going for an engine swap in my 147 - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Tuning & Upgrades Discuss performance enhancements for your Alfa Romeo

 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 19 Old 20-06-11 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina
County: Kanton Sarajevo
Posts: 132

Member car:

147 1.6 120hp

Chilling going for an engine swap in my 147

So, putting a 2.0 insted of my 1.6. I know people have done it, but never post about the work after it's done.

I'm close to doing it. I went to a men who sells alfa into spares and he told me I need the door keys, ECU and body computer (is that the right name in english?). Still thinking about it cause my car only has 110 000km (I think that's about 65k miles). Some people also told me that the 2.0 cf3 is less reliable then the 1.6 120 hp.

I read here that I dont need to buy the body computer, keys and ECU. I just need to remap the original ECU to work.

My question is will the body computer and keys allow it work? And has anyone else done it this way. I guess there is still the problem of the variable intake manifold.
The ECU and body computer are pretty expensive and I didnt calculate them into the price and I want to do it the "remap" way.

What are the combination:
1. 2.0 ecu, body, keys
2. original ecu + remap
3. engine, 2.0 ECU??

Last edited by TSpark-driver; 20-06-11 at 16:06.
TSpark-driver is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
(Post Link) post #2 of 19 Old 25-06-11 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina
County: Kanton Sarajevo
Posts: 132

Member car:

147 1.6 120hp

anyone done it?
TSpark-driver is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,808
I'd fit the 2.0 engine with the 1.6 ECU & bodycomputer, and also the 1.6 inlet manifold. Get it up and running and then go for a rolling road remap.
Pud237 is offline  
Status: 1750TBIecusoftware.. done!.40+bhp
AO Silver Member
 
ALFA TUNER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Merseyside
Posts: 3,480

Member car:

various Alfas

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pud237 View Post
I'd fit the 2.0 engine with the 1.6 ECU & bodycomputer, and also the 1.6 inlet manifold. Get it up and running and then go for a rolling road remap.
Why,he fits the complete 2ltr with manifold,and engine loom up to ecu and then sends the ecu to us to make fit ,so has all the benefits from the 2ltr engine(only takes 2 days with DHL)
ALFA TUNER is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,808
If I were bothered about the varibale inlet tract I'd fit a used 2.0 ecu, bodycomputer, loom & manifold along with the engine all from the same donor to keep costs down that way.
Pud237 is offline  
Status: Alfa-less
AO Member
 
torque's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Durham
Posts: 468

Member car:

Nowt

Or buy a 2ltr 147 instead?
torque is offline  
Status: 1750TBIecusoftware.. done!.40+bhp
AO Silver Member
 
ALFA TUNER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Merseyside
Posts: 3,480

Member car:

various Alfas

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pud237 View Post
If I were bothered about the varibale inlet tract I'd fit a used 2.0 ecu, bodycomputer, loom & manifold along with the engine all from the same donor to keep costs down that way.
Lol,why do all that work if it can be solved simply.
Also Dan,dont forget that in other countries used parts are not as cheaply available as in the UK(ecu and BC would be extra cost),otherwise I wouldn't be altering as many ecu's for other EU countries as we do.
ALFA TUNER is offline  
(Post Link) post #8 of 19 Old 27-06-11 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina
County: Kanton Sarajevo
Posts: 132

Member car:

147 1.6 120hp

Alfa tuner has a good point. I didnt know the board computer is that expensive, they asked 170 euros for a used one, then there is the ECU. I didnt ask how much the engine loom is. Is it a lot of work to fit the engine loom, more then 2 hours? Can someone who makes remaps do it? I mean fit the 2.0 litre program to my ECU? iinsted of shiping to uk and back
TSpark-driver is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,808
Well then your method all depends on budget. As I see it you have three options:

1) Fit 2.0 engine, ecu, bodycomputer, loom & manifold
2) Fit 2.0 engine, keep 1.6 manifold, ecu, bodycomputer, & loom, remap ECU.
3) Fit 2.0 engine, 2.0 manifold and loom, keep 1.6 bodycomputer & ecu and get ECU remapped and variable inlet manifold turned on

What 2.0 parts do you have already besides the engine? Do you have the inlet manifold & loom already?
Pud237 is offline  
(Post Link) post #10 of 19 Old 27-06-11 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina
County: Kanton Sarajevo
Posts: 132

Member car:

147 1.6 120hp

Well I surely want to save money. I will save a lot by swaping my engine and hopefully some other parts.
Pud237- something is confusing me. In the third option you say I get the engine loom but keep the bodycomputer? Are you sure the bodycomputer will work with the 2.0 engine and loom?
I dont have any parts, but there is a person who is selling a working 156 into peaces.

In the second option you mean I keep manifol, ecu, bodycomp and loom??? I tought to go that way, cause of money. But I heard I will loose power cause of the manifold.

I will keep the gearboy. only the first and fifth gears are different.
Thanks people for your help. REal experts here
TSpark-driver is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,808
In the third option you fit the 2.0 inlet manifold and 2.0 engine wiring loom, but keep the 1.6 ECU and bodycomputer. Then you will need to send them off for reprogramming and remapping, which basically is loading a modified 2.0 file into the 1.6 ecu. I don't know how much this costs, it may be more or less than just buying a second hand 2.0 ecu, bodycomputer and keys. But the remapped ecu will be better obviously.

In the second option, keeping the 1.6 manifold might mean you lose torque. It'll probably be power at low rpms you lose, and at high rpms it will be similar. This is the easiest option if money is limited, and changing the manifold, engine wiring loom, ecu & bodycomputer at a later date is an easy job, a few hours at most.

You are using the 1.6 gearbox?

Autolusso Penrith - UK's leading independent Alfa Romeo specialist with branches in Bedfordshire, Cumbria & Dorset

Wizard Exhaust systems available here

Tel: 01768 879 171
Pud237 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
thamaesta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Netherlands
County: Zuid Holland
Posts: 100

Member car:

147 1.8 evo

dont worry about loom and intake manifold, it will cost too much extra.
just plug the 2.0 in and dont forget the belt of the alternator is 1 rib wider,so you have to change those too (alternator and airco if im correct)

i put an 1.8 instead a 1.6 with diffrent cams and other tuningparts.
i did not went for the 2.0 because of the extra costs of the airco and alternator and balance shaft belt.
my 1.8 has a around 160bhp, and a lovely engine caracteristic! red line at 7600rpm
and its faster then a chipped 2.0ts
thamaesta is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Angel Uzunov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Bulgaria
County: Pazardjik
Posts: 17
Don't worry about the ECU. It is similar with the 2.0TS unit. Actually i am now driving my tuned QV with ECU from 1.6TS. So no problems. I think that the swap will be very clear and easy. even your gearbox will fit without problems to 2,0TS engine block. But my question is, what do you expect fro mthis swap? Is this 147 will be only for daily use , or you will participate some trackday events? You will notice a high power gain, but after 4-5 days you will start to wondering..."Ohhh there is a difference, but not so negligible.."

So my suggestion is to avoid this 2.0Ts and start looking for a 2.0 16V Turbo from FIAT Coupe!! The Lampredi engine is a trully masterpiece and is 99% the same as that one in Lancia Delta Integrale Evo's. The only difference is the ECU, because Lancia use Magnetti Marelli units. This engine is sooo awesome, even stock it gains 200bhp, great fuel economy when drive it normally and sooo much performance potential. And they do not cost much then the 2.0TS, which i really do not like so much! Better choice then the 2.0TS!

You are right, the one is a Natural Aspirated engine and the other is Turbo engine. But with my racing experience, to start build a NA car instead of Turbo powered one is just a big wste of money guys!!! We are now in the Turbo era, where for less investments you can achieve huge difference in performance and power gains from one engine. And the feeling is different, everybody loves the "Whooopssss" sound when you accelerate or shift gears.


Its your choice mate, but my suggestion is to start looking for a 2.0 16V Turbo from FIAT!
The 2.0TS will feet absolutely without problems to your engine bay, but the power gains are negligible and you wil lbe disapointed after some time

Best Regards
Angel Uzunov

Alfa Romeo 166 2.4 JTD (GTB2256V, Extreme remaped, 1.7bar boost, straight exhaust system, Brembo 4pod brake system 330mm brake discs); Alfa Romeo 145 QV (Colombo&Bariani 272 cams, Extreme remaped, JR cone intake, 240cc Saab turbo injectors, Supersprint 4-2-1 manifold + cat back system, O.S.R.A.V. Sport Kit suspension)
Angel Uzunov is offline  
(Post Link) post #14 of 19 Old 28-06-11 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina
County: Kanton Sarajevo
Posts: 132

Member car:

147 1.6 120hp

Quote:
You are using the 1.6 gearbox?
Yes I will keep the 1.6 gearbox. Some say I will have bigger consumption, but I doubt it.

I will talk with my mechanic about the belt issue. I never heard of that problem and balance shaft... and then people say it's just a random swap

I will use it daily, the extra torque will come nice. A coupe engine would need more investment. I would need an defferent exhaust, an intercooler, other sensors, pumps and other things...I tought about it, but it loked like a too much work, since I would pay the mechanic, which would be a few days work and I just dont have the money for such a project. I'm expecting little more power and more usable torque since it's in the lower revs. The turbo would be like a dream, but like I say, too much work.

Last edited by TSpark-driver; 28-06-11 at 10:57.
TSpark-driver is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,808
Quote:
Originally Posted by Angel Uzunov View Post
So my suggestion is to avoid this 2.0Ts and start looking for a 2.0 16V Turbo from FIAT Coupe!! The Lampredi engine is a trully masterpiece and is 99% the same as that one in Lancia Delta Integrale Evo's. The only difference is the ECU, because Lancia use Magnetti Marelli units. This engine is sooo awesome, even stock it gains 200bhp, great fuel economy when drive it normally and sooo much performance potential. And they do not cost much then the 2.0TS, which i really do not like so much! Better choice then the 2.0TS!
This would be a massive job in a 147. The difficulty is getting the body computer to talk to the engine ECU. Physically the front ends are very similar to the Fiat Coupe, but electronically they are totally different. Much easier in a 145, 146, GTV etc. Even a 156 would be easier.
Pud237 is offline  
Status: Meh.
AO Platinum Member
 
NineOneSix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hertfordshire
Posts: 30,067
Garage

Member car:

GTV V6 3.0

The 16VT engine loom and ECU work standalone though, so it wouldn't need to work with the body computer. it's very basic.

Oh and th Fiat coupe use the magnetti marelli ECU too
NineOneSix is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
ratatouille's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Highlands
Posts: 504

Member car:

Brera, Saab 9-3

Anyone any experience on getting insurance in the UK after converting from 1.6 to 2.0 in the 147? I'm tempted to put the engine from my sele (with knackered gear-shift) in my car just because I've done so much to mine already (FSD, eibach pro kit, leather interior and bose retrofit from the sele and one of Gus' exhausts+remap, spoiler etc...) but with the insurance hassle I'm not sure it's worth it?

Tempted to trade it or try and sell it but they are worth so little these days it doesn't seem worth that either!

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
ratatouille is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,808
Quote:
Originally Posted by NineOneSix View Post
The 16VT engine loom and ECU work standalone though, so it wouldn't need to work with the body computer. it's very basic.

Oh and th Fiat coupe use the magnetti marelli ECU too
But the body computer will need to see the engine ECU to make all the other car functions work, or at least stuff like the speedo/rev counter, temp gauge, etc. You couldn't just plum the outputs from the 16VT engine ecu to these clocks as they all take a CANbus input rather than a normal analogue input.
Pud237 is offline  
Status: Selespeed that's reliable
AO Gold Member
 
turbonutters's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Posts: 7,047

Member car:

GTV 2.8 Turbo

Just put the 2.0ts in and use the inlet manifold from the 1.6 as suggested by Pud.
No mess no fuss.
turbonutters is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Tuning & Upgrades

Tags
147 , engine , swap

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
So how many and where are the GTA's ??? 156GTASW Alfa GTA 608 27-10-11 09:11

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome