the best tuning box? - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Tuning & Upgrades Discuss performance enhancements for your Alfa Romeo

Reply
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 45 Old 01-06-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Switzerland
County: -
Posts: 229
the best tuning box?

I need some more power in my alfa.
A re-map is the best way to go, but my warranty wont allow it, and they claime they will find out!
So I am left with the second best, a tuning box, but then I want to go for the best of the second best, which is the best tuning box on the market?
Is it Steinbaur? it sure is the most expensive one....
jonnyboy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: 660Nm of torqueystuff!
AO Platinum Member
 
Hunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: British Indian Ocean Terr
County: -
Posts: 15,174
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonnyboy View Post
I need some more power in my alfa.
A re-map is the best way to go, but my warranty wont allow it, and they claime they will find out!
So I am left with the second best, a tuning box, but then I want to go for the best of the second best, which is the best tuning box on the market?
Is it Steinbaur? it sure is the most expensive one....
Steinbauer
Autodelta
Tuningbox
Chipexpress
Ptronic

In fact loads of companies

I went with Autodelta - it was fitted by my dealer (Mangoletsi) for peace of mind.
Hunter is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 45 Old 01-06-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Switzerland
County: -
Posts: 229
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hunter View Post
Steinbauer
Autodelta
Tuningbox
Chipexpress
Ptronic

In fact loads of companies

I went with Autodelta - it was fitted by my dealer (Mangoletsi) for peace of mind.
Thanks Hunter,
I guess most of these boxes do the same thing, and has the same software in them, just different names.
jonnyboy is offline  
Status: Departed
AO Member
 
TimboZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: France
County: Aquitaine
Posts: 779
It is my understanding that 'mods' to the maps of these cars were encrypted and they only way to tell if something was changed was by a counter that says how many times the car has been 'updated' (which dealers do from time to time at servicing).
So , how on earth will 'they' know if you have re-mapped it ? I call 'BLUFF!'
TimboZero is offline  
Status: frenzied burrowing
AO Platinum Member
 
Fraser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: United Kingdom
County: South Lanarkshire
Posts: 19,680
My dealer (Western) told me a tuning box would invalidate my warranty.
Fraser is offline  
(Post Link) post #6 of 45 Old 03-06-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Switzerland
County: -
Posts: 229
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimboZero View Post
It is my understanding that 'mods' to the maps of these cars were encrypted and they only way to tell if something was changed was by a counter that says how many times the car has been 'updated' (which dealers do from time to time at servicing).
So , how on earth will 'they' know if you have re-mapped it ? I call 'BLUFF!'
well I don't know, but I am not willing to take the changes on it, I think also that the boys at the garage are a little afraid that the alfa Romeo system would find out if I should have a big problem, and blame them.
So they say to me go for a tuning box, and if something happens we will not notice it, and "know" about it as easily as with a remap.
jonnyboy is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,797
Don't think you can get a tuning box for a petrol engined car as its not rail pressure or injection timing that really matters like on a common rail diesel..
Pud237 is online now  
(Post Link) post #8 of 45 Old 04-06-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Switzerland
County: -
Posts: 229
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pud237 View Post
Don't think you can get a tuning box for a petrol engined car as its not rail pressure or injection timing that really matters like on a common rail diesel..
I have an 159 2.4 TI, will update my profile:-)
jonnyboy is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 59

Member car:

escort van

A remap is undetectable by a dealer, and dont believe them that they will overlook a tuning box if you have any engine problems..

they will cover their own backs first if anything happens, and how do they know who's going to be working on your car when it goes in garage?


steve
sr-performance is offline  
(Post Link) post #10 of 45 Old 05-06-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Switzerland
County: -
Posts: 229
Quote:
Originally Posted by sr-performance View Post
A remap is undetectable by a dealer, and dont believe them that they will overlook a tuning box if you have any engine problems..

they will cover their own backs first if anything happens, and how do they know who's going to be working on your car when it goes in garage?


steve
it is a small shop, with only three guys working there. doing service and repair on Alfa Romeo / Maserati and Ferrari. they usaly don't sell any cars
jonnyboy is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,797
Ah right, if its a 159 you have and you can't get it remapped then get a Steinbauer P-box, its defo the one to buy.
Pud237 is online now  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
crit71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: Tyne and Wear
Posts: 1,057
I bought a one of these Alfa Romeo JTD Diesel Tuning
At 250 it's not the most expensive and it's the same technology as most of the others which originates from these fellas http://www.dte-diesel-tuning.com/
It quotes 187bhp and trust me when I say...it flippin' feels like it too
It has me laughing when I put my foot down on the twisty's. What a difference.
Only negative side I've noticed is there is a defo worsening in diesel clatter noise.
WHich is a shame considering Alfa spent so much time in hetting rid of it.

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
crit71 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 59

Member car:

escort van

Thats one of the downsides to tuning boxes, they cannot alter fuel injector pressure, the torque curve etc.. but they do put lots of fuel in....



steve
sr-performance is offline  
Status: -
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 9
Guys I fitted a Tun-it module to my GT JTD and bingo, now it flys. But remember that extra horses means extra wear and tear and my clutch didn't like it. Really need to upgrade the clutch I think.
discodiver is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 59

Member car:

escort van

A good remap will not put extra strain on the clutch.. it does make it easier as you alter torque curve and power delivery so it has a smoother delivery hence an easier life.. you cannot do these things with a tuning box..


steve
sr-performance is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Buzz84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Crawley, Sussex
Posts: 290
TDI tuning do a good box. i have one fitted to my 156 and it makes a difference. Fergie69 also has one.

they sell for 250 odd on their web site but they also occasionally put them on ebay with a starting bid of 90. as they start high no-one bids so you can put in the starting bid and get it for 90, so you can get a lot of money off from what they advertise them on their web site.

http://stores.shop.ebay.co.uk/tdi-tuning-uk-shop
Buzz84 is offline  
Status: ready4vacations
AO Platinum Member
 
THROTTLEMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Portugal
County: Porto
Posts: 31,304

Member car:

Alfa 159 QV

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pud237 View Post
Don't think you can get a tuning box for a petrol engined car as its not rail pressure or injection timing that really matters like on a common rail diesel..
Yes you can, if it's a turbo. Look what Novitec has for the MITO.
THROTTLEMAN is offline  
(Post Link) post #18 of 45 Old 11-06-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Switzerland
County: -
Posts: 229
Quote:
Originally Posted by crit71 View Post
I bought a one of these Alfa Romeo JTD Diesel Tuning
At 250 it's not the most expensive and it's the same technology as most of the others which originates from these fellas Diesel Tuning | DTE Diesel chip tuning systems - official UK importers Plug N Drive
It quotes 187bhp and trust me when I say...it flippin' feels like it too
It has me laughing when I put my foot down on the twisty's. What a difference.
Only negative side I've noticed is there is a defo worsening in diesel clatter noise.
WHich is a shame considering Alfa spent so much time in hetting rid of it.
this sounds like something for me, did you notice if the fuel consumption whent down? (not that it matter that much)
jonnyboy is offline  
Status: Lazing around
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bristol
Posts: 41

Member car:

159 1.9 JTDM

I would reccomend a Steinbauer Diesel Tuning box

Like this one on Ebay here
Tedski is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
crit71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: Tyne and Wear
Posts: 1,057
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonnyboy View Post
this sounds like something for me, did you notice if the fuel consumption whent down? (not that it matter that much)
Jonny, I had a recent trip out to London and was getting a recorded 49mpg.
Considering my right foot is 16 stone , I carry weight in the boot and I only use to get 38 to 41mpg from my 140bhp VAG tdi then this is pretty spectacular.

*EDIT* it's a doddle to fit to...once you've done it once, really easy instructions to follow....you could remove and re-fit it in less than 2 minutes.
Just don't do what I did and break one of the placa cover inserts :-(
crit71 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Stu Chacks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wrexham
Posts: 41
Has anyone tried the 'Pro-Bitz' tuning box on a JTD? Looks better constructed than a lot of the circa 90 boxes (ie, no bare wires showing into the connectors). My neighbour has just fitted one to his saab sport (same 1.9JTD 150bhp engine) and it definatley makes a big difference to acceleration with no noticeable flat spots or smoke.
Would be interested on thoughts regards long term reliability/effects on the engine playing around with the common rail system.
Cheers! Stu.

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...ayphotohosting
Stu Chacks is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
crit71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: Tyne and Wear
Posts: 1,057
Right, I want to say something here which goes a little against wot I've been saying on this thread.
I've taking my box off today cause its going to thje stealers on monday and tbh....I can't notice a difference
It may have been my engine wearing in so to speak, cause without the box, it's still pretty damn pokey.
I think I'm gonna email the supplier.
crit71 is offline  
Status: Cold but bright
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Staffordshire
Posts: 141
Will any of the suggested mods work ok with diesel auto box?
robborover is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
Shimba98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Down
Posts: 6

Member car:

159 Ti

crit71 - Shimba98 here - keen to find out wht your progress was on the tuning box? Did contacting the manufacturer answer your queries?

Have you refitted the box?

Considering a tuning box myself, but lacking the confidence to purchase - long term issues...... Dealer in Belfast advises against!
Shimba98 is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
crit71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: Tyne and Wear
Posts: 1,057
Well Happy

Shimba...PM sent.
For everyone else, I got my box back a few weeks ago after sending it back to the manufacturer http://dieseltuning.uk.com/alfa.html and I've got one word to describe my 1.9 JTDm now.
WOW!
It has stupid power now. 1st gear doesn't last long enough, 2nd, 3rd and fourth gear are mental
5th gear is a little more tame as is 6th, but boy does it pull on the motorway.
40 to 100 is very quick and can be achieved in fourth gear alone yes officer that is on a private road.
I've now covered 15000 miles in my 1.9 sw ti and she's running like a dream.
If any of you have any doubts in getting a tuning box then don't. Mine works brilliantly. 2.4 performance with 1.9 economy Dare I say........it might even outpace a 2.4 (don't quote me though)
For all you eco warriors, depending on my mood, I get anywhere between 41 and 50 mpg.
crit71 is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Tuning & Upgrades

Tags
box , tuning

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tuning box on Ebay tk7209 Tuning & Upgrades 3 22-10-07 05:57
tuning box for 159 jtdm nick574s Alfa 159, Brera & 946 Spider 4 04-07-07 15:02

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome