Steinbauer P Box DIY Installation Help ? - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Tuning & Upgrades Discuss performance enhancements for your Alfa Romeo

 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 19 Old 31-03-09 Thread Starter
Status: Lazing around
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bristol
Posts: 41

Member car:

159 1.9 JTDM

Steinbauer P Box DIY Installation Help ?

Just recieved a new Steinbauer P Box

Need some advice fitting to a 159 1.9 jtdm

All connections seem straight forward except for the white wire known as the "Reference Signal"
which needs to be soldered to the signal wire on the Accelerator electronic pedal sensor ?

Need some help with this bit !

Can anybody give me a quick guide to doing this, which wire i need to connect to etc

Last edited by Tedski; 31-03-09 at 16:40.
Tedski is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: Always working
Identity Confirmed
Authorised Trader
 
Autolusso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bedfordshire
Posts: 7,035
Re: Steinbauer P Box DIY Installation Help ?

Hi Ted

Most of it is straight forward, red to positive on the battery, black to negative on the battery, plug to each injector.

There are 2 wires left

Grey wire Ė if you put this to earth (negative) it will turn the box off

White wire Ė if the box was supplied by us you donít need to use this

If the box came from else where you will need to connect this to the purple and black wire that goes into the ECU, this is pin 4 from the throttle potentiometer.

Hope it helps

Ned
Autolusso is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 19 Old 31-03-09 Thread Starter
Status: Lazing around
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bristol
Posts: 41

Member car:

159 1.9 JTDM

Re: Steinbauer P Box DIY Installation Help ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Autolusso View Post
Hi Ted

Most of it is straight forward, red to positive on the battery, black to negative on the battery, plug to each injector.

There are 2 wires left

Grey wire Ė if you put this to earth (negative) it will turn the box off

White wire Ė if the box was supplied by us you donít need to use this

If the box came from else where you will need to connect this to the purple and black wire that goes into the ECU, this is pin 4 from the throttle potentiometer.

Hope it helps

Ned
Thanks

The Box came from Rossiters and there is no Grey Wire !

This is the bit of info i need

"the purple and black wire that goes into the ECU, this is pin 4 from the throttle potentiometer."


Stupid question but how do i find this wire ?
Tedski is offline  
Status: Always working
Identity Confirmed
Authorised Trader
 
Autolusso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bedfordshire
Posts: 7,035
Re: Steinbauer P Box DIY Installation Help ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tedski View Post
Thanks

The Box came from Rossiters and there is no Grey Wire !

This is the bit of info i need

"the purple and black wire that goes into the ECU, this is pin 4 from the throttle potentiometer."


Stupid question but how do i find this wire ?
Rossiters used to be the official UK supplier, it have now been taken over by Steinbauer UK

Rossiters have been selling off there old stock.

To find the correct wire you will need to open up the loom that goes into the ECU ns find the wire.

There will be a grey wire but it may be tucked up under the insulation

Ned
Autolusso is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 19 Old 31-03-09 Thread Starter
Status: Lazing around
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bristol
Posts: 41

Member car:

159 1.9 JTDM

Re: Steinbauer P Box DIY Installation Help ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Autolusso View Post
Rossiters used to be the official UK supplier, it have now been taken over by Steinbauer UK

Rossiters have been selling off there old stock.

To find the correct wire you will need to open up the loom that goes into the ECU ns find the wire.

There will be a grey wire but it may be tucked up under the insulation

Ned
Thats great thanks for the Info Ned

Going to Install on Thursday i assume a Snaplock connector will be OK for the connection ?
Tedski is offline  
Status: a good shot of nitrous will sort that!
AO Silver Member
 
jbsmith1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Posts: 1,968
Re: Steinbauer P Box DIY Installation Help ?

Hi Ned, I have some pics that may help Ted too.

Hi Ted, I have the 2.4, but you should see similar readings.
I have 0.98v reading at idle and 4v at full throttle.
I soldered a needle on to my multi-meter so I could stab the wires to check I had the right wire.
I used a snap on wire connector.
I wired straight from the throttle peddle, but then again, I allready have a route through to the engine bay from other mods.

Needle soldered to lead:
http://i24.photobucket.com/albums/c2...0903310140.jpg
Connector at throttle peddle on Purple/black wire:
http://i24.photobucket.com/albums/c2...0903310133.jpg
Idle voltage:
http://i24.photobucket.com/albums/c2...0903310135.jpg
Full throttle voltage:
http://i24.photobucket.com/albums/c2...0903310137.jpg
HTH

ps..before you say Ned, yes I know I don't need the throttle sig at the mo, but I will for a custom map run when funds allow
jbsmith1 is offline  
(Post Link) post #7 of 19 Old 31-03-09 Thread Starter
Status: Lazing around
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bristol
Posts: 41

Member car:

159 1.9 JTDM

Re: Steinbauer P Box DIY Installation Help ?

Thanks for that

I assume there is only one Purple/Black wire so i can just pick it up at the most convenient place ?
Tedski is offline  
Status: a good shot of nitrous will sort that!
AO Silver Member
 
jbsmith1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Posts: 1,968
Re: Steinbauer P Box DIY Installation Help ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tedski View Post
Thanks for that

I assume there is only one Purple/Black wire so i can just pick it up at the most convenient place ?
as far as I can see there is only 1 Purple/black form the ECU, stab it with the meter just to check.
The Grey wire (to turn box off) is next to the white wire on the P-box plug.
jbsmith1 is offline  
(Post Link) post #9 of 19 Old 02-04-09 Thread Starter
Status: Lazing around
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bristol
Posts: 41

Member car:

159 1.9 JTDM

Re: Steinbauer P Box DIY Installation Help ?

OK fitted today and everything seems alright !

Seems like more power (or is it in my head with harder driving)

Have only been for a short test drive as it's rush hour and will need to wait till later to give it a good blast

Just one thing still not sure of ?

I connected the Reference signal (white wire)to the Purple /Black wire at the Fuse Box as this was the most convenient place ?

I'm hoping some one can tell me that this is OK ?
Tedski is offline  
Status: Always working
Identity Confirmed
Authorised Trader
 
Autolusso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bedfordshire
Posts: 7,035
Re: Steinbauer P Box DIY Installation Help ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tedski View Post
OK fitted today and everything seems alright !

Seems like more power (or is it in my head with harder driving)

Have only been for a short test drive as it's rush hour and will need to wait till later to give it a good blast

Just one thing still not sure of ?

I connected the Reference signal (white wire)to the Purple /Black wire at the Fuse Box as this was the most convenient place ?

I'm hoping some one can tell me that this is OK ?
It should make a massive difference, if it does not you have connected the wire wrong. Just a thought, if you want I could probably organise getting your box remapped so you donít need to use the white wire

Ned
Autolusso is offline  
(Post Link) post #11 of 19 Old 02-04-09 Thread Starter
Status: Lazing around
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bristol
Posts: 41

Member car:

159 1.9 JTDM

Re: Steinbauer P Box DIY Installation Help ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Autolusso View Post
It should make a massive difference, if it does not you have connected the wire wrong. Just a thought, if you want I could probably organise getting your box remapped so you donít need to use the white wire

Ned
Thanks Ned

I will give it a blast a bit later and see what i think ?
Tedski is offline  
Status: a good shot of nitrous will sort that!
AO Silver Member
 
jbsmith1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Posts: 1,968
Re: Steinbauer P Box DIY Installation Help ?

as Ned says the increase will be VERY apparant, there are power setting switches in side the box, I have switches 1 and 2 on, and three and four off, this is 130%.
There may be purple/black wires in other looms, so if you can't undo the insulation and track that wire back to the ECU, then you need to stab it with your multi-meter and check the voltage is rising and falling between 1-4 volts with throttle inputs.
jbsmith1 is offline  
(Post Link) post #13 of 19 Old 02-04-09 Thread Starter
Status: Lazing around
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bristol
Posts: 41

Member car:

159 1.9 JTDM

Re: Steinbauer P Box DIY Installation Help ?

Thanks will have to source a meter

If not will try and route it through to the throttle sensor

I assume this is under the pedal somewhere ?
Tedski is offline  
Status: a good shot of nitrous will sort that!
AO Silver Member
 
jbsmith1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Posts: 1,968
Re: Steinbauer P Box DIY Installation Help ?

I have just had a quick look with my meter Ted, there are some ecu cables running through the fuse/relay box, but the purple/black terminating into a connector block there, has no voltage on it at idle, its not the right one.
Looking closely at the loom from the ecu, part of it tucks down between the battery and fuse/relay box, my guess is the wire is in that part.
jbsmith1 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: North Yorkshire
Posts: 12

Member car:

alfa gt

Re: Steinbauer P Box DIY Installation Help ?

Are you certain that you need to wire it in to the accelarator cable.

If the grey wire is tucked into the loom you may not need it.

Some boxes suppied to Autolusso do not use the grey cable at all with few problems ?
spikeypete is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Scotland
Posts: 456
What happens if you do not have the white wire attached?
bcampbell74 is offline  
Status: a good shot of nitrous will sort that!
AO Silver Member
 
jbsmith1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Posts: 1,968
Quote:
Originally Posted by bcampbell74 View Post
What happens if you do not have the white wire attached?
Only Auto Lusso supplied boxs don't need the white wire connected.
On all others you won't get any power gain unless you connect the white wire.
The grey wire is only used if you wish to turn the box off via a switch remotely. HTH
jbsmith1 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Scotland
Posts: 456
Quote:
Originally Posted by Autolusso View Post
It should make a massive difference, if it does not you have connected the wire wrong. Just a thought, if you want I could probably organise getting your box remapped so you donít need to use the white wire

Ned
Hi Ned, I have purchased this box off Ted. Did Ted get the P-Box remapped from you? I'm wondering if I need to hook up the white wire.
bcampbell74 is offline  
Status: a good shot of nitrous will sort that!
AO Silver Member
 
jbsmith1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Posts: 1,968
How to connect the white wire.

The white wire is for throttle reference. It can be connected at the pedal as I have shown above or at the ECU.
To connect to the ECU slide the yellow tab up on the lower connector plug, and pull the lever away to release the plug.

Remove the insulation to reveal the wiring, there are several Purple/black wires, make sure you can get at them with a needle for testing the voltage in the next step.

You now need a multi-meter to read DC voltage up to 12v, some will show upto 20volts this scale is fine.
You need a needle on the red wire from the multi-meter, (I find this easiest for stabbing the insulation and causes minimal damage) Put the black wire from the multi-meter to ground ie chassis or negative on the battery terminal.

Now reconnect the ECU plug making sure you can still locate the Purple/black wires.
Put your key in the ignition, but don't start the car.
Have someone opperate the throttle while you stab the purple/black wires, one will be showing around 1 volt with no throttle and it will rise with the throttle pushed to approx 4volts, this is the wire you need to connect your white wire to.
Remove your ignition key and remove the lower plug and either solder/crimp to that wire.

Last edited by jbsmith1; 11-07-09 at 19:44.
jbsmith1 is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Tuning & Upgrades

Tags
box , diy , installation , steinbauer

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome