How to turbo my 3.0 V6 GTV ? - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Tuning & Upgrades Discuss performance enhancements for your Alfa Romeo

Reply
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 69 Old 02-10-08 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Franky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 246
How to turbo my 3.0 V6 GTV ?

Right there must be a way to fit a turbo to my GTV without it costing 5000 and I really like the idea of fitting a turbo and not a supercharger !

Now it occurs to me that there of course 2.0 V6 Turbo's knocking around in Europe so why could i not pick up one of the turbos off 1 of those and fit that to my car ?

Would love to hear from you all on the pros cons and hows this can be done !!

Les see if between us all we can up with a good plan

thanks all

Franky
Franky is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Derbyshire
Posts: 1,613

Member car:

159 Ti

Re: How to turbo my 3.0 V6 GTV ?

the v6 2.0 is a single turbo after a long length of manifold.

you would be better off with two smaller turbos if there is room for them.

Without major engine mods you wouldn't be able to run much boost...

So why not look at supercharging?
jasons is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
GTA Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 14,575

Member car:

147 GTA

Re: How to turbo my 3.0 V6 GTV ?

Yo Franky! You getting greedy for power? Me too! Remap was good and still is but when is enough actually enough? NEVER *evil laugh!!!!*
GTA Jim is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
156Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 12,881
Re: How to turbo my 3.0 V6 GTV ?

When I saw the title of your thread I automatically thought "this guy as 5k burning a whole in his pocket ... good luck on your search ...
156Chris is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 69 Old 02-10-08 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Franky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 246
Re: How to turbo my 3.0 V6 GTV ?

MUST HAVE MORE POWER !!!!!!!

And no I dont have 5k thats the whole point

MORE POWER !!!!!!
Franky is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
machvingtsun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ireland
County: -
Posts: 75

Member car:

156

Re: How to turbo my 3.0 V6 GTV ?

Have a look here:

Browser Warning
machvingtsun is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
GTA Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 14,575

Member car:

147 GTA

Re: How to turbo my 3.0 V6 GTV ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Franky View Post
MUST HAVE MORE POWER !!!!!!!

And no I dont have 5k thats the whole point

MORE POWER !!!!!!
POWER!!! Are you Jeremy Clarkson?

Quote:
Originally Posted by machvingtsun View Post
Have a look here:

Browser Warning
Interesting site that
GTA Jim is offline  
Status: Rust...Rust...Rust!
AO Silver Member
 
Alitalia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Suffolk
Posts: 1,028

Member car:

156, Sprint.

Re: How to turbo my 3.0 V6 GTV ?

What knowledge and experience do you have regarding forced induction? If it is limited then unfortunately it will cost over 5k. Buy a car with a turbo already fitted.
Alitalia is offline  
Chris155
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: How to turbo my 3.0 V6 GTV ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Franky View Post
Right there must be a way to fit a turbo to my GTV without it costing 5000 and I really like the idea of fitting a turbo and not a supercharger !

Now it occurs to me that there of course 2.0 V6 Turbo's knocking around in Europe so why could i not pick up one of the turbos off 1 of those and fit that to my car ?

Would love to hear from you all on the pros cons and hows this can be done !!

Les see if between us all we can up with a good plan

thanks all

Franky





muppet.
 
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
GTA Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 14,575

Member car:

147 GTA

Re: How to turbo my 3.0 V6 GTV ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris155 View Post



muppet.
You dont approve Chris?

I will say Franky its not worth doing things on the cheap though. I am no expert but all that extra boost, bhp and torque would surely blow something.

Last edited by GTA Jim; 03-10-08 at 00:15.
GTA Jim is offline  
Status: PSN ID: Jack155Q4
AO Gold Member
 
AlfaJack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 6,919

Member car:

1993 Alfa 155 Q4

Re: How to turbo my 3.0 V6 GTV ?

Your going to have to lower the compression ration if you want a meaningful power gain. Then sort out the fuelling so it doesnt lean out and melt everything.
But before all that you need to plumb a turbo in to be fed by both banks - not easy. A 2.0 V6 turbo would give some good hints but they are rare over here. Then you would need some very nifty plumbing of custom pipes to get it back round and up to the inlet.

All in all, spend £5K when you have it or it will be a long expensive process with no back up


Sorry to hijack: @ Chris, could you have a look at my thread in the 164/166 tech lounge, got a feeling you will have some advice to give

AlfaJack is offline  
Status: Stewart GP pic. due to milowokie and Eau Rouge
AO Platinum Member
 
In_The_Pass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 12,405

Member car:

Toyota

Re: How to turbo my 3.0 V6 GTV ?

OK, you'll not get what you spend on doing this back.

It would seem likely that the 2 litre V6 used in the turbo has some differences before being turbo'd - lower compression ratio, sodium filled valves etc.

What about getting a turbo'd V6 engine from the continent and after modding and cambelting that drop it into your GTV. There must be loads of stuff on European forums on tweaking the 2 litre turbo?

Will anything foul the RHD steering gear? GT-R only ever been RHD, a LHD version would have fouled the turbos.

Fiat 20V Turbo it, but symonh2000 tells me Fiat driveshafts don't mate to Alfa hubs, or perhaps it's 'do-able' in the GTV, where it isn't in the 156 as both the Fiat Coupe and GTV have Macpherson strut front suspension?

The easiest route would be to get a Fiat Coupe tweaked like symonh2000's.

That has Poooooooowwwweeeerrrr
In_The_Pass is offline  
Status: PSN ID: Jack155Q4
AO Gold Member
 
AlfaJack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 6,919

Member car:

1993 Alfa 155 Q4

Re: How to turbo my 3.0 V6 GTV ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Monza96 View Post

Fiat 20V Turbo it, but symonh2000 tells me Fiat driveshafts don't mate to Alfa hubs, or perhaps it's 'do-able' in the GTV, where it isn't in the 156 as both the Fiat Coupe and GTV have Macpherson strut front suspension?

The easiest route would be to get a Fiat Coupe tweaked like symonh2000's.

That has Poooooooowwwweeeerrrr
I thought the 156 and Fiat Coupe 6sp shared gearboxes...

Anyway, dropping a 2.0 V6 TB in to a 3.0 V6 car means he is already about 20-30bhp down, it will need a better chip to get it back up to the same power output but with the beautiful drivability of a NA Alfa V6 gone...and then aftermarket turbo time, stronger head gasket, new map for the ecu....lots of potential if the engine can take it
AlfaJack is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
GTA Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 14,575

Member car:

147 GTA

Re: How to turbo my 3.0 V6 GTV ?

Franky get a GTA, job done!
GTA Jim is offline  
Status: Stewart GP pic. due to milowokie and Eau Rouge
AO Platinum Member
 
In_The_Pass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 12,405

Member car:

Toyota

In_The_Pass is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Bristol
Posts: 5,002
Re: How to turbo my 3.0 V6 GTV ?

How do they make the capacity difference between the 2.0 V6 turbo and the 3L? I assume it is bore rather than stroke? Just wondering whether it would be easier to get a 2.0 turbo and put a different crank on, than try to turbocharge a 3.0? Also need to think about turbo size, a 3.0 will put out 50% more flow than a 2.0, so the turbo probably isn't big enough........
mave is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Bristol
Posts: 5,002
Re: How to turbo my 3.0 V6 GTV ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by machvingtsun View Post
Have a look here:

Browser Warning
That's a real nice site! Good useful info, thanks
mave is offline  
Status: Alfaless!!
AO Silver Member
 
phil-gtv6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Sussex
Posts: 3,090
Garage

Member car:

E82 125i

Re: How to turbo my 3.0 V6 GTV ?

is the compression ratio really much of an issue? - as the 3.2 can run some boost ok and it has a higher ratio than the 3.0
phil-gtv6 is offline  
(Post Link) post #19 of 69 Old 03-10-08 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Franky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 246
Re: How to turbo my 3.0 V6 GTV ?

Hehe i thought this might raise a few results

Its nice to see that people can give positive answers as well as plain old RUDE ones aswell !!

I love my GTV and dont wish to change it however i do wish for MORE POWER !!!!! MUST HAVE MORE POWER lol

Also i have only seen places doing superchargers for the GTV not turbos so if there are garages ( not autodelta ) that do turbo conversions please list them for me

thanks all

Franky
Franky is offline  
Status: -
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 41
Re: How to turbo my 3.0 V6 GTV ?

With a bit of inginuity and some engineering skill (or some good friends with engineering skills!) you can turbocharge any car, most modern engines can take about 6psi of boost without internal modification, and you should be able to remap the standard ECU to cope with that.

Then again, if you know where to look a set of forged pistons can be bought for around £400 (for a four cylinder), so why stop a 6psi???

You shouldn't need to go mad on upgraded internals unless you are planning on driving it like a hoon all the time. (May be difficult not to!!!)
pistonhead72 is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Derbyshire
Posts: 1,613

Member car:

159 Ti

Re: How to turbo my 3.0 V6 GTV ?

there is a 2.0 v6 tubo gtv rhd for sale on ebay at 2750.

only 200 bhp and only 12valve is not it?

but runs 8:1 compression, whereas the leaf 12v was more like 11 or 12:1, so compression is important.

surely a mercedes screw could be shorhorned in (around 7psi std?) and give a good few extra bhp?
jasons is offline  
Gaz
Status: Privileged
Regional Support North
Is there a meet near you?
 
Gaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Behind the wheel
County: Lancashire
Posts: 63,353
Re: How to turbo my 3.0 V6 GTV ?

dont do it!!

saw this car for sale in numerous places over the past 2 years, viewed it in keighley about 18 months ago (roughly)

it wasnt in good shape
Gaz is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Enzo156's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 455

Member car:

156

Re: How to turbo my 3.0 V6 GTV ?

get some good old throttle boddies that will give u a clear 30 bhp gain straight away , alot less hassle to set up, and sounds alot better IMO
Enzo156 is offline  
Status: -
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 41
Re: How to turbo my 3.0 V6 GTV ?

Just bodies on an otherwise standard engine wouldn't give 30bhp.

By the time you have spent money on headwork and cams etc you could have turboed it and got double the increase.

I am more of a supercharger man myself, they are slightly more parasitic, but there is a lot less heat to deal with, meaning for the same power increase, you need less engine work generally.
pistonhead72 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Enzo156's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 455

Member car:

156

Re: How to turbo my 3.0 V6 GTV ?

lol... ok
Enzo156 is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Tuning & Upgrades

Tags
gtv , turbo

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome