuss performance enhancements for your Alfa Romeo

(Post Link) post #1 of 7 Old 12-04-12 Thread Starter
AO Member

County: Devon
I love my Alfa and want to upgrade but...

Hello all.

Im new to AO and i thought i would share a bit of my Alfa's history before i ask about what to upgrade.

I own an early 2002 156 JTS which has approx 149k on the clock. Bought it around 4 years ago with 115k miles, an ex company execs car. It was in good condition apart from the drivers side skirt wasnt fixed properly at one end, no dents at all thought the alloys were in poor shaped (flaked and kerbed).

I remember when i bought it my mate wanted me to get a mint MG z180 which had only 31k miles and only £200 dearer 51 plate i think. It was the first time i think ive ever noticed a 156 and once i did the MG didnt stand a chance!

Over the years since i have to park in the street, vandals have keyed the wing and rear, kicked (im guessing) my front wheel arches and some kids have walked over the bonnet and roof... Not been very lucky. Anyway i got all of that sorted, had an alfa spoiler put on and the alloys refurbed, new bolts/lockers/badges etc. Bought full leather interior off ebay and had some other cosmetic things done. Its still very much standard minus the orange indicators Since then some idiot looks to have rubbed something abrasive on the bonnet but it will polish out. I was going to do more but disheartened as im worried about more damage.

I want to keep my Alfa, ive always said i would till it explodes (preferably with me not inside) but i would like to give it something extra to put a smile on my face. Its great to drive as is, though the suspension is way too spongy especially at speed on the local A road and doesnt inspire much confidence at all. At one time it scared the crap out of me while i was doing .. erm 70! thats it