KWP2000 software.? - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Tuning & Upgrades Discuss performance enhancements for your Alfa Romeo

Reply
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 58 Old 04-05-09 Thread Starter
Status: [Too Long]
AO Silver Member
 
crespo2121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 1,109
KWP2000 software.?

I am looking for a reputable place to download remapped programs for ecu,s.
I have seen adverts on ebay for discs with 3000 pre installed uprated ecu remaps but i would rather poke pins in my eyes than go anywhere near anybody's car with those.
Does anyone know where i can find trusted ecu flashes to download.?
I have found one place but its a foreign site so im a little dubious.

BY-BRAND-100x100-TESTED Car Power tuning - tested remapped files
crespo2121 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: 1750TBIecusoftware.. done!.40+bhp
AO Silver Member
 
ALFA TUNER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Merseyside
Posts: 3,480

Member car:

various Alfas

Re: KWP2000 software.?

We repair all Alfa ecus killed by DIY flash attempts especially hybrids!
ALFA TUNER is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Derbyshire
Posts: 1,613

Member car:

159 Ti

Re: KWP2000 software.?

looks like your paying a tenner for the same stuff on the ebay cd!

go to the red dot remapping day for 180quid if cost is an issue, or use one of the other tuners on here, ahm shouldn't be that far away.
jasons is offline  
(Post Link) post #4 of 58 Old 04-05-09 Thread Starter
Status: [Too Long]
AO Silver Member
 
crespo2121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 1,109
Re: KWP2000 software.?

I know how to use kwp2000. And i would make a back up of the original map. A local tuner to me just downloads remaps from somewhere on the net. I would just like to know from a business aspect. Its something i would like to do. But obviously i would not try to install anything untrusted.
crespo2121 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 352
Re: KWP2000 software.?

Hi,

I'd be very interested to know how you get on here, its something I have thought about myself. I agree with your premice that the tuners must get their maps from somewhere. Whilst I am sure the best guys tweak their own specific maps based on experience, there's no way everyone gets the opportunity to develop their own map from the ground up for every vehicle?!?!?

If it were me I would grab a few CD's from eBay and compare the maps in the first instance, between each other. If all 100 are the same, you know it's junk. Then I would try to compare the one for a specific car against a backup of a manufacturer ECU. If you can clearly see similarities just slight changes in fueling etc. then it bodes well... you probably do have to be prepared to waste a few quid on CDs though.

Have you got the KWP2000 interface? I would really like to know what parameters you can set on an Alfa (Bosch) ECU?

Cheers,

Chris
ChrisH is offline  
Status: 1750TBIecusoftware.. done!.40+bhp
AO Silver Member
 
ALFA TUNER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Merseyside
Posts: 3,480

Member car:

various Alfas

Re: KWP2000 software.?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisH View Post
Hi,

I'd be very interested to know how you get on here, its something I have thought about myself. I agree with your premice that the tuners must get their maps from somewhere. Whilst I am sure the best guys tweak their own specific maps based on experience, there's no way everyone gets the opportunity to develop their own map from the ground up for every vehicle?!?!?

If it were me I would grab a few CD's from eBay and compare the maps in the first instance, between each other. If all 100 are the same, you know it's junk. Then I would try to compare the one for a specific car against a backup of a manufacturer ECU. If you can clearly see similarities just slight changes in fueling etc. then it bodes well... you probably do have to be prepared to waste a few quid on CDs though.

Have you got the KWP2000 interface? I would really like to know what parameters you can set on an Alfa (Bosch) ECU?

Cheers,

Chris
And how are you going to compare those files?
ALFA TUNER is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 352
Re: KWP2000 software.?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ALFA TUNER View Post
And how are you going to compare those files?
You tell me! There must be some software that interprets them into clear parameters... or do established tuners use some zen art to automatically make adjustments?
ChrisH is offline  
Status: 1750TBIecusoftware.. done!.40+bhp
AO Silver Member
 
ALFA TUNER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Merseyside
Posts: 3,480

Member car:

various Alfas

Re: KWP2000 software.?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisH View Post
You tell me! There must be some software that interprets them into clear parameters... or do established tuners use some zen art to automatically make adjustments?

Yes there are,but the cheapest one cost £3500.00 and at that price you can only "look",if you modify it will be wrong as there will be no checksum correction.
As i have tried to explain in this forum in previous threads,tuners that make their own files spend in excess of 10K in editing software alone.
ALFA TUNER is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 352
Re: KWP2000 software.?

Well someone out there is making a fortune then because there is no way the software should cost anyone that much, thats not to imply it doesn't btw...

Having had a quick look there seem to be a couple of well established ECU programs on the net varying between being free and costing several hundreds pounds, but the real value appears to be the definition file that contains the illustrious parameters! Unfortunatly none in sight for Alfa... if we all owned E36 BMW's we'd be sorted!

That said I've more or less cured my desire to see what kind of parameters there are... that being an awful lot... as would be expected.
ChrisH is offline  
Status: 1750TBIecusoftware.. done!.40+bhp
AO Silver Member
 
ALFA TUNER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Merseyside
Posts: 3,480

Member car:

various Alfas

Re: KWP2000 software.?

I will not try and explain(as it would be very dificult)as to why it is not as simple as you think to make the part of the software that shows you the "PARAMETERS", in real numbers,but what i will tell you is that for every different software version,even for the same ecu in the identical model car,you need a different "driver".
ALFA TUNER is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 352
Re: KWP2000 software.?

Yes I do get that, which is why I said the value is in the definition file, that explains that value one corresponds to parameter such and such and has a range of x and that value two coresponds to etc. etc. So if the £10k buys you a continuous update of that information from the manufacturers, then that would make sense...

I maintain however that someone, probably a combination of Bosch and the manufacturers... make a lot of money through all their smoke and mirrors... because at the heart of it there's nothing that should be hugely complicated.
ChrisH is offline  
(Post Link) post #12 of 58 Old 07-05-09 Thread Starter
Status: [Too Long]
AO Silver Member
 
crespo2121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 1,109
Re: KWP2000 software.?

Hi chris.
It is very possible to remap your car using kwp2000. Infact there is a member on here who has successfuly remap his jtd using the ebay software. There is no way to see the parameters unfortunately. So it is just trial and error. It look a few attempts to actually physicaly feel a gain after installing a few different maps. But he did manage to get his jtd putting out 196 bhp. Or there abouts. Rolling road proven. So it can be done.
Now i fully understand that a propper rolling road remap is the best route to take. But if like myself your car is not modified in any way. And you just want better throttle response and more torque a simple re map is the way forward. And cheaper alternative.
It can be done. It is just a simple case of finding a reliable source to download the maps from.
If i am successfull in finding a good source i will other a remap to fellow alfa owners for £50. This cost will cover the price for downloading the map and cover my cost for the hardware.
crespo2121 is offline  
(Post Link) post #13 of 58 Old 07-05-09 Thread Starter
Status: [Too Long]
AO Silver Member
 
crespo2121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 1,109
Re: KWP2000 software.?

I know this is possible as a tuner local to me uses this process. If buys the remap from a german company. Downloads it. Then writes it to your ecu using kwp2000. Then charges you £250 for it. Now im not against tuners making money. But if you can do it yourself. Why not.?
crespo2121 is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Derbyshire
Posts: 1,613

Member car:

159 Ti

Re: KWP2000 software.?

you can open the map files with winols which you can download for free, but I doubt very much it will make little sense, having watched Red Dot remap with other software, and seen the slight increases here and there, you would really need to know what you are looking at and where to have any idea.
jasons is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater London
Posts: 16

Member car:

500 Abarth

Re: KWP2000 software.?

Hi crespo

What cars have you done so far with your kwp2000 ?

I think your offer for a £50 remap is very generous, I wold have thought £100-£150 for the older ecu types more appropriate. This will allow you to buy a decent map and have something left over for the occasional ecu lockup you will have to sort out, ebay kwp2000 have a habit of biting you in the ****!!!
Alfafellow is offline  
Status: 1750TBIecusoftware.. done!.40+bhp
AO Silver Member
 
ALFA TUNER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Merseyside
Posts: 3,480

Member car:

various Alfas

Re: KWP2000 software.?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alfafellow View Post
Hi crespo

What cars have you done so far with your kwp2000 ?

I think your offer for a £50 remap is very generous, I wold have thought £100-£150 for the older ecu types more appropriate. This will allow you to buy a decent map and have something left over for the occasional ecu lockup you will have to sort out, ebay kwp2000 have a habit of biting you in the ****!!!
You will be very lucky if you find somebody to recover a locked or dead ecu due to bad flash for so little money!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Like i said earlier.we recover Alfa ecu's
ALFA TUNER is offline  
AHM
Status: -
Identity Confirmed
Authorised Trader
 
AHM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hampshire
Posts: 278

Member car:

alfa 33 2.0 race

Re: KWP2000 software.?

Cant see a map bought for £50 will be much good
well known tuners would never sell maps for that sort of money or just to any body
on ebay etc
Like Gus says good softwear cost money the same in most cases for maps
AHM is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: South Yorkshire
Posts: 123
Re: KWP2000 software.?

well i have kwp2000 and a s*itload of maps for the 155 upto the 164, including 156, 147 etc etc. I wouldn't risk trying it on my own car but i am planning on buying a cheap alfa to test it out on. if it doesnt work i'll be giving ALFA TUNER some business found another few ecu remapping programs too but not so sure on them....
phoebus is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater London
Posts: 16

Member car:

500 Abarth

Re: KWP2000 software.?

You are right not to try load that s#it into your ecu!! especially as many of those programs have been formatted for different programming tools...load it...and it's *ocked!..which makes Alfatuner happy

Don't despair if you are serious about a second car to mess about with get a diesel, much more fun as they are more responsive to tuning and more forgiving in programming!!
Alfafellow is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Derbyshire
Posts: 1,613

Member car:

159 Ti

Re: KWP2000 software.?

you need to be careful with what you do, and understand you do so at your own risk.

There are some great gains to be had for pennies, but most of what you get can be improved on with a proper map.

Horses for courses, it can be done on the cheap (it doesn'tmean a knackered ecu), but there are risks attatched.
jasons is offline  
Status: Departed
AO Member
 
TimboZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: France
County: Aquitaine
Posts: 779
Re: KWP2000 software.?

You would have to be mental to upload an unknown map to a car.

I am talking with a professional tuner who is using a proper in-house map made from my actual ECU firmware (as I have an unusual French build) and even then they are concerned about me using 'cloned' hardware to do the write of their map.

The problem with 'cloned' hardware is that it has NO recovery mode and so if there is a problem with the writing of the firmware to the ECU , you are knackered. The ECU will be locked and then you have no choice but to pay a professional to unlock it for you. Even the professionals with £1000s worth of equipment get these bad-writes from time to time but they have equipment with recovery modes on them to unlock ECUs after a bad-write.

Add to that , you could have a map from the web that was made by a 12 year old that knows nothing of engine dynamics or worse still , someone that fancied a giggle and has written a 'virus' map that is designed to slowly kill your car by some cunning timing map that would hurt your precious Alfa over time. Absolute best case scenario is that you get a good write of a good map that is a generic map and not designed for your cars ECU/hardware model and so will not have all the latest updates etc for your particular car, just to save £200.

TimboZero is offline  
(Post Link) post #22 of 58 Old 12-05-09 Thread Starter
Status: [Too Long]
AO Silver Member
 
crespo2121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 1,109
Re: KWP2000 software.?

your going way of topic here people.
I never said i was going to be using maps from ebay or anywhere like that i was simply asking if anyone new where i could get good trusted rolling rd tested maps to download.
All i am doing is looking in to the possibility of setting up my own remapping business using good software.
I live way down south in sunny Bournemouth and there is nobody offering a good remap service. so there is a hole in the market.
We would all love to get a red dot rolling rd remap but that is the other side of London and by the time you have added fuel to get there and back home again it becomes a very expensive day out.
There is one place here that will do a remap for you and that is kartechnic which specialise in German cars.
I went there today purely for research and asked about a remap for my car.
This is how the conversation went.
Can you remap my car.
Sure we can as long as it has a bosch ecu.
Great how much.
£300.
Do you download the map from the net.?
No we do it here.
Great, have you got a rolling rd.?
No.
At this point i got a little confused.
How the funk can you create a good map without a rolling rd.
I dont know about you but i would rather download and install a rolling rd proven map than let these guys loose on my ecu.
I would say leaving them to do whatever it is they do is just as dangerous as writing an ebay map to your car.
So i will ask again. does anyone know where i can get legit maps from.
Or does anyone want to sell me there proven maps.?
Or even want an area agent to install maps on there behalf.?
Not everyone can afford to go to London to get a rolling rd remap done.
and most people dont really need a full on rolling rd remap if there car is completely standard like mine.
Im not fussed about squeezing every last bit of power out of it. i just want the extra drivability a remap can give you.
crespo2121 is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Derbyshire
Posts: 1,613

Member car:

159 Ti

Re: KWP2000 software.?

ask red dot if you can be an agent for them using maps proven on the r.r.

I think they set angel up in angels very early days, they don't do business now (to my knowledge) nor have done for a good few years.
jasons is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater London
Posts: 16

Member car:

500 Abarth

Re: KWP2000 software.?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jasons View Post
ask red dot if you can be an agent for them using maps proven on the r.r.

I think they set angel up in angels very early days, they don't do business now (to my knowledge) nor have done for a good few years.
That's interesting...why did angel go their own way and not use them any more?
Alfafellow is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater London
Posts: 16

Member car:

500 Abarth

Re: KWP2000 software.?

Quote:
Originally Posted by crespo2121 View Post
your going way of topic here people.
I never said i was going to be using maps from ebay or anywhere like that i was simply asking if anyone new where i could get good trusted rolling rd tested maps to download.
All i am doing is looking in to the possibility of setting up my own remapping business using good software.
I live way down south in sunny Bournemouth and there is nobody offering a good remap service. so there is a hole in the market.
We would all love to get a red dot rolling rd remap but that is the other side of London and by the time you have added fuel to get there and back home again it becomes a very expensive day out.
There is one place here that will do a remap for you and that is kartechnic which specialise in German cars.
I went there today purely for research and asked about a remap for my car.
This is how the conversation went.
Can you remap my car.
Sure we can as long as it has a bosch ecu.
Great how much.
£300.
Do you download the map from the net.?
No we do it here.
Great, have you got a rolling rd.?
No.
At this point i got a little confused.
How the funk can you create a good map without a rolling rd.
I dont know about you but i would rather download and install a rolling rd proven map than let these guys loose on my ecu.
I would say leaving them to do whatever it is they do is just as dangerous as writing an ebay map to your car.
So i will ask again. does anyone know where i can get legit maps from.
Or does anyone want to sell me there proven maps.?
Or even want an area agent to install maps on there behalf.?
Not everyone can afford to go to London to get a rolling rd remap done.
and most people dont really need a full on rolling rd remap if there car is completely standard like mine.
Im not fussed about squeezing every last bit of power out of it. i just want the extra drivability a remap can give you.
I think you are chasing your own tail here...one minute you are saying how can these guys map my car without a rolling road then you say that you don't really care about using a map that has not had rr testing.
To be honest most of the guys that are dealers and having down loaded the original map from the car then send it in for tuning are doing exactly the same thing...do you think these companies have rr tested every map.
These guys that specialise in just Bosch probably know more than most other tuners out there purely because if they have the bosch software it will give them far more tuning parameters and as you say at the end of it it's the driveability of the car that matters.
And if you are serious about tuning do your homework OUTSIDE in the real world not within a single make forum where you might get biased opinions. Most of us see the guy who tunes the car and not experience the day to day organization and backup you need to run what will be for you a business. Like most dealers you will want good support and backup by a reasonably sized company who can provide you with hardware and software support...it's a lonely world as a field engineer when s#it hits the fan... and your support is up to his ears or has gone to lunch or decided to go on holiday!!
You need to talk to the people who use this stuff..Alfatuner etc NOT the companies who supply because they will tell you they are all wonderful!!!! But someone who has worked within the industry can tell you what's what!

Last edited by Alfafellow; 13-05-09 at 11:29. Reason: Added some more
Alfafellow is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Tuning & Upgrades

Tags
kwp2000 , software

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome