3.2 24v Head Nuts - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Tuning & Upgrades Discuss performance enhancements for your Alfa Romeo

 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 12 Old 07-06-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
mr75's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Luxembourg
County: Luxembourg
Posts: 59
3.2 24v Head Nuts

Hello,

Im putting the heads back on my 3.2ltr engine, after the back head gasket failed. My mechanic says its 11.75 KGM of torque. Is this correct?, how do you convert this to foot pounds or newton meters which is what my torque wench is measured?

Thanks mr75
mr75 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: -
AO Member
 
gtv 3lturbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: France
County: Paris / Ill de France
Posts: 233

Member car:

gtv 3l turbo

look on EPER, it's good for you!!
gtv 3lturbo is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Yaninnya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Jersey
County: -
Posts: 163
It is 115 Nm or 85 lb ft, but that is not all. You need to do it in stages (I hope that you know that it is a sequence as well). I can check it tomorrow as I don't have Autodata at home.
Jan
Yaninnya is offline  
(Post Link) post #4 of 12 Old 07-06-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
mr75's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Luxembourg
County: Luxembourg
Posts: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yaninnya View Post
It is 115 Nm or 85 lb ft, but that is not all. You need to do it in stages (I hope that you know that it is a sequence as well). I can check it tomorrow as I don't have Autodata at home.
Jan

Thanks thats what my calcs came to aswell . Yes I have elearn and they torque from the center outwards clockwise, they use the degree dial after a small amount of torque too.

Another thing is that the new front gasket is slightly different from the old, the rear one is 100% the same. See the below pictures showing the old gasket vs the new. The new one has only one opening per cylinder for water, where as the old had two. And ideas on what this change is?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_0229.jpg (48.7 KB, 3 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_0230.jpg (35.8 KB, 2 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_0231.jpg (45.6 KB, 2 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_0232.jpg (33.8 KB, 1 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_0233.jpg (38.8 KB, 1 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_0234.jpg (41.7 KB, 2 views)
mr75 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Yaninnya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Jersey
County: -
Posts: 163
That is for increase the cooling fluid flow around cylinders.
I forgot to check the torques but tomorrow I'll chec the sequence as well.
Jan
Yaninnya is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Yaninnya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Jersey
County: -
Posts: 163
I forgot that your engine is 3.2 and checked torques for 3.0 24v: first stage 25 Nm, second 230 deg. Tightening sequence is:

7 3 2 5
6 1 4 8

6 1 4 8
7 3 2 5
V
Front

Tomorrow I'll check is it the same on 3.2 engine.
Jan
Yaninnya is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Yaninnya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Jersey
County: -
Posts: 163
In practise it is the same in 3.2 engine: first stage 24 - 26 Nm, second stage 228 - 232 deg. The sequence is the same.
Jan
Yaninnya is offline  
(Post Link) post #8 of 12 Old 14-06-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
mr75's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Luxembourg
County: Luxembourg
Posts: 59
Many thanks Jan , big help
mr75 is offline  
Status: -
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4,646
are the head 'bolts' & nuts re-usable?
SEARs is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Yaninnya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Jersey
County: -
Posts: 163
Quote:
Originally Posted by SEARs View Post
are the head 'bolts' & nuts re-usable?
As long as there is no any damage - yes. It is PITA to replace the studs as they likes to snap. Also sometimes goes out with ruined thread in the block.
Jan
Yaninnya is offline  
(Post Link) post #11 of 12 Old 17-06-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
mr75's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Luxembourg
County: Luxembourg
Posts: 59
I re-used 3 of the nuts, as local supplier didnt have a complete set. Problem is one of the ones re-used has stripped and looks like the stud needs to be replaced. The question is how do u remove and re-install this stud.
mr75 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Yaninnya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Jersey
County: -
Posts: 163
Can you lock two nuts on the top thread on the stud? If not you can try to weld the nut on the stud or use stud extractor. If it snap you are in sheat street as to do it properly you need to strip the engine to bare block and do it on the machine.
Jan
Yaninnya is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Tuning & Upgrades

Tags
24v , head , nuts

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome