Removing aircon - 156 - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Tuning & Upgrades Discuss performance enhancements for your Alfa Romeo

 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 6 Old 07-11-08 Thread Starter
Status: wondering what to tweak next...
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: North Yorkshire
Posts: 2,793

Member car:

Alfa 156 GTA

Removing aircon - 156

would it be possible, ie can you get a belt the correct size, to remove the aircon compressor from the aux belt route?

if so, what length would i need?

it listed as a cheap performance/response upgrade for the ford cougar, i had one and was thinking of doing the same to the alfa as the aircon system is ballsed and i would never use it anyway, as its apparently not brilliant.

any ideas? i have a shorter belt on at the mo due to the smaller aux pulley.
aziraphale is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
(Post Link) post #2 of 6 Old 08-11-08 Thread Starter
Status: wondering what to tweak next...
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: North Yorkshire
Posts: 2,793

Member car:

Alfa 156 GTA

Re: Removing aircon - 156

whoops, scratch that-removing the aircon on the 156 would mean the belt is the wrong way round to go round the idler pulley.


bum.
aziraphale is offline  
Status: Rebuilding series 3 landy, nearly there!
AO Member
 
UKSPF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Torfaen
Posts: 299

Member car:

145 Cloverleaf

Re: Removing aircon - 156

I have removed the aircon on a 2.0ts engine, you need to remove the idler above the crank pulley alltogether and run the shorter belt.
UKSPF is offline  
(Post Link) post #4 of 6 Old 23-11-08 Thread Starter
Status: wondering what to tweak next...
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: North Yorkshire
Posts: 2,793

Member car:

Alfa 156 GTA

Re: Removing aircon - 156

thats a point. what is the belt length please? gains?

i have a shorter belt anyway, i have a smaller crank pulley.
aziraphale is offline  
Status: zzzzzzzz
AO Platinum Member
 
symon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Oxfordshire
Posts: 37,017
Re: Removing aircon - 156

The belt off a non aircon 155, 145 or 146 TS will fit, thats providing you don't have the smaller crank pulley fitted.
symon is offline  
(Post Link) post #6 of 6 Old 23-11-08 Thread Starter
Status: wondering what to tweak next...
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: North Yorkshire
Posts: 2,793

Member car:

Alfa 156 GTA

Re: Removing aircon - 156

ah. ok...anyone know how long those belts are?
aziraphale is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Tuning & Upgrades

Tags
156 , aircon , removing

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome