Alfa Romeo 156 help... - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Tuning & Upgrades Discuss performance enhancements for your Alfa Romeo

(Post Link) post #1 of 29 Old 14-11-11 Thread Starter
AO Member

County: -

Member car:

Alfa Romeo 156

Alfa Romeo 156 help...

Hi there, i'm new to the forum and a new owner of Alfa Romeo 156 '05, 1.6 TS. I have read a lot of threads about tuning my Alfa and i think i'm even more confused than i was in the beginning, so i need ur help. I will need all the help i can get, cause i'm very very new to these things.

First of all i want 2 things done to my car, add some HP and get some sound of that engine, so here are the questions:

I was thinking at taking my car to a chip tuning company, which will add from 8-12 HP (i would be happy with 8). So will this chip tuning cause any problems, parts to die quicker ?? I think this is the cheapest way to add some liveliness, what do u guys thing ??

Then about the sound, here are the big questions... An air filter or an exhaust, which air filter or which exhaust ??

I asked about these 2 filters:
K&N Typhoon induction Kit
BMC CDA Cold Air induction kit

K&N is suppose to sound better, but the BMC is suppose to give more power than the K&N (more liveliness than power, i dont expect much more than the sound from the filter). What do u guys think ??

How about an exhaust, its pricier, i was thinking in terms of the rear exhaust, they are all around 400€ or more, are they a better choice than an air filter, cause the sound is there from the beginning, will only the rear exhaust add more power, or should we say liveliness than an air filter ??
Are there any rear exhausts that add some HP and sound, or do u have to change the whole exhaust to gain some HP ?? Which exhausts (i dont want them to be 2 loud) ??