How am i supposed to get a BMC CDA in there? lol - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Tuning & Upgrades Discuss performance enhancements for your Alfa Romeo

Reply
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 28 Old 17-12-08 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Steve -156-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 154
Hmmm How am i supposed to get a BMC CDA in there? lol

Ok heres some pictures as to why im so stuck on how to put a BMC CDA airfilter on the car.

As you can see its just so cramped to see what your doing. Also that electrical cable thats plugged into the pipe just above the airbox, that has to be plugged in at all times rite?

http://i251.photobucket.com/albums/g...1/P1010264.jpg

http://i251.photobucket.com/albums/g...1/P1010265.jpg

http://i251.photobucket.com/albums/g...1/P1010266.jpg

http://i251.photobucket.com/albums/g...1/P1010267.jpg


Atleast the intake pipe looks pretty straight and direct to me.

You want something sporty with class? Buy an Alfa Romeo. *cough* GT

Last edited by Steve -156-; 17-12-08 at 14:40.
Steve -156- is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: off down the shed.
AO Gold Member
 
alfacool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: England.
County: Durham
Posts: 6,323
Re: How am i supposed to get a BMC CDA in there? lol

nope cant see your pics.
alfacool is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 28 Old 17-12-08 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Steve -156-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 154
Re: How am i supposed to get a BMC CDA in there? lol

try now
Steve -156- is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: South Yorkshire
Posts: 123
Re: How am i supposed to get a BMC CDA in there? lol

lol personally, i'd cut the airbox off, mount the filter next to the engine somewhere accessible and take a cold air feed from where the airbox you removed was into the new cda filter.
phoebus is offline  
0of0
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: How am i supposed to get a BMC CDA in there? lol

I did this: (different engine I know)

Intake removed & battery tray out - 13mm & 10mm sockets & 10mm spanner




'snorkel' prised off the airbox & bolt removed with 8mm socket from underside






Bracket removed from rear of airbox with 10mm socket to ease removal




I undid electrical connectors to give more room




Airbox half way out




Result - it's out! - bit of jiggery pokery involved getting it through coolant pipes etc




Old & new




Bolts in existing airbox sheared (of course! ) while removing MAF housing (10mm socket)




I 'kinked' the fixing strap through 90º to enable fixing of CDA




I fixed the strap using the same bolts that fix the fan to the rad (8mm socket)




CDA then fixed to this using 10mm sockets







Battery tray & intake re-fitted
 
Status: -
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,522
Re: How am i supposed to get a BMC CDA in there? lol

You rollin on some 17" multi spokes now jon???? Avatar looks like it??
G5een is offline  
0of0
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: How am i supposed to get a BMC CDA in there? lol

Quote:
Originally Posted by G5een View Post
You rollin on some 17" multi spokes now jon???? Avatar looks like it??

Always have - badly in need of a re-furb though - dear Santa...
 
(Post Link) post #8 of 28 Old 17-12-08 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Steve -156-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 154
Re: How am i supposed to get a BMC CDA in there? lol

those plugs in the sockets... what do they actualy do?
Steve -156- is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,807
Re: How am i supposed to get a BMC CDA in there? lol

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve -156- View Post
those plugs in the sockets... what do they actualy do?
I think its for headlights and stuff. I had em all undone when I took the front of my car to bits.
Pud237 is offline  
(Post Link) post #10 of 28 Old 17-12-08 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Steve -156-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 154
Re: How am i supposed to get a BMC CDA in there? lol

i mean, if you see the pics i posted, you will see a plug in a socket attached to the air intake just as it leaves the box, why would a lights plug be attached to that?
Steve -156- is offline  
(Post Link) post #11 of 28 Old 17-12-08 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Steve -156-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 154
Re: How am i supposed to get a BMC CDA in there? lol

2nd picture shows exactly it
Steve -156- is offline  
Status: -
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,522
Re: How am i supposed to get a BMC CDA in there? lol

Quote:
Originally Posted by V6Jon View Post
Always have - badly in need of a re-furb though - dear Santa...


I thought your's had the proper bad 15" wheels like most v6s.



Mine looked better than your's though.

G5een is offline  
Status: -
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,522
Re: How am i supposed to get a BMC CDA in there? lol

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve -156- View Post
2nd picture shows exactly it
Thats the maf.
G5een is offline  
(Post Link) post #14 of 28 Old 17-12-08 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Steve -156-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 154
Re: How am i supposed to get a BMC CDA in there? lol

this is where i am a noob lol. What is the MAF? im guessing its an air intake monitor? And must be plugged in at all times while engine is running?
Steve -156- is offline  
Status: -
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,522
Re: How am i supposed to get a BMC CDA in there? lol

You can disconnect it and it'll still run. The maf is a bit of a problem on older cars, keep going wrong. Beware the cheap e-bay mafs

I take it the CDA sits where the current filter does??

Check this accurate description:
http://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j2...92008003-1.jpg

And:
http://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j2...92008002-1.jpg



You get how crazy this set up is??

The first pic, you see where the intake opening is placed?? The ecu fits to where the drainpipe arrow is and then the grey cloth thing covers the ecu. Surely it's getting suffocated and drawing in warmish air??

The second pic, the inside of the pipe has like a baffled texture??
G5een is offline  
(Post Link) post #16 of 28 Old 17-12-08 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Steve -156-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 154
Re: How am i supposed to get a BMC CDA in there? lol

I have no idea lol they have made the GT engines so hecktic compaired to the 156s lol.

Will i encounter problems driving around with an unplugged MAF?
Steve -156- is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,807
Re: How am i supposed to get a BMC CDA in there? lol

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve -156- View Post
I have no idea lol they have made the GT engines so hecktic compaired to the 156s lol.

Will i encounter problems driving around with an unplugged MAF?
Why would you drive around with the MAF unplugged?
Pud237 is offline  
(Post Link) post #18 of 28 Old 20-12-08 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Steve -156-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 154
Re: How am i supposed to get a BMC CDA in there? lol

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pud237 View Post
Why would you drive around with the MAF unplugged?
G5een wanted to know, but was to shy to ask.
Steve -156- is offline  
Status: -
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,522
Re: How am i supposed to get a BMC CDA in there? lol



I wouldn't recommend it, but you could do it. An error will show though.
G5een is offline  
(Post Link) post #20 of 28 Old 20-12-08 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Steve -156-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 154
Re: How am i supposed to get a BMC CDA in there? lol

im not going to lol. I managed to get the airbox and opened to have a look. Its a flat panel filter. Im going to by a K&N one or BMC depending which one i find first. Then see if it makes any sound difference. If not then ill have a look where i can stick this BMC box. If i get any results, ill post a vid of sound difference.
Steve -156- is offline  
Status: -
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,522
Re: How am i supposed to get a BMC CDA in there? lol

I wouldn't bother mate.

It's the restrictions before the filter which are bogging it down.
G5een is offline  
(Post Link) post #22 of 28 Old 20-12-08 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Steve -156-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 154
Re: How am i supposed to get a BMC CDA in there? lol

hmm,... did you get your BMC CDA eventually in?
Steve -156- is offline  
Status: -
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,522
Re: How am i supposed to get a BMC CDA in there? lol

I haven't fitted one.

I'm sure it'll fit though, would be a good idea to wear gloves when fitting.
G5een is offline  
(Post Link) post #24 of 28 Old 20-12-08 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Steve -156-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 154
Re: How am i supposed to get a BMC CDA in there? lol

Quote:
Originally Posted by G5een View Post
I haven't fitted one.

I'm sure it'll fit though, would be a good idea to wear gloves when fitting.
dam rite lol, i had to wash my hands 3 times to get the oil off.
Steve -156- is offline  
(Post Link) post #25 of 28 Old 20-12-08 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Steve -156-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 154
Re: How am i supposed to get a BMC CDA in there? lol

to get to the filter inside, half of the box unclips leaving a good amount of space which it should fit into. Which outlets sell the BMC CDA? Ive tried halfords and motor bitz. Or do i have to order it?
Steve -156- is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Tuning & Upgrades

Tags
bmc , cda , lol , supposed

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome