156 2.5 cheap horses - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Tuning & Upgrades Discuss performance enhancements for your Alfa Romeo

 
Thread Tools
Old 27-02-12 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Posts: 93

Member car:

1.6 147 Lusso

156 2.5 cheap horses

The V6 appreciation thread has got me going ..... https://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/alfa-...on-thread.html

I'm looking at early ish 156's 2.5's as a project. I'd like to get over 200hp, is this possible without making it unusable on the road. I'v a lot to learn about the Brusso, so please bear with me on the stupid questions.

Would I be correct in thinking that all V6 156's are 2.5?
The reason I ask is that GTV's and 166 have a 3.0l with a few HP more?
Are engines and parts easily interchangeable and would I notice any difference?
Would a 166 swap be a good conversion?
Will GTA or 3.0L heads & cams fit and will there be any gains or is it all about cc's?
Any after market throttle body/ignition systems available?
Any reccomended tuners who do remaps/setups ?

I keep telling myself its gonna be cheapish project without spending thousands on trick bits and maching services. So please gents no 1000 airbox kits please. They will probably come at a later date
edsel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 27-02-12
Status: DEFCON5
AO Gold Member
 
1of1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sao Tome and Principe
County: Principe
Posts: 11,604
Dropping a 3.0 in has been done several times, try a search?
1of1 is offline  
Old 28-02-12
Status: Selespeed that's reliable
AO Gold Member
 
turbonutters's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Posts: 7,047

Member car:

GTV 2.8 Turbo

Yes the easiest will be to get a 3.0 and put it in the 156. The early 156 2.5 in my opinion is a nicer car to play with since the electronics are not as integrated.

If you want to stay with a 2.5 start with the following.
Since it’s a early 2.5 it will be fitted with the proper outlet branches.
Replace the inlet runners with the 45mm units from a 3.0 or 3.2 and match the base with them.
Do a proper service.
Improve the inlet track so that it can breathe a bit easier. K&N drop in filter, GTA inlet trumpet and replace the standard pipe between the MAF and Butterfly with a silicon and stainless pipe system.
Replace the exhaust with something that flows better and are proven.
Now you can replace the cams with GTA inlets or something a bit more aggressive if you want.
Difficult to say where the power will be by now but you would have gained enough to feel the difference.

GTV V6 Turbo, Q2, Eibach, Koni, and lots more
916 2.0 Spider what have I done
Triumph Trophy 1200 to counter the fuel prices.
turbonutters is offline  
Old 28-02-12
Status: Rh - C8H18
AO Member
 
Speedmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bulgaria
County: Stara Zagora
Posts: 377
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by turbonutters View Post
Replace the inlet runners with the 45mm units from a 3.0 or 3.2 and match the base with them.
Improve the inlet track so that it can breathe a bit easier. K&N drop in filter, GTA inlet trumpet and replace the standard pipe between the MAF and Butterfly with a silicon and stainless pipe system.
Replace the exhaust with something that flows better and are proven.
Now you can replace the cams with GTA inlets or something a bit more aggressive if you want.
Had all above mods, and can confirm that car runs much better, but proper ECU remap is a must to unleash the full potential of this mods.....
Speedmaster is offline  
Old 29-02-12
Status: Currently refreshing engine bay
AO Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 374

Member car:

GTV 3.0 24V

Don't the 2.5's come with smaller more restrictive runner's than on the 3.x motors if so that would probably be a good cheep upgrade ?
BADfish10 is offline  
Old 29-02-12
Status: Selespeed that's reliable
AO Gold Member
 
turbonutters's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Posts: 7,047

Member car:

GTV 2.8 Turbo

Yes they do and replacing them with the 3.0 or 3.2 runners help. i think i did mention it in my first post.
turbonutters is offline  
Old 29-02-12
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
David C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 29,950
And you need a remap to go with the larger runners.
David C is offline  
Old 01-03-12
Status: Selespeed that's reliable
AO Gold Member
 
turbonutters's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Posts: 7,047

Member car:

GTV 2.8 Turbo

Even without a remap there’s a nice improvement. In SA we do not have the luxury of getting a remap so I can confirm that all the changes will give a nice and reliable increase without a remap.
But a remap will definitely release even more power.
turbonutters is offline  
Old 01-03-12
Status: Waiting for Stelvio QV
AO Platinum Member
 
OperationAlfa's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Posts: 23,452
A remap alone will see most early 2.5's over 200BHP.
OperationAlfa is offline  
Old 02-03-12
Status: Selespeed that's reliable
AO Gold Member
 
turbonutters's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Posts: 7,047

Member car:

GTV 2.8 Turbo

Converted to crank HP yes.
turbonutters is offline  
Old 02-03-12
Status: -
AO Member
 
Francois89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Midrand
County: South Africa
Posts: 45
Hey turbonutters, is there recorded 3l conversions in SA
Seems difficult to pic up a 166 engine for cheap
And what about a piggyback?
Francois89 is offline  
Old 02-03-12
Status: Selespeed that's reliable
AO Gold Member
 
turbonutters's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Posts: 7,047

Member car:

GTV 2.8 Turbo

Yes but the most common is to change the 2.5 to a 2.8 by fitting 3.0 liner’s and pistons.
Unfortunately that involves a lot of machining.
A piggy back help’s but a proper remap is the best when available.
turbonutters is offline  
Old 02-03-12
Status: -
AO Member
 
duff79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Northamptonshire
Posts: 142

Member car:

156 2.5 v6

Doesn't changing to bigger inlet runners without remap give less low end power and drivability that's what was mentioned when I asked same question.
duff79 is offline  
Old 02-03-12
Status: Selespeed that's reliable
AO Gold Member
 
turbonutters's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Posts: 7,047

Member car:

GTV 2.8 Turbo

No it improves all over.
We have done it on a lot of 2.5’s and it work’s brilliantly.
We even upgraded a old 155 2.5 by fitting 156 2.5 runner’s.
turbonutters is offline  
Old 02-03-12
Status: -
AO Member
 
duff79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Northamptonshire
Posts: 142

Member car:

156 2.5 v6

Howuch extra power are you likely to achieve I have a decat exhaust with straight thru backbox, a Cda enclosed filter with cold feed pipe plus silicone throttle body hoses?
duff79 is offline  
Old 02-03-12
Status: Selespeed that's reliable
AO Gold Member
 
turbonutters's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Posts: 7,047

Member car:

GTV 2.8 Turbo

It’s difficult to put a value to it since we haven’t done a back to back dyno but its enough that you can notice a difference especially in response. Hp wise probably not enough to offset the cost if you have to buy new runners.
You will probably gain by ditching the cda and putting a oe air box with BMC or K&N replacement filter and GTA intake on it as well.
That’s one thing that’s proven a CDA can not flow as much air as an optimized OE air box unless you drive a 147 2.0 or smaller.
turbonutters is offline  
Old 02-03-12
Status: -
AO Member
 
duff79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Northamptonshire
Posts: 142

Member car:

156 2.5 v6

If I can find a cheap set second hand must worth a try what's the difference to the gta intake to the custom I have made is the hoses bigger?
duff79 is offline  
Old 06-03-12
Status: Selespeed that's reliable
AO Gold Member
 
turbonutters's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Posts: 7,047

Member car:

GTV 2.8 Turbo

Show me a picture of your setup.
The main thing with the GTA mod is the trumpet in front of the air cleaner (cold air induction) is larger than the 2.0 and 2.5s.
The air boxes on all 156s are the same size.
turbonutters is offline  
Old 06-03-12
Status: -
AO Member
 
duff79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Northamptonshire
Posts: 142

Member car:

156 2.5 v6

Hi turbonutters can't upload pic of the intake using an iPhone but could probably email it to you if you have an address?
duff79 is offline  
Old 06-03-12
Status: Selespeed that's reliable
AO Gold Member
 
turbonutters's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Posts: 7,047

Member car:

GTV 2.8 Turbo

PM with email send
turbonutters is offline  
Old 06-03-12
Status: -
AO Member
 
duff79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Northamptonshire
Posts: 142

Member car:

156 2.5 v6

Picture is now sent hopefully you received it
duff79 is offline  
Old 06-03-12
sergioq
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Someone else has asked recently on this forum....can you remap the older 156 2.5s? Angel tune said they couldnt do my 99 156 2.5 V6 ?
 
Old 06-03-12
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by sergioq View Post
Someone else has asked recently on this forum....can you remap the older 156 2.5s? Angel tune said they couldnt do my 99 156 2.5 V6 ?
Can't be done through OBD port, but can be done by removing the ECU from the car if you have the right gear. Not many people know how to do it these days though.
Pud237 is offline  
Old 06-03-12
Status: living the Dream
AO Silver Member
 
finny05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Gloucestershire
Posts: 1,178
Quote:
Originally Posted by sergioq View Post
Someone else has asked recently on this forum....can you remap the older 156 2.5s? Angel tune said they couldnt do my 99 156 2.5 V6 ?
Hey Rob,just bought another project an absolute mint v6 2.5 156 Veloce sw late 2003 with 68k in black of course ,cambelt gone,but might be putting a 3.0 in!! Sold the 147 sillyspeed.
finny05 is offline  
 

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Tuning & Upgrades

Tags
156 , cheap , horses
Thread Tools



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
So how many and where are the GTA's ??? 156GTASW Alfa GTA 608 27-10-11 09:11

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome