ECU Change - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Tuning & Upgrades Discuss performance enhancements for your Alfa Romeo

 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 5 Old 26-10-11 Thread Starter
Status: Quo
AO Member
 
yeew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Australia
County: New South Wales
Posts: 136
ECU Change

Hey,

Is it possible to replace the ECU in a 2.5 V6 with one from a 3.0 V6 or 3.2 V6? (I am lead to believe they are the same)

Although I am getting my 2.5 pulled out and a 3.0 put in it's place in around a month, should I just wait until then or will it be incompatible with 2.5 electronics?

Thanks
yeew is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Alexandrus
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
You don't even need to change it, especially since there is NO 156 3.0 V6 from factory.
And no, 2.5/3.0 ECU is different than 3.2 ECU. 2.5 and 3.0 should be the same, but as I said, you do not need to change it, it creates more problems than it solves, like having to reprogram the keys and such.
 
Status: playing kill by numbers
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Belgium
County: Down in the Park
Posts: 8,786
best just get your 2.5 ecu remapped
Cuore_Sportivo_155 is offline  
(Post Link) post #4 of 5 Old 27-10-11 Thread Starter
Status: Quo
AO Member
 
yeew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Australia
County: New South Wales
Posts: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexandrus View Post
especially since there is NO 156 3.0 V6 from factory.
I'm putting a 166 3.0 V6 in.

It does sound like a lot of trouble might just get a remap

Thanks guys
yeew is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 11

Member car:

Alfa 156 2.0 TS

I've done the same; the engine will run on the 2.5 ECU, not correctly but it will run - then get it remapped and all will be well
sid3windr is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Tuning & Upgrades

Tags
change , ecu , engine , replace

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Selespeed ECU Change when clutch changed? Romek Alfa 147, 156 & GT 19 05-07-09 09:01
156 2.0 TS ECU Change July '99 rt05492 Alfa 147, 156 & GT 3 16-07-08 11:18
Resetting ECU after lambda sensor change Dom B Alfa 155 12 07-07-04 21:55
V6 ECU change . drummerboytom Alfa 155 7 09-03-04 20:28
Squadra chip jason77 Alfa 155 30 23-01-02 15:49

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome