GTA cam works!!! - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Tuning & Upgrades Discuss performance enhancements for your Alfa Romeo

Reply
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 112 Old 11-11-08 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cape Town South Africa
Posts: 39
Thumbs Up GTA cam works!!!

Hey Guys! Did the GTA cam mod on my 2.5 and got some othe bits and pieces to help, i.e, GTA inlet tube into the airbox, BMC filter & Autodelta carbon fibre inlet pipe from my sister in the U.K.

Works a treat!! Stronger response from the bottom end and goes like a scalded cat from about 4000rpm all the way to red line with no let up. Been very happy with the conversion. Just one heck of a job putting in the cams. Also, cleaned the throttle body a couple of weeks later cos she didn't seem to be entirely happy with the mod and that was a revelation. Throttle body was very dirty and with this clean it has made a substantial difference to the feel of the engine and the throttle response, so, I would recommend cleaning it if you have never done it.

So, just saying thanks for all the great replies.

Cheers
Jacques Thys is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: -
AO Member
 
The Big Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cornwall
Posts: 999

Member car:

GTV CUP 47

Re: GTA cam works!!!

Good work.
I got my GTV booked in on the 1st to uprate mine with the GTA cams, BMC kit and remap. Just hoping it will be worth it and your thumbs up is giving me hope.
Enjoy your hard work
The Big Dog is offline  
Gaz
Status: Privileged
Regional Support North
Is there a meet near you?
 
Gaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Behind the wheel
County: Lancashire
Posts: 63,352
Re: GTA cam works!!!

how much are GTA cams and where would one get them from? apart from AR obviously
Gaz is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
The Big Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cornwall
Posts: 999

Member car:

GTV CUP 47

Re: GTA cam works!!!

My local Alfa are doing it. Cams are coming from EB.
Cams are about 300 odd quid. Then the cost of fitting cams and BMC and remap.
The Big Dog is offline  
Damien_C
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: GTA cam works!!!

Nice looks like a good mod
 
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,814
Re: GTA cam works!!!

Will be doing this to mine when I get the cambelt done next
Pud237 is offline  
Gaz
Status: Privileged
Regional Support North
Is there a meet near you?
 
Gaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Behind the wheel
County: Lancashire
Posts: 63,352
Re: GTA cam works!!!

is it a straight swap to take out the old cams and fit the GTA cams? or are there any other mods to contend with?

if its a straight swap then il do it myself. though im guessing there would be some sort of remap programme to get everything fuelled and lined up right?
Gaz is offline  
(Post Link) post #8 of 112 Old 13-11-08 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cape Town South Africa
Posts: 39
Re: GTA cam works!!!

It is a straight swap. Just the confined space around the cambelts and the covers and screws etc...

Also, you will need the GTA camlocks as there is a slight difference in the timing. Don't need a re-map immediately, but, will help if you do.

I haven't done the re-map yet as I cannot afford that right now. Plan to get the larger intake runners and manifold and a powerflow exhaust first and then the re-map.
Jacques Thys is offline  
Gaz
Status: Privileged
Regional Support North
Is there a meet near you?
 
Gaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Behind the wheel
County: Lancashire
Posts: 63,352
Re: GTA cam works!!!

thats ok i can live with working in confined spaces, im immune to a sharp case of spanner rash.

il look into a remap if/when i get some cams and locks.
Gaz is offline  
(Post Link) post #10 of 112 Old 13-11-08 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cape Town South Africa
Posts: 39
Re: GTA cam works!!!

Great! My baby is running well without the re-map at the mo so we will see when I've got some spare cash.
Jacques Thys is offline  
Gaz
Status: Privileged
Regional Support North
Is there a meet near you?
 
Gaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Behind the wheel
County: Lancashire
Posts: 63,352
Re: GTA cam works!!!

anything for more power in a GTV

Gaz is offline  
(Post Link) post #12 of 112 Old 13-11-08 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cape Town South Africa
Posts: 39
Re: GTA cam works!!!

Yeah, know what you are talking about
Jacques Thys is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
The Big Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cornwall
Posts: 999

Member car:

GTV CUP 47

Re: GTA cam works!!!

So has anyone else on here done this to their GTV with kit and remap?
What diffrence did it make? Or am I going to have to wait to find out!!!!!
The Big Dog is offline  
Status: Alfaless!!
AO Silver Member
 
phil-gtv6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Sussex
Posts: 3,090
Garage

Member car:

E82 125i

Re: GTA cam works!!!

haven't heard of anyone here doing it - the guy from south africa talked about it somewhere though.

...sounds like the thing to do if you ask me !
phil-gtv6 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Gold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 418
Re: GTA cam works!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacques Thys View Post
Hey Guys! Did the GTA cam mod on my 2.5 and got some othe bits and pieces to help, i.e, GTA inlet tube into the airbox, BMC filter & Autodelta carbon fibre inlet pipe from my sister in the U.K.

Works a treat!! Stronger response from the bottom end and goes like a scalded cat from about 4000rpm all the way to red line with no let up. Been very happy with the conversion. Just one heck of a job putting in the cams. Also, cleaned the throttle body a couple of weeks later cos she didn't seem to be entirely happy with the mod and that was a revelation. Throttle body was very dirty and with this clean it has made a substantial difference to the feel of the engine and the throttle response, so, I would recommend cleaning it if you have never done it.

So, just saying thanks for all the great replies.

Cheers

Great mods. I'm thinking of doing the same but:

What I hear is that air filter replacements (like the BMC) would add some HP to the top end, but always at a cost of reducing some torque lower down.

My aim is to increase the kick in the pants you get when you floor it (torque) rather than top end redlining ability (hp).

Would the mods you suggest have improved this better by just leaving the standard air filter in?
Gold is offline  
Status: Alfaless!!
AO Silver Member
 
phil-gtv6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Sussex
Posts: 3,090
Garage

Member car:

E82 125i

Re: GTA cam works!!!

I think replacing the filter itself with a more free flow type will help hp without reducing the torque
phil-gtv6 is offline  
(Post Link) post #17 of 112 Old 23-11-08 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cape Town South Africa
Posts: 39
Re: GTA cam works!!!

Sorry it's taken so log to reply but been out of town for a while and no internet where I was.

The BMC filter actually helped the torque at the bottom for me, but, doing the rest of the mods seemed to work well together and has improved torque at the bottom and hp at the top and that is without a chip or re-map.

Mine is a 2.5 and if you have a 3.0 then torque isn't as much of an issue as you have more in any case so there woulld definately be a difference.
Jacques Thys is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
slimes26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: -
Posts: 35
Re: GTA cam works!!!

One question from a newboy.

Who or what is EB. Is it a shop if so where?
slimes26 is offline  
Status: car now sold
AO Member
 
rigsby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: cornwall
Posts: 651

Member car:

EP3 Type R

Re: GTA cam works!!!

here ya go slimes
Alfa Romeo Parts and Alfa Romeo Spares from EB Spares - Specialist Alfa Parts Dealers
big dog who's doing all the work for you?
rigsby is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
slimes26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: -
Posts: 35
Re: GTA cam works!!!

Thanks ma man

Had a look at EB site.

Was like a little kid in a big sweet shop

I want I want
slimes26 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
The Big Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cornwall
Posts: 999

Member car:

GTV CUP 47

Re: GTA cam works!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by rigsby View Post
here ya go slimes
Alfa Romeo Parts and Alfa Romeo Spares from EB Spares - Specialist Alfa Parts Dealers
big dog who's doing all the work for you?
G B Ongaros (Alfa Romeo)
Trust them fully with my car. Top people. Alfa Romeo in their blood rather than some Alfa garages around I know who just book you in and take your ££££.
Also my Viper induction kit has just turned up!!!! Roll on Monday

Then ready for a remap
Hurry up and get it done!
The Big Dog is offline  
Status: car now sold
AO Member
 
rigsby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: cornwall
Posts: 651

Member car:

EP3 Type R

Re: GTA cam works!!!

i phoned ongaros a few months back about fitting my koni suspension but they didnt want to know , have only heard good things about them though......good look with it fella, and ill keep my eyes and ears open for a loud red gtv.
rigsby is offline  
Status: -
AO Gold Member
 
badgers_nadgers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 7,154

Member car:

156 GTA SW

Re: GTA cam works!!!

Are you guys talking about inlet and exhaust cams or just the inlet cams as the mod I'd heard about was just inlet cams?
badgers_nadgers is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
The Big Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cornwall
Posts: 999

Member car:

GTV CUP 47

Re: GTA cam works!!!

Just the inlet cams
The Big Dog is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,814
Re: GTA cam works!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by badgers_nadgers View Post
Are you guys talking about inlet and exhaust cams or just the inlet cams as the mod I'd heard about was just inlet cams?
Just the inlet cams, the 3.0 and GTA share the same exhaust cams, although they are timed differently due to the use of different cam locks.
Pud237 is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Tuning & Upgrades

Tags
cam , gta , works

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome