147 Engine Transplants - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Tuning & Upgrades Discuss performance enhancements for your Alfa Romeo

 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 22 Old 07-08-11 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lincolnshire
Posts: 128

Member car:

147

147 Engine Transplants

I suspect that the big end has gone on my 147, so im expecting to need a new engine. I luckily have an RAC warranty, so im hoping that will pick up the cost.

Anyhow, apart from replacing it like for like with another 2.0 TS engine, do i have any other options. For example, will a 3L GTV engine fit or perhaps will a 2.5L 156 engine slot in easier?

Thanks
alfieblack is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Damien_C
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
V6 engines are too hard to fit into a non V6 car. Just get another TS engine really.
 
Status: Selespeed that's reliable
AO Gold Member
 
turbonutters's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Posts: 7,047

Member car:

GTV 2.8 Turbo

Fitting the v6 is easy the problem is getting all the electronics to work so yes I agree stay with a TS motor.
turbonutters is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
gtv 3lturbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: France
County: Paris / Ill de France
Posts: 233

Member car:

gtv 3l turbo

Quote:
Originally Posted by turbonutters View Post
fitting the v6 is easy the problem is getting all the electronics to work so yes i agree stay with a ts motor.
+1000000000000000000000
gtv 3lturbo is offline  
Damien_C
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by turbonutters View Post
Fitting the v6 is easy the problem is getting all the electronics to work so yes I agree stay with a TS motor.
Although in saying that I might be doing it in the near future lol. It's easier on the 156 though.
 
Status: Selespeed that's reliable
AO Gold Member
 
turbonutters's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Posts: 7,047

Member car:

GTV 2.8 Turbo

Depending on the moddel of tje 156
turbonutters is offline  
Damien_C
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
True the earlier ones are easier non facelift cars on the both counts.
 
(Post Link) post #8 of 22 Old 14-08-11 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lincolnshire
Posts: 128

Member car:

147

Ok, so Ive gathered that the V6 would be a nightmare. How about if the diesel turbo be in someway fitted to a petrol engine?
alfieblack is offline  
Status: bought a 75...
AO Gold Member
 
bacon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: North Yorkshire
Posts: 6,298
cant you put a 2.0 turbo (4 or 5 pot) in out of a Fiat Coupe. That'd be my choice in your position.
bacon is offline  
Damien_C
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by alfieblack View Post
Ok, so Ive gathered that the V6 would be a nightmare. How about if the diesel turbo be in someway fitted to a petrol engine?
Buddy has done it but he is a Fiat/Alfa mech I wouldn't be doing it if I wasn't to be honest.
 
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,815
Quote:
Originally Posted by alfieblack View Post
Ok, so Ive gathered that the V6 would be a nightmare. How about if the diesel turbo be in someway fitted to a petrol engine?
Unless you can do the work yourself then it would be cheaper to sell your car and buy a diesel one.
Pud237 is offline  
Status: Selespeed that's reliable
AO Gold Member
 
turbonutters's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Posts: 7,047

Member car:

GTV 2.8 Turbo

Quote:
Originally Posted by bacon View Post
cant you put a 2.0 turbo (4 or 5 pot) in out of a Fiat Coupe. That'd be my choice in your position.
Exactly the same problem as with a V6 the electronics are not the same so traction control and all the other nice things will probably not work so no I will not advise it.
turbonutters is offline  
Status: Selespeed that's reliable
AO Gold Member
 
turbonutters's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Posts: 7,047

Member car:

GTV 2.8 Turbo

Quote:
Originally Posted by alfieblack View Post
Ok, so Ive gathered that the V6 would be a nightmare. How about if the diesel turbo be in someway fitted to a petrol engine?
Do you want to fit the diesel manifold and turbo on your TS motor?
If yes it can definitely be done although I will suggest that you rather use a 1.9 turbo outlet manifold with a 2.4 turbo since the 1.9 turbo will be a bit small for the TS.
turbonutters is offline  
Damien_C
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I never knew they where a direct fit turbo nutters. How do ye get oil feeds etc to the turbo and what kinda power outta a TS engine can you get?
 
Status: Selespeed that's reliable
AO Gold Member
 
turbonutters's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Posts: 7,047

Member car:

GTV 2.8 Turbo

The easiest is to tap the oil from the rear of the head. There’s a small grub screw that you remove and you have an oil feed for the turbo.
Return is more of a job since you have to fashion a inlet on the sump as high as possible.
Power obviously depends on what you boost but it is safe to say that you can easily make more power than a 2.5v6 without compromising reliability. For fueling you can ad an additional injector preferably a 1000cc with a standalone system to drive it.
The oe ECU will handle the rest as normal.
Unfortunately the diesel outlet manifolds are expensive in SA so we stick to fabricating our own manifolds.

GTV V6 Turbo, Q2, Eibach, Koni, and lots more
916 2.0 Spider what have I done
Triumph Trophy 1200 to counter the fuel prices.
turbonutters is offline  
Status: bought a 75...
AO Gold Member
 
bacon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: North Yorkshire
Posts: 6,298
Quote:
Originally Posted by turbonutters View Post
Exactly the same problem as with a V6 the electronics are not the same so traction control and all the other nice things will probably not work so no I will not advise it.
Doh!!
bacon is offline  
Damien_C
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by turbonutters View Post
The easiest is to tap the oil from the rear of the head. There’s a small grub screw that you remove and you have an oil feed for the turbo.
Return is more of a job since you have to fashion a inlet on the sump as high as possible.
Power obviously depends on what you boost but it is safe to say that you can easily make more power than a 2.5v6 without compromising reliability. For fueling you can ad an additional injector preferably a 1000cc with a standalone system to drive it.
The oe ECU will handle the rest as normal.
Unfortunately the diesel outlet manifolds are expensive in SA so we stick to fabricating our own manifolds.
That's all very cool any pics of work you have done you have me thinking now lol.What size turbo did ye go something like a GT28RS or simlar? And about what .7 of a bar of boost with an FMIC I suppose is the standard fuel pump ok and what kinda standalone ECU would you need for the 1000cc injector?
 
Status: Selespeed that's reliable
AO Gold Member
 
turbonutters's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Posts: 7,047

Member car:

GTV 2.8 Turbo

GT28rs will be perfect if you are stingy like me you can always get a Mitsubi****D04 from a Volvo t5 they have a internal waste gate and dump valve the stock TS motor can handle a lot of boost i turned my GTV 2.0ts up to 0.8 without a problem apart from the gearbox starting to complain.
Yes a FMIC would be wise. We use a Gotec stand alone management to drive the injector it is cheap and easy to map safely. I would suggest that you get a good quality wideband to set the fueling and a egt gage to monitor exhaust gas temperature so that you can see when things aren’t the way they should be.
On customers cars we normally boost 0.5bar which is 100% safe.
The TS can take up to 0.2bar without additional fueling.





My TS GTV evolved into a V6 24v turbo. With the GTV I unfortunately had to dump the oe management since I changed to v6 so now we are using a Gotech standalone to do everything.
turbonutters is offline  
Damien_C
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Holy god that is unreal I think I shall be pming you
 
(Post Link) post #20 of 22 Old 17-08-11 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lincolnshire
Posts: 128

Member car:

147

What sort of power could you expect from a turbo'd 2.0 TS? For the 0.2bar and the 0.5 bar. How much would you charge Turbonutters?
alfieblack is offline  
(Post Link) post #21 of 22 Old 08-09-12 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lincolnshire
Posts: 128

Member car:

147

Quote:
Exactly the same problem as with a V6 the electronics are not the same so traction control and all the other nice things will probably not work so no I will not advise it.
Could you run two ECU's? the original one for the traction control etc and the ecu from the new engine to run the new engine?

Im mentioning this again as my engine has failed again and the warranty will pay for the new engine. My alfa chap says that he will put a v6 engine in if I wish.

Im guessing that it needs to be a five speed engine rather than a six? Looking on ebay I think the 5 speed GTV engines could be the way to go?
alfieblack is offline  
Status: Race cars in progress
AO Silver Member
 
Gertie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Posts: 5,994
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by alfieblack View Post
Could you run two ECU's? the original one for the traction control etc and the ecu from the new engine to run the new engine?

Im mentioning this again as my engine has failed again and the warranty will pay for the new engine. My alfa chap says that he will put a v6 engine in if I wish.

Im guessing that it needs to be a five speed engine rather than a six? Looking on ebay I think the 5 speed GTV engines could be the way to go?
Will the warranty pay for a V6 if you had a TS engine? As far as I have it - they pay like-for-like replacements - no-one pays for upgrades .

In essence anything can be done, it a question of how much money and time are you willing to throw at it. You can run two ECU's - one managing fuel etc - but traction control won't work other than the ABS - as you are breaking the link from your body computer to the ECU that should retard power when traction control kicks in.
Gertie is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Tuning & Upgrades

Tags
147 , engine , transplants

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
So how many and where are the GTA's ??? 156GTASW Alfa GTA 608 27-10-11 09:11

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome