things that need changing when turbo i uprated - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Tuning & Upgrades Discuss performance enhancements for your Alfa Romeo

 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 107 Old 16-04-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Denmark
County: Vejle
Posts: 197
things that need changing when turbo i uprated

Think of changing the turbo in my car.
1,9L 8v mjet (multijet) 120hk.
I may have my fingers on a gt2256v from a bmw 330d, an trying to find a person to fit it.

What needs to be done for the turbo to work propely?

Later i will have a FMIC, but i may wait a bit (need to earn money first).

Last edited by notfast; 18-04-09 at 20:54.
notfast is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Derbyshire
Posts: 1,613

Member car:

159 Ti

Re: things that need changing when turbo i uprated

kgb is your man, as he has already done this on a 1.9 8valve.
jasons is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Quadcamboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: I would rather not say
County: -
Posts: 363
Re: things that need changing when turbo i uprated

Is it off of a scrapper or is the BM man upgrading his? Is yours vnt already or an ordinary blower?
Quadcamboy is offline  
Status: V8, baby. V8
AO Silver Member
 
Commanderfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: SW London
Posts: 5,559
Re: things that need changing when turbo i uprated

Erm is it possible that the increased power and torque will blow a con rod through the engine block? I haven't got much experience with turbos but just a thought.
Commanderfish is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 107 Old 18-04-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Denmark
County: Vejle
Posts: 197
Re: things that need changing when turbo i uprated

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quadcamboy View Post
Is it off of a scrapper or is the BM man upgrading his? Is yours vnt already or an ordinary blower?
The gt2256v i from a guy i denmark how makes 230Hk in his skoda fabia combi 1,9 PD, and now he is building a golf g2 1,9 PD engine and want more then 270hk from it. He bought it from new to see if this was a worty upgrade, but hi is goning even bigger so this has less then 100 km on it.


My turbo is fine and works just like new, but i would like some more power. So i tought that a bigger turbo (and later a FMIC and chip) would give me that.

now i'm just thinking about whis other bits that i have to change in order to make if work?
Is the a sensor that i need changing or any thing else?
notfast is offline  
(Post Link) post #6 of 107 Old 18-04-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Denmark
County: Vejle
Posts: 197
Re: things that need changing when turbo i uprated

Quote:
Originally Posted by Commanderfish View Post
Erm is it possible that the increased power and torque will blow a con rod through the engine block? I haven't got much experience with turbos but just a thought.
I don't think so. I'm not after 250hk, but will settel for about 200hk.

I would like a bigger turbo because it dosn't stress the engine a must as a small one. And because a uprated turbo will stil flow at high engine rpm and make the car must more fun to drive.
notfast is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Quadcamboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: I would rather not say
County: -
Posts: 363
Re: things that need changing when turbo i uprated

Is your original turbo variable geometry (VNT)?
Quadcamboy is offline  
(Post Link) post #8 of 107 Old 18-04-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Denmark
County: Vejle
Posts: 197
Re: things that need changing when turbo i uprated

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quadcamboy View Post
Is your original turbo variable geometry (VNT)?
yes.

it is a 2007 engine 120hk 8v mjet.
notfast is offline  
Status: Hope for more performance with stable boost
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Germany
County: -
Posts: 66
Re: things that need changing when turbo i uprated

hi, i have an GT 2252V from T4 2,5.
next year i want to put it in my car, so make an hybrid charger.
because i dont want to make an to big lag in the low rpms

greets

Mordi
Mordi is offline  
jwq
Status: driving Giulia Veloce AWD
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
jwq's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 857
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The Netherlands
County: Zuid Holland
Posts: 6,694
Garage
Re: things that need changing when turbo i uprated

Quote:
Originally Posted by notfast View Post
I don't think so. I'm not after 250hk, but will settel for about 200hk.

I would like a bigger turbo because it dosn't stress the engine a must as a small one. And because a uprated turbo will stil flow at high engine rpm and make the car must more fun to drive.
Err More power will stress the engine more, regardless of the size of the turbo.....
jwq is online now  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
typos1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 3,779

Member car:

147 Ducati Corse

Re: things that need changing when turbo i uprated

yes, but it can easily handle it
typos1 is offline  
(Post Link) post #12 of 107 Old 18-04-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Denmark
County: Vejle
Posts: 197
Re: things that need changing when turbo i uprated

Quote:
Originally Posted by jwq View Post
Err More power will stress the engine more, regardless of the size of the turbo.....

yes more power = more stress.

Littel turbo and alot of power = high back pressur
Big turbo and alot of power = less back pressur
notfast is offline  
(Post Link) post #13 of 107 Old 18-04-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Denmark
County: Vejle
Posts: 197
Re: things that need changing when turbo i uprated

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mordi View Post
hi, i have an GT 2252V from T4 2,5.
next year i want to put it in my car, so make an hybrid charger.
because i dont want to make an to big lag in the low rpms

greets

Mordi
look at this pic :

(VW 1,9L VE engine 11mm pumpe and uprated injektor + vnt 2256)

400nm at 1750-1800rpm and 450nm ved 2000rpm....
If you give the engine more diesel a low rpm you get less lag and more diesel gives more power to the turbo and more air into the engine whis permits the injektors to give more diesel.

VW 1,9L VE engine 11mm pumpe and uprated injektor.
notfast is offline  
kgb
Status: 147 QVD-R
AO Silver Member
 
kgb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Bulgaria
County: -
Posts: 2,327
Re: things that need changing when turbo i uprated

Notfast,

Send me the VIN number of your car so I can check a few things...and will let you know what you have to do.

Also send me a few good pictures from that turbo. Before buying it have it checked at a turbo shop...you can check it yourself to some extend by hand...it should not have any horizontal movement...only small vertical one.

Problem with your car might be the gearbox, it should be different to do one fitted in the alfa's.
kgb is offline  
(Post Link) post #15 of 107 Old 19-04-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Denmark
County: Vejle
Posts: 197
Re: things that need changing when turbo i uprated

kgb,
VIN number is sent in PM.

here is at pic of the turbo :

and


I have been looking at ePER at after what i can see inlet and out let of the Exhaust won't fit.

Stilo M88 120hk pic from ePER:


but it look likes that the turbo from a 156 2,4 jtd 150 2003-> 750639-0002 / 717661-0001 GT2256V will fit with out changing a bit.
So is that the way to go ?

156 150hk 2,4
notfast is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Quadcamboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: I would rather not say
County: -
Posts: 363
Re: things that need changing when turbo i uprated

What's your location Notfast? I may be intersted in your old turbo when you have swapped?
Quadcamboy is offline  
(Post Link) post #17 of 107 Old 19-04-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Denmark
County: Vejle
Posts: 197
Re: things that need changing when turbo i uprated

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quadcamboy View Post
What's your location Notfast? I may be intersted in your old turbo when you have swapped?
Denmark, but it is light enough the ship in the mail.
notfast is offline  
Status: Hope for more performance with stable boost
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Germany
County: -
Posts: 66
Re: things that need changing when turbo i uprated

Quote:
Originally Posted by notfast View Post
look at this pic :

(VW 1,9L VE engine 11mm pumpe and uprated injektor + vnt 2256)

400nm at 1750-1800rpm and 450nm ved 2000rpm....
If you give the engine more diesel a low rpm you get less lag and more diesel gives more power to the turbo and more air into the engine whis permits the injektors to give more diesel.

VW 1,9L VE engine 11mm pumpe and uprated injektor.
Thanks

problem is that the stilo gearbox is tested with only 255NM Torque,
in the getrag they dont know if this can handle more so 460NM is to much i think.
my masterplan is 201PS, and arround 350NM - 400NM torque
limited in 1 and 2 gear
i choose this turbo because when u put more diesel in the Engine it, the engine will put more fog out of the exhaust.
here in germany they have really hard stupid rules after so much fog i will get no street legal sighn on my traffic sighn, i cant explain very well. maybe you know wha i mean.
i have study much flowmaps but when u make an hybrid charger he get an other flowmap like original
my compressor wheel is damaged and i will change it with an better like the original
so 360 degrees? is that possible or have i understand something wrong?

greets mordi
Mordi is offline  
(Post Link) post #19 of 107 Old 19-04-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Denmark
County: Vejle
Posts: 197
Re: things that need changing when turbo i uprated

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mordi View Post
Thanks

problem is that the stilo gearbox is tested with only 255NM Torque,
in the getrag they dont know if this can handle more so 460NM is to much i think.
my masterplan is 201PS, and arround 350NM - 400NM torque
limited in 1 and 2 gear
i choose this turbo because when u put more diesel in the Engine it, the engine will put more fog out of the exhaust.
here in germany they have really hard stupid rules after so much fog i will get no street legal sighn on my traffic sighn, i cant explain very well. maybe you know wha i mean.
i have study much flowmaps but when u make an hybrid charger he get an other flowmap like original
my compressor wheel is damaged and i will change it with an better like the original
so 360 degrees? is that possible or have i understand something wrong?

greets mordi
My stilo uses the C530 gearbox.
From Fiat Powertrain Technologies - Automotive applications
C530
Center Distance: 198 mm
Configuration: W-E, 2 axys
Max Input Torque: 305 Nm
Lenght: 377,3 mm (5-sp), 389,5 mm (6-sp)
Mass: 45,3 Kg (5-sp), 47,5 Kg (6-sp)
Reverse synchronized
notfast is offline  
Status: Hope for more performance with stable boost
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Germany
County: -
Posts: 66
Re: things that need changing when turbo i uprated

this is not the normal gearbox..right?
my is from Getrag,
ive seen, its written on the top.
when ists not normal, how much it cost?
s it possible to make the 6gear on the 8v block?

greets Mordi
Mordi is offline  
(Post Link) post #21 of 107 Old 20-04-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Denmark
County: Vejle
Posts: 197
Re: things that need changing when turbo i uprated

Pm'ed you back.

150 mjet an 120 mjet uses the same gearbox house and a 6 speed on a 120 hk sould be at straigt fit.

Look in ePer an on "fiat power train" for spec. on gear box
notfast is offline  
kgb
Status: 147 QVD-R
AO Silver Member
 
kgb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Bulgaria
County: -
Posts: 2,327
Re: things that need changing when turbo i uprated

Notfast,

I looked on ePer but I am not sure about your map sensor... according to eper it should be 2.5Bar one....if you can take a picture of it.... But bassicly if it has a 3 pin connector it is 2.5bar one...and if it has 4pin it is 3Bar....the additional pin is for the temp. reading.

About the turbo....if you manage a way to use your existing exhaust manifold you have to make some king of flange that can connect to your bigger turbo.

Problem with that is that the turbo will move too much and too close to the radiator fan.

in most casses you will also need to "re-locate" the oil re-entry into the engine block...as you can NOT have it above the point where it exists from the turbo!!!

Also you have to rework your whole exhaust system from the turbo to the back of your car :-)

You will also need a new intake pipe to your turbo...meaning from your Air-Filter to your turbo inlet. Best is to get a new air-filter system...BMC_CDA or something else....BUT in order to do properly you have to get rid of the SMIC...so you have to go for the FMIC anyway.

And finaly after all is fitted an working, you have to get a proper remap done for your setup.

Alfa 147 QVD 300hp by BlackAngels, Alfa 159 2.4 QVD, Alfa 159 TI 1.9 QVD and Crosswagon edition Nero, Alfa Stelvio 2.2 Q4
kgb is offline  
(Post Link) post #23 of 107 Old 22-04-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Denmark
County: Vejle
Posts: 197
Re: things that need changing when turbo i uprated

Quote:
Originally Posted by kgb View Post
Notfast,

I looked on ePer but I am not sure about your map sensor... according to eper it should be 2.5Bar one....if you can take a picture of it.... But bassicly if it has a 3 pin connector it is 2.5bar one...and if it has 4pin it is 3Bar....the additional pin is for the temp. reading.

About the turbo....if you manage a way to use your existing exhaust manifold you have to make some king of flange that can connect to your bigger turbo.

Problem with that is that the turbo will move too much and too close to the radiator fan.

in most casses you will also need to "re-locate" the oil re-entry into the engine block...as you can NOT have it above the point where it exists from the turbo!!!

Also you have to rework your whole exhaust system from the turbo to the back of your car :-)

You will also need a new intake pipe to your turbo...meaning from your Air-Filter to your turbo inlet. Best is to get a new air-filter system...BMC_CDA or something else....BUT in order to do properly you have to get rid of the SMIC...so you have to go for the FMIC anyway.

And finaly after all is fitted an working, you have to get a proper remap done for your setup.
Thank you.
I would take a picture as soon as I get the car back from the workshop. The car has a "wail / reverberate" sound coming from the fuel system on the engine.
My plan is eventually to have a FMIC, so that plan I have to move forward.
The guy who can help me with FMIC, also make exhausts of rust free steel, so I must get a price from him on that.

I will look in to the "re-locate oil re-entry" problem, and see what to do.
The air inlet sould be the easy thing to do

again thanks alot for you time
notfast is offline  
kgb
Status: 147 QVD-R
AO Silver Member
 
kgb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Bulgaria
County: -
Posts: 2,327
Re: things that need changing when turbo i uprated

Oil re-entry...

You have to block the stock turbo inlet into the engine block.

Then you drill a new hole into the oil-sump....I have some pictures over here but I have to install my bluetooth.

Well if you decide to go all the way...I might soon come to Germany and if you want we can meet there and I can remap your car, if you promise to buy Alfa next time :-)
kgb is offline  
(Post Link) post #25 of 107 Old 23-04-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Denmark
County: Vejle
Posts: 197
Re: things that need changing when turbo i uprated

Quote:
Originally Posted by kgb View Post
Oil re-entry...

You have to block the stock turbo inlet into the engine block.

Then you drill a new hole into the oil-sump....I have some pictures over here but I have to install my bluetooth.

Well if you decide to go all the way...I might soon come to Germany and if you want we can meet there and I can remap your car, if you promise to buy Alfa next time :-)

well, that one thing that could make me buy an alfa next time

About the pictures, i'll like to see them if you can make your BT work.
notfast is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Tuning & Upgrades

Tags
changing , things , turbo , uprated

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome