284-305mm brakes - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Tuning & Upgrades Discuss performance enhancements for your Alfa Romeo

 
Thread Tools
Old 18-01-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
typos1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 3,779

Member car:

147 Ducati Corse

284-305mm brakes

Does anyone know if its possible to simply replace 284mm discs/calipers with the 305mm ones on a 147/156/GT? Or would it require adding brackets as it does to go from 305 to 330mm ones?
typos1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 18-01-09
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
David C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 29,950
Re: 284-305mm brakes

Brembo do an off-the-shelf conversion kit to give you 305mm Brembo brakes. That is by far the easiest way to go about it.
You can't just bolt a set of GTA 305 Brembos onto a std 156/147/GT.
David C is online now  
Old 18-01-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
typos1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 3,779

Member car:

147 Ducati Corse

Re: 284-305mm brakes

Whys that? Are the mounts for the calipers different? The discs should just bolt on
typos1 is offline  
Old 18-01-09
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
David C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 29,950
Re: 284-305mm brakes

The discs fit straight on, the calipers do not.

The mounting holes in the uprights are different.

So you would also need the suspension uprights from a GTA, plus new wheel bearings and even then there are sometimes issues with the trackrod being too short.


The off-the-shelf Brembo GT kit is far simpler to fit.
David C is online now  
Old 18-01-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
typos1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 3,779

Member car:

147 Ducati Corse

Re: 284-305mm brakes

I see, but its also very expensive-would be a lot cheaper to be able to just buy the 305mm stuff off the shelf. Could the uprights be modified?-People have modified the uprights on GTAs so they fit 330mm
typos1 is offline  
Old 18-01-09
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
David C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 29,950
Re: 284-305mm brakes

Quote:
Originally Posted by typos1 View Post
...People have modified the uprights on GTAs so they fit 330mm
No they haven't.
The 330 brakes fit straight to any 305 equipped car. No mods needed because they are designed to fit.
David C is online now  
Old 18-01-09
Status: Meh.
AO Platinum Member
 
NineOneSix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hertfordshire
Posts: 30,067
Garage

Member car:

GTV V6 3.0

Re: 284-305mm brakes

the 330 brakes are radial mounted though and the 305 are lug mounted so wont be a case of straight fit
NineOneSix is offline  
Old 18-01-09
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
David C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 29,950
Re: 284-305mm brakes

Quote:
Originally Posted by explosive alfa View Post
the 330 brakes are radial mounted though and the 305 are lug mounted so wont be a case of straight fit
It is because the 330 calipers come with their own brackets to fit straight to the GTA uprights.
David C is online now  
Old 18-01-09
Status: Meh.
AO Platinum Member
 
NineOneSix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hertfordshire
Posts: 30,067
Garage

Member car:

GTV V6 3.0

Re: 284-305mm brakes

if he could get the radial mounted calipers for cheap (I doubt) then have brakets made and fit the 330s as a more viable option. but you have to make sure theres enough clearance for the bolts that protrude from the radial mounts, iirc thats why they changed the wheels when the brakes were upgraded.
NineOneSix is offline  
Old 18-01-09
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
David C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 29,950
Re: 284-305mm brakes

Quote:
Originally Posted by explosive alfa View Post
if he could get the radial mounted calipers for cheap (I doubt) then have brakets made and fit the 330s as a more viable option.
BUT the 330 calipers do not crop up at low prices because they are still sought after by GTA owners that still have the 305 brakes.

The 305 GTA calipers do go for very low prices because it is not that simple to fit them to anything other than a car that has the 305 calipers already...


Which brings us back to the off-the-shelf Brembo GT kit, which is very simple to fit.
But you still need to be careful with your choice of wheels.
David C is online now  
Old 18-01-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
typos1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 3,779

Member car:

147 Ducati Corse

Re: 284-305mm brakes

I remember reading a thread a while back and someone had modded 305 uprights to take 330mm discs, so maybe it would be a case of having brackets made to take 305mm calipers?
typos1 is offline  
Old 18-01-09
Status: Meh.
AO Platinum Member
 
NineOneSix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hertfordshire
Posts: 30,067
Garage

Member car:

GTV V6 3.0

Re: 284-305mm brakes

Quote:
Originally Posted by David C View Post
BUT the 330 calipers do not crop up at low prices because they are still sought after by GTA owners that still have the 305 brakes.

The 305 GTA calipers do go for very low prices because it is not that simple to fit them to anything other than a car that has the 305 calipers already...


Which brings us back to the off-the-shelf Brembo GT kit, which is very simple to fit.
But you still need to be careful with your choice of wheels.
hence why I said I doubt
NineOneSix is offline  
Old 18-01-09
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
David C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 29,950
Re: 284-305mm brakes

Quote:
Originally Posted by typos1 View Post
I remember reading a thread a while back and someone had modded 305 uprights to take 330mm discs, so maybe it would be a case of having brackets made to take 305mm calipers?
I don't know what you read, but the GTA uprights do not need modifying to fit the 330 brakes. They bolt straight on.

As for fitting the 305 GTA calipers to a std upright, there is no space to fit an adaptor bracket and still use the std 305 disc.
David C is online now  
Old 18-01-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
typos1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 3,779

Member car:

147 Ducati Corse

Re: 284-305mm brakes

Perhaps they were upgrading from 284m to 305 or 330mm then
typos1 is offline  
Old 18-01-09
Status: -
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4,646
Re: 284-305mm brakes

Quote:
Originally Posted by typos1 View Post
Does anyone know if its possible to simply replace 284mm discs/calipers with the 305mm ones on a 147/156/GT? Or would it require adding brackets as it does to go from 305 to 330mm ones?
Yes I have on my 2.0L TS.

* 305mm x 28mm discs x 2

* Ferrari 360 4 pot brembos x 2

* 'Radial' adapter brackets x 2

I can make 'Radial' adapter brackets x 2 & supply if required.

Last edited by SEARs; 18-01-09 at 13:29.
SEARs is offline  
Old 18-01-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
typos1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 3,779

Member car:

147 Ducati Corse

Re: 284-305mm brakes

Cool, so I could buy stock 305 discs and calipers and with your brackets theyd just fit straight on?
typos1 is offline  
Old 18-01-09
Status: -
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4,646
Re: 284-305mm brakes

disc YES.

calipers would need to be:

* Brembo 'radial' mounted type

* 130mm centre to centre mounting holes

* 53mm offset

* pistons should be 34mm x 2 & 38mm x 2

you will also need 16" rims or larger & possible spacers.

I have 16" 'selespeeds' fitted with 15mm spacers which gives a 12mm space between the rim & caliper ....5mm would do but you cannot get 5mm hub-centric spacers.

what rims do you have.

Standard 'tele-dials' wont work unless oyu use 20mm spacers
SEARs is offline  
Old 18-01-09
Status: missing Inverurie
AO Gold Member
 
Pascs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Qatar
County: Aberdeenshire
Posts: 8,063

Member car:

Zender 156 V6

Re: 284-305mm brakes

IMO unless you have a really nice set of big alloys then I wouldnt bother with the hassle of fitting a big Brembo kit.

If you fit a good set of pads (Ferodo), good quality discs, steel hoses and good Dot 4 brake fluid you will have brakes that are 95% as good as the Brembo's without any of the problems of trying to get Brembos to fit.
Pascs is offline  
Old 18-01-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
typos1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 3,779

Member car:

147 Ducati Corse

Re: 284-305mm brakes

Have 18s already, and the standard discs look too small.

The 305 arent radial and I d need calipers for the 330mm ones then?
typos1 is offline  
Old 18-01-09
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
David C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 29,950
Re: 284-305mm brakes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pascs View Post
IMO unless you have a really nice set of big alloys then I wouldn't bother with the hassle of fitting a big Brembo kit.
Mind you, at the price we got ours for, it was difficult to say no.
David C is online now  
Old 18-01-09
Status: missing Inverurie
AO Gold Member
 
Pascs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Qatar
County: Aberdeenshire
Posts: 8,063

Member car:

Zender 156 V6

Re: 284-305mm brakes

Quote:
Originally Posted by typos1 View Post
Have 18s already, and the standard discs look too small.

The 305 arent radial and I d need calipers for the 330mm ones then?
305mm wont look very big with 18" wheels either. Also remember that bigger discs weigh more although the Brembo calipers are quite light weight.

The 330mm discs are 32mm wide, 305mm discs are 28mm wide. I have seen that someone fitted spacers into Alfa 166 Brembo calipers to widen them to fit 330x32mm discs on a GTV.

You also need to watch the piston sizes - the GTA calipers have large pistons
Pascs is offline  
Old 18-01-09
Status: missing Inverurie
AO Gold Member
 
Pascs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Qatar
County: Aberdeenshire
Posts: 8,063

Member car:

Zender 156 V6

Re: 284-305mm brakes

Quote:
Originally Posted by David C View Post
Mind you, at the price we got ours for, it was difficult to say no.
Yeah, lucky sometimes. Got my Ferrari 360 calipers for a great price too
Pascs is offline  
Old 18-01-09
Status: Meh.
AO Platinum Member
 
NineOneSix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hertfordshire
Posts: 30,067
Garage

Member car:

GTV V6 3.0

Re: 284-305mm brakes

yep, I got brembos with brackets for a 166 for 190 quid, ok still needed discs and pads but was worth it
NineOneSix is offline  
Old 19-01-09
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Singapore
County: -
Posts: 27

Member car:

ar147

Re: 284-305mm brakes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Service Enginee View Post
disc YES.

calipers would need to be:

* Brembo 'radial' mounted type

* 130mm centre to centre mounting holes

* 53mm offset

* pistons should be 34mm x 2 & 38mm x 2

you will also need 16" rims or larger & possible spacers.

I have 16" 'selespeeds' fitted with 15mm spacers which gives a 12mm space between the rim & caliper ....5mm would do but you cannot get 5mm hub-centric spacers.

what rims do you have.

Standard 'tele-dials' wont work unless oyu use 20mm spacers
In that case,can u make a 330 calliper bracket for a 147?
mardi0109 is offline  
Old 19-01-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
typos1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 3,779

Member car:

147 Ducati Corse

Re: 284-305mm brakes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pascs View Post
305mm wont look very big with 18" wheels either
They ll look much better than 284mm though.

305mm will do for now. I ll wait til I ve got enough cash to buy a 156 Crosswagon Q4 and while I m swapping the 4 wheel drive transmission for the 2 wheel drive kit on my 147, I ll have the 330mm discs/calipers/uprights of that as well!
typos1 is offline  
 

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Tuning & Upgrades

Tags
brakes
Thread Tools



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome