DPF and chiptuning 1.9 JTDm - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Tuning & Upgrades Discuss performance enhancements for your Alfa Romeo

 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 15 Old 12-04-11 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Croatia
County: -
Posts: 18

Member car:

147 jtdm

DPF and chiptuning 1.9 JTDm

Hello everyone

I want to improve my 120HP JTDM Alfa 147 with a SKN chip or similar, but I have a few questions.
My car is a 2008 model and I think it has a DPF, so I'm not sure whether it is wise to do a remap.
Can I remove the DPF? and how would it affect the smoke and exhaust sound?
Why my DPF has no sensor on it?
K & N panel filter or is it a useless investment?
How much power can be expected with, and how much without DPF?

thanks in advance
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1.jpg (46.2 KB, 13 views)
File Type: jpg 2.jpg (54.4 KB, 11 views)
danijel147 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: To GTB or not to GTB?
AO Silver Member
 
TribesMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Slovenia
County: -
Posts: 2,289
I think your car does not have DPF... This is probably just standard catalytic converter. But to be sure, you can check inside the engine bay. Right after the turbo there is another catalytic converter on the downpipe (pre-cat) and there should be a probe sticking out of the aluminium protection. That is lambda probe. Only cars without DPF have this probe.

Forget about K&N... use standard paper air filter, it is more good enough for well over 200BHP. You can try installing 16V style air-box snorkel. Your car is sucking air from behind the radiator in the engine bay. 16V cars have a special snorkel, that sucks air from the gap between the bumper and hood. It is probably the best mod you can do to improve air induction on a 8V.

I also suggest you to forget about SKN. I had terrible experience with them (although in Slovenia at their representative). Me and my fried choose to make a remap of our Alfa's there, both JTD 16V. Both smoked badly after a remap. We both went back 2 times each, and they were unable to fix this. I then found another solution (somebody on this forums offered to fix that "tune" for free), but my friend went there for the third time, and they managed to "fix it" but the car was very low on power after that.
A few months after that I also heard a few similar stories involving Alfa's and SKN. All cars smoked terribly after remaps, but their owners were smart enough to go back and demanded the money back.

Now when I learned to do my own remaps I also fixed my friends car. From what I saw on the firends car the SKN remap was probably worse than simple 20€ tuning box from ebay. Unfortunately I never saw the SKN remap file from my car, because it was fixed before I learned to remap, but I guess it couldn't be much different.

I don't know if situation improved in the last year and a half, but I would suggest finding somebody else. There a bunch of good tuners out there who can do proper remaps...
I hear that they are good with VAG and BMW, but they surely have problems finding ways around Alfa's ECUs.
TribesMan is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 15 Old 12-04-11 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Croatia
County: -
Posts: 18

Member car:

147 jtdm

Thanks for the rapid and generous response.
After this I will certainly seek another tuner.

If this is the probe you are mentioning?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 3.jpg (50.6 KB, 44 views)
danijel147 is offline  
Status: raising funds for the GTA...
Unregistered
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Romania
County: Bucuresti
Posts: 537

Member car:

159 2.4/156 GTA

i think that's the one...
tzziviielles is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 15 Old 12-04-11 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Croatia
County: -
Posts: 18

Member car:

147 jtdm

So I do not have DPF.
Great news, now I'm few bhp happier
Now I just have to find a decent tuner in Croatia.

If anyone has some experience with tuners from Croatia I would be grateful for your suggestions.
danijel147 is offline  
Status: To GTB or not to GTB?
AO Silver Member
 
TribesMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Slovenia
County: -
Posts: 2,289
Forget this post...
TribesMan is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
typos1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 3,779

Member car:

147 Ducati Corse

Dont think any 147s had DPF, think its from 159/Brera/Spider cars on.

Interesting what you say about the lamda Tribesman-I thought it was the other way round and only DPF cars had lambdas, didnt think diesels with 2 way cats had them.

Do you know what the function of a lamda is on a 2 way cat diesel then? The same as on a 3 way cat petrol ?
typos1 is offline  
Status: raising funds for the GTA...
Unregistered
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Romania
County: Bucuresti
Posts: 537

Member car:

159 2.4/156 GTA

there were 147's and GT's with DPF.
tzziviielles is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
typos1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 3,779

Member car:

147 Ducati Corse

Right, but not in the UK, in other markets ?
typos1 is offline  
Status: To GTB or not to GTB?
AO Silver Member
 
TribesMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Slovenia
County: -
Posts: 2,289
Yes there were 147's and GT's with DPF. Both 120BHP and 150BHP variants.
TribesMan is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
typos1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 3,779

Member car:

147 Ducati Corse

But not in the UK.

Whats the lamda for in a diesel with 2 way cats then TribesMan ?
typos1 is offline  
Status: raising funds for the GTA...
Unregistered
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Romania
County: Bucuresti
Posts: 537

Member car:

159 2.4/156 GTA

Quote:
Originally Posted by typos1 View Post
But not in the UK.
i think there should be in the uk also.
tzziviielles is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
typos1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 3,779

Member car:

147 Ducati Corse

Pretty certain it was only for some Euro markets.
typos1 is offline  
Status: Injected with a poison
AO Member
 
satanism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Denmark
County: Fyn
Posts: 970
afaik it has DPF if its the 120 or 150hp version as it's Euro4 standart...140 and 116 ones don't have
satanism is offline  
Status: To GTB or not to GTB?
AO Silver Member
 
TribesMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Slovenia
County: -
Posts: 2,289
No, only some models of GT and 147 had DPF. It is true that most of 159s had DPF, but again there were som models without DPF, but most 147s and GTs with euro4 models didn't have DPF.
You dont need DPF to achieve Euro4 norms.

The models without DPF have wideband lambda probe mounted on the pre-catalyst after the turbo.
TribesMan is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Tuning & Upgrades

Tags
chiptuning , dpf , jtdm

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome