GT JTDm Remap - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Tuning & Upgrades Discuss performance enhancements for your Alfa Romeo

 
Thread Tools
Alfa1954
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
GT JTDm Remap

Hi Chaps,

Just had my GT JTDm remapped to 190bhp. Went to FR&R Tuning and they sorted out a custom map. Cost me 200 all in, but that's probably because they've remapped my last 3 cars!!

First impressions are that it pulls like a train. 1st and 2nd have definately improved with a massive improvement between 4th & 5th. Can't judge the affect on mpg just yet but supposedly it will improve as per the standard remap claims. -I still can't get my head round why MPG is improved!

I'm going to let the map bed in for a week and I'll give some more feedback.

Last edited by Alfa1954; 15-07-11 at 23:13.
 
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: WINNING!!!!
AO Silver Member
 
Singularity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: -
Posts: 2,036

Member car:

Van & astra GTC

The mpg thing is a bit of a trick, reading will be further out than before, at least 10% optimistic I'd say.
Singularity is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
t3yls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2,913

Member car:

Alfa GT Jtdm

Nuts ....would like to hear some feedback on the remap as i've been considering this for some time.

A few q's, if you wouldn't mind answering for me...
- does it smoke more now?
- would you describe it as a smooth power delivery, or a big spike?
- 200 seems a good price. You describe it as a custom remap ....what was customised about it? did you dyno run it, or go out for a few drives and they tweaked it for example.

Cheers
t3yls is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
typos1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 3,779

Member car:

147 Ducati Corse

Mpg is always out, even without a remap-the only way to tell is to do a brim to brim.

What was your torque figure?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nuts View Post
1st and 2nd have definately improved
Surprised you even bother with 1st-its pointless!-I never do.
typos1 is offline  
Alfa1954
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by t3yls View Post
Nuts ....would like to hear some feedback on the remap as i've been considering this for some time.

A few q's, if you wouldn't mind answering for me...
- does it smoke more now?
- would you describe it as a smooth power delivery, or a big spike?
- 200 seems a good price. You describe it as a custom remap ....what was customised about it? did you dyno run it, or go out for a few drives and they tweaked it for example.

Cheers
So far so good. I haven't noticed more smoke but will be keeping an eye on that. I'd say that the power delivery hits between 2000-3500revs which is how I wanted it. -I like to be thrown back in my seat. By custom map I meant that they analysed the existing map, and created a bespoke one to my requirements after I drove around the block several times. No rolling road test, but their maps are tested & developed expecially.

With one of my previous cars (Saab 9-3 TID) which had the same engine, I came back after a few days with tweaks I wanted to power delivery which they accomodated. They even took the map off my previous car for free when i sold it.

Good value at 200 I say. I'm going to get it rolling roaded and then I'll post results.
 
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
typos1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 3,779

Member car:

147 Ducati Corse

Whats the torque fig?
typos1 is offline  
Alfa1954
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by typos1 View Post
Whats the torque fig?
375nm although this needs to be substantiated
 
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
typos1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 3,779

Member car:

147 Ducati Corse

I see, how are you getting your 190/375 figs then, just estimates?
typos1 is offline  
Alfa1954
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I've seen the results on the hardware.

As it happens I'm going back today to drop the bhp down to 180bhp. I'm concerned about clutch slippage when you slam the foot down. Apparently its called an 'eco' remap. Will give an update.
 
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
t3yls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2,913

Member car:

Alfa GT Jtdm

Quote:
Originally Posted by nuts View Post
I've seen the results on the hardware.

As it happens I'm going back today to drop the bhp down to 180bhp. I'm concerned about clutch slippage when you slam the foot down. Apparently its called an 'eco' remap. Will give an update.
will look out for the update.

were you getting slip in low gears or high gears?
could this be as a result of too much power in one go, rather than it being spread over the rev range. I recall you saying it kicks in between 2-3.k revs.
t3yls is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Tuning & Upgrades

Tags
jtdm , remap

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Life back in a GT JTDm Graham P Alfa 147, 156 & GT 7 19-06-09 07:10
07 GT 1.9 jtdm remap pondust Alfa 147, 156 & GT 7 21-05-09 22:02
Remap GT 1.9 JTDM AddH Tuning & Upgrades 50 09-06-08 22:28
Remap GT 1.9 JTDM AddH North West 5 28-05-08 21:35
Remap on a GT 1.9 JTDM cirvy Alfa 147, 156 & GT 73 24-12-07 11:49

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome