Bose Stereo - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Tuning & Upgrades Discuss performance enhancements for your Alfa Romeo

 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 12 Old 11-10-08 Thread Starter
Status: -
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 75
Bose Stereo

Hi all,

I was just watching one of those home shopping channels and it had a Bose stereo on there with one of their blokes selling it. He said Bose stereos are meant to make you go wow when listening.

Relating this to my Alfa, I certainly went wow - I went wow this is pretty ****. Is that cause of the head unit & if so can anyone suggest a decent replacement that will work with the steering wheel controls / dash display?
m4rrk0121 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Damien_C
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Bose Stereo

Alpine
 
Status: Waiting for Stelvio QV
AO Platinum Member
 
OperationAlfa's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Posts: 23,452
Re: Bose Stereo

Quote:
Originally Posted by m4rrk0121 View Post
Hi all,

I was just watching one of those home shopping channels and it had a Bose stereo on there with one of their blokes selling it. He said Bose stereos are meant to make you go wow when listening.

Relating this to my Alfa, I certainly went wow - I went wow this is pretty ****. Is that cause of the head unit & if so can anyone suggest a decent replacement that will work with the steering wheel controls / dash display?
I've got a blaupunkt MP66 sitting in a box behind me at the moment. It works with the steering wheel controls but I'm not sure about the screen.
OperationAlfa is offline  
Status: always bored
AO Member
 
ricey25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 350
Re: Bose Stereo

thats a nice lookin stereo hope the display works

i fancy a Blaupunkt Nashville DAB47 not as flash but is dab
ricey25 is offline  
Status: El finto :(
AO Member
 
KendalBeefcake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 886

Member car:

159 SW Ti

Re: Bose Stereo

Quote:
Originally Posted by m4rrk0121 View Post
Hi all,

.....I went wow this is pretty ****. ...
Glad to see that I'm not the only one then! I've posted repeatly about the Bose System, I strongly suspect that it is the very cheap blaupunkt letting the side down..I'm ALMOST settled on the Alpine 9886 which does everything I want it to without costing an arm and a leg and covertors are avaialble for the Bose Amp and steering controls..

I've had alpine before and they never have dissapointed, I'd like to spend more but Alpine charge a fortune for USB and Bluetooth IMHO, at least on the 9886 one of those is standard!



Kendal
KendalBeefcake is offline  
m13
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: East Lothian
Posts: 6
Re: Bose Stereo

Hi

I went through the exact same thing of really naff sound from my Bose; no radio signal to speak of and really poor volume and lots of distortion with the standard Bose setup. Having tried checking the aerial booster, cabling, speakers, setup and generally every connection I could get at I decided it has to be either the Bose amplifier or the headunit. disconnecting the Bose and using the Blaupunkt standard output just made it sound worse, so I thought I'd try a different head but as cheaply as possible. I went for an Alpine ixa-001 with bluetooth unit off the bay on the principle that if it didn't work i could sell it on again.

Difference? Night and day! I wired it up the same way as the Blaupunkt (ie speaker outputs directly to Bose). The result - volume increased, bass to shake my fillings out, and the radio now played a strong signal (easily better than the standard Blaupunkt CD - the aerial worked all along!) and now i get stations I never knew existed! I added a small hard drive (80Gb) and although no CD (but could add a changer if I needed) I now have the ability to work USB/bluetooth stream/radio/iPod.

Being Alpine, the built in standard steering interface controls worked too (no extra connectors etc. to buy). It took a bit of time to "tune" the sound to my taste as there's no manual EQ on the x-001 so you may want to go for a unit that has this facility. Overall though, I just wished i had tried this first as it'd have saved me many hours of grief taking the 156 to bits - as compensation, at least i have a better idea how it's all connected now.

I don't know how any Alpine would work with the display on a GT, presumably this would also require a head unit that had CANbus controls, as far as I'm aware Alpine only do one for OEM Vauxhall/Opel (Alpine Display adapter APF-D102OP), there may be other ICE manufacturers that do something but then you're probably back to needing a steering wheel adapter too.

Bottom line though - standard Blaupunkt head supplied with Bose by Alfa is really poor. Change it, but make sure you get a unit that can handle streaming bluetooth (you might not need it now but you will want it at your next phone change) and you can use your phone as a player as well as an iPod etc.

Hope this helps.
m13 is offline  
(Post Link) post #7 of 12 Old 15-10-08 Thread Starter
Status: -
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 75
Re: Bose Stereo

Thanks for all your replys glad I'm not the only one who through the sound was abot ify. Perhaps I'll see what Alfa ae offering as an upgrade if anything - at least that way it would be completly compatible. Failing that I think I'l just go for an Alpine or something similar - the current sound qaulity makes my ears bleed.
m4rrk0121 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Lucyfer_147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 138
Re: Bose Stereo

I know the original stereo in my AR 147 doesn't perform as it should be... but before I will spend some money on the new one, please does anybody can tell how I can find that all my speakers are BOSE speakers...?
Lucyfer_147 is offline  
Status: El finto :(
AO Member
 
KendalBeefcake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 886

Member car:

159 SW Ti

Re: Bose Stereo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lucyfer_147 View Post
I know the original stereo in my AR 147 doesn't perform as it should be... but before I will spend some money on the new one, please does anybody can tell how I can find that all my speakers are BOSE speakers...?

At the risk of sounding obvious, they say "bose" on them! But only on the tweeters it seems..
KendalBeefcake is offline  
Status: Waiting for Stelvio QV
AO Platinum Member
 
OperationAlfa's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Posts: 23,452
Re: Bose Stereo

Quote:
Originally Posted by KendalBeefcake View Post
At the risk of sounding obvious, they say "bose" on them! But only on the tweeters it seems..
Although there are no tweeters behind those covers as they are in the main speakers.
OperationAlfa is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Alfa Sprint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: France, Metropolitan
County: Hauts de Seine
Posts: 156

Member car:

ALFA 156 BENZINA

Wave Re: Bose Stereo

The Blaupunkt is good enough, but loudspeakers are very bad. I upgrade mine with FOCAL drivers with a real passive crossover, sound is much better.

Alfa Sprint is offline  
Damien_C
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Bose Stereo

Nice Focals Alfa. I've a set of K2P's in my car big drivers to fit into the car lol.
 
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Tuning & Upgrades

Tags
bose , stereo

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome