Push Button Engine Start - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Tuning & Upgrades Discuss performance enhancements for your Alfa Romeo

 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 21 Old 21-12-08 Thread Starter
Status: wondering what to tweak next...
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: North Yorkshire
Posts: 2,793

Member car:

Alfa 156 GTA

Push Button Engine Start

so....throwing this one out for opinions etc....

has anyone ever fitted a push button engine start kit to their car, whether a 156, 147 or any other car/make of car?

im toying with the idea of fitting one to my 156, disabling the ignition engine start and just having the button, with the button hidden from general view.

anyone else done this? i thought about doing this in my Cougar, but got rid first.
aziraphale is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Nev
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Push Button Engine Start

Already got one.

Pretty pointless if you have a real key with a
proper ignition switch already in the steering column.

But that's just opinion.
 
Status: -
AO Member
 
Steve -156-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 154
Re: Push Button Engine Start

whats the point if its going to be hidden? i thought the purpose was for show?
Steve -156- is offline  
(Post Link) post #4 of 21 Old 21-12-08 Thread Starter
Status: wondering what to tweak next...
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: North Yorkshire
Posts: 2,793

Member car:

Alfa 156 GTA

Re: Push Button Engine Start

little bit of security?

someone breaks into your car, cracks the steering column cowling off, jams a screwdriver into the ignition switch, and...and...nothing. because the contact wire has been removed from the engine start contact on the ignition switch, the tealeaf cant start your car unless he finds the button.
aziraphale is offline  
Nev
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Push Button Engine Start

Just putting a hidden switch in the ignition line would be easier, no?
 
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
GTA Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 14,575

Member car:

147 GTA

Re: Push Button Engine Start

You could get one of these!
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/IGNITION-SWITC...1%7C240%3A1318
GTA Jim is offline  
Nev
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Push Button Engine Start

Quote:
Originally Posted by GTA Jim View Post



"Contact!"

 
(Post Link) post #8 of 21 Old 21-12-08 Thread Starter
Status: wondering what to tweak next...
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: North Yorkshire
Posts: 2,793

Member car:

Alfa 156 GTA

Re: Push Button Engine Start

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nev View Post
Just putting a hidden switch in the ignition line would be easier, no?
the same sort of thing, but then you would have to flick that switch off everytime you left the car, and on again everytime you wanted to start it.


i was actually looking at one of those ebay kits, thats what im on about. same thing no matter where you get it.
aziraphale is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
GTA Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 14,575

Member car:

147 GTA

Re: Push Button Engine Start

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nev View Post



"Contact!"

Thunderbirds are go!!!!!

GTA Jim is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
GTA Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 14,575

Member car:

147 GTA

Re: Push Button Engine Start

Quote:
Originally Posted by aziraphale View Post
the same sort of thing, but then you would have to flick that switch off everytime you left the car, and on again everytime you wanted to start it.


i was actually looking at one of those ebay kits, thats what im on about. same thing no matter where you get it.
I dont see the point myself. You are going to hide it away so people carnt see it, you need the key anyway to get into your car and finally I think they look crap but thats upto you
GTA Jim is offline  
(Post Link) post #11 of 21 Old 21-12-08 Thread Starter
Status: wondering what to tweak next...
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: North Yorkshire
Posts: 2,793

Member car:

Alfa 156 GTA

Re: Push Button Engine Start

thats fair play, i asked for opinions and im glad im getting them.

might do it just to be different, i get bored easily.
aziraphale is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
GTA Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 14,575

Member car:

147 GTA

Re: Push Button Engine Start

Why not clean your car and give it a couple of coats of wax or sealant because of all this salt and crap on the roads if your board and then come round and do mine
GTA Jim is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Franky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 246
Re: Push Button Engine Start

LOL m8 i think that looks wicked, i may have to get 1 mine however would be very much on show
Franky is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
David C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 29,958
Re: Push Button Engine Start

Quote:
Originally Posted by aziraphale View Post
someone breaks into your car, cracks the steering column cowling off, jams a screwdriver into the ignition switch, and...and...nothing. because the contact wire has been removed from the engine start contact on the ignition switch, the tealeaf cant start your car unless he finds the button.
Surely the inbuilt immobiliser already does that as std...?

Ok, with the immobiliser it will turn over, but won't start.
David C is online now  
Status: Back in a Quad
AO Platinum Member
 
OperationAlfa's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Posts: 23,457
Re: Push Button Engine Start

My mate his this on his MR2.. he has to still put the key in the barrel and turn to IGN. then push a chrome cheap looking button on his dash..
OperationAlfa is offline  
Status: Rust...Rust...Rust!
AO Silver Member
 
Alitalia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Suffolk
Posts: 1,028

Member car:

156, Sprint.

Re: Push Button Engine Start

What a cool dude!
Alitalia is offline  
Status: Meh.
AO Platinum Member
 
NineOneSix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hertfordshire
Posts: 30,067
Garage

Member car:

GTV V6 3.0

Re: Push Button Engine Start

my 155 (before I removed the wiring loom was completely keyless with the stock ecu with imobiliser still fitted




all out of the car now though
NineOneSix is offline  
Status: playing kill by numbers
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Belgium
County: Down in the Park
Posts: 8,786
Re: Push Button Engine Start

Quote:
Originally Posted by aziraphale View Post
little bit of security?

someone breaks into your car, cracks the steering column cowling off, jams a screwdriver into the ignition switch, and...and...nothing. because the contact wire has been removed from the engine start contact on the ignition switch, the tealeaf cant start your car unless he finds the button.
a bit moot, since without a chip that sends the correct code through the transponder the only engine that will turn is the starter....

EDIT: just noticed David C beat me to it
Cuore_Sportivo_155 is offline  
(Post Link) post #19 of 21 Old 24-12-08 Thread Starter
Status: wondering what to tweak next...
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: North Yorkshire
Posts: 2,793

Member car:

Alfa 156 GTA

Re: Push Button Engine Start

hah, fairy snuff, ta for the opinions!
aziraphale is offline  
Holeshot
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Push Button Engine Start

Thought about doing this on my SS but like Operationalfa says use the key as normal to switch on your ignition then just push start button to fire 'er up.

Would probably go for the one as fitted to the Hondas (S2000) and put in place of the cigarette lighter, there was a guy selling them as a kit complete with relay etc on the bay.
 
Status: Car needs a lot of work
AO Member
 
knightjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 560
Re: Push Button Engine Start

If its security you want, why not consider what I call the "Transporter" option?....
A combination code.... thats what I want to do.
Anyone knows a place we can get a kit?
knightjp is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Tuning & Upgrades

Tags
button , engine , push , start

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome