How much 2.0 JTDm F40 drivetrain can handle? - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Tuning & Upgrades Discuss performance enhancements for your Alfa Romeo

 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 13 Old 2 Weeks Ago Thread Starter
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Lithuania
County: -
Posts: 8

Member car:

159 Sportwagon

Hmmm How much 2.0 JTDm F40 drivetrain can handle?

I have 159 1.9 JTDm 16V with swaped F40 gearbox. It uses driveshafts, gearbox and engine mounts from 2.0 JTDm. Currently building GTB2060 hybrid and planning to reach 300HP/600NM (currently 260HP/505NM with GT1756). Will driveshafts handle that much of torque? Is there any uprated driveshafts?
And how about engine mounts? Should I worry about them?
Esnyperis is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
(Post Link) post #2 of 13 Old 2 Weeks Ago
Status: -
AO Member
 
trcXL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
County: -
Posts: 230
How much 2.0 JTDm F40 drivetrain can handle?

The F40 is in the 2.4 210 as well so I wouldn’t worry about it. I’ve seen a Brera 2.4 at 300hp.
trcXL is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 13 Old 2 Weeks Ago
Status: Trying to Run
AO Member
 
emre2blue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Turkey
County: Istanbul
Posts: 559
Quote:
Originally Posted by Esnyperis View Post
I have 159 1.9 JTDm 16V with swaped F40 gearbox. It uses driveshafts, gearbox and engine mounts from 2.0 JTDm. Currently building GTB2060 hybrid and planning to reach 300HP/600NM (currently 260HP/505NM with GT1756). Will driveshafts handle that much of torque? Is there any uprated driveshafts?
And how about engine mounts? Should I worry about them?

Can you give me some information about it. Did you use M32 Clutch FlyWheel and other stuff. Does Gearbox Mounts from 2.0JTDM is bolt on? I have to make to run too. Please share some information. I'm using M32 1.9 JTDM 282HP/528Nm
emre2blue is offline  
(Post Link) post #4 of 13 Old 2 Weeks Ago Thread Starter
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Lithuania
County: -
Posts: 8

Member car:

159 Sportwagon

Quote:
Originally Posted by trcXL View Post
The F40 is in the 2.4 210 as well so I wouldn’t worry about it. I’ve seen a Brera 2.4 at 300hp.
Gearbox willl be fine.

Quote:
Originally Posted by emre2blue View Post
Can you give me some information about it. Did you use M32 Clutch FlyWheel and other stuff. Does Gearbox Mounts from 2.0JTDM is bolt on? I have to make to run too. Please share some information. I'm using M32 1.9 JTDM 282HP/528Nm
Well, it's not completly bolt-on swap.

You will need to have:
1. F40 gearbox (mine from Vauxhall Signum 1.9 110kw, but you can use gearbox from Alfa)
2. Flywheel from Signum 1.9 110kw, clutch custom made, based on 2.4 JTDm disc and pressure plate. You can use Sachs performance kit from Vauxhall. Good for up to 600NM.
3. 2.0 or 2.4 gearbox cables
4. 2.0 gearbox mount brackets (lower one needs a little bit modifying)
5. 2.0 gearbox side upper mount
6. 2.0 driveshafts, right one has to be shortened about 1-2 cm (if your car slammed, then more).

And that's it.
Esnyperis is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 13 Old 2 Weeks Ago
Status: Trying to Run
AO Member
 
emre2blue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Turkey
County: Istanbul
Posts: 559
oohhh. It needs new flyWheel and Clutch
emre2blue is offline  
(Post Link) post #6 of 13 Old 2 Weeks Ago
Status: Quo!
AO Silver Member
 
alfaitalia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Sussex
Posts: 2,563
The horsepower has nothing to do with it.....torque is what kills gearboxes that why they are named as they are. The M32 has a max torque handling of 320Nm the C635 can take 350NM and the F40 has a max rating of 400NM. So with a planned 600Nm of torque you are 50% over the designed max limit of the box. Im not saying it will breal....but I wouldnt do it myself. The driveshafts however will be fine.
alfaitalia is offline  
(Post Link) post #7 of 13 Old 2 Weeks Ago
Status: Trying to Run
AO Member
 
emre2blue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Turkey
County: Istanbul
Posts: 559
Quote:
Originally Posted by alfaitalia View Post
The horsepower has nothing to do with it.....torque is what kills gearboxes that why they are named as they are. The M32 has a max torque handling of 320Nm the C635 can take 350NM and the F40 has a max rating of 400NM. So with a planned 600Nm of torque you are 50% over the designed max limit of the box. Im not saying it will breal....but I wouldnt do it myself. The driveshafts however will be fine.
You are right about it. But especially with C365 in 147. They torture it. with near 600Nm. And lots of low RPM torque. I did not see anybody brake the box. But for the M32 I saw and hear. For F40 I saw somebody used near 700Nm torque. M32 has a new endcase and bearings may help for the health or th box. But for torque capacity F40 is the best solution. And M32 + F40 uses hydraulic piston. C365 I think is with cord type arm.
emre2blue is offline  
(Post Link) post #8 of 13 Old 2 Weeks Ago
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Germany
County: Bayern
Posts: 552
Quote:
Originally Posted by emre2blue View Post
You are right about it. But especially with C365 in 147. They torture it. with near 600Nm. And lots of low RPM torque. I did not see anybody brake the box...
The C635 gearbox is also stock in the Fiat Stilo with 1.9 JTDm Multijet 16v
crossshot is offline  
(Post Link) post #9 of 13 Old 2 Weeks Ago
Status: Trying to Run
AO Member
 
emre2blue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Turkey
County: Istanbul
Posts: 559
Quote:
Originally Posted by crossshot View Post
The C635 gearbox is also stock in the Fiat Stilo with 1.9 JTDm Multijet 16v
You lucky ..ard
emre2blue is offline  
(Post Link) post #10 of 13 Old 2 Weeks Ago
Status: Quo!
AO Silver Member
 
alfaitalia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Sussex
Posts: 2,563
The C635 has had rather more issues that the pretty bullet proof F40 (as well as handling 50nm less)...However the F40 is a little more notchy.
alfaitalia is offline  
(Post Link) post #11 of 13 Old 2 Weeks Ago
Status: Trying to Run
AO Member
 
emre2blue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Turkey
County: Istanbul
Posts: 559
Quote:
Originally Posted by alfaitalia View Post
However the F40 is a little more notchy.
Can you give us some example? I did not know that?
emre2blue is offline  
(Post Link) post #12 of 13 Old 2 Weeks Ago
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
County: Spain
Posts: 174
I would stay calm about engine mounts or driveshafts, I would stay more worried about DMF/clutch. Probably F40 supports 600 Nm without abuse, there are running with 500. It's like C530/C630 with 400-500 and even 600 without issues for tens of thousands kms. Even my small C510 is running +60% torque with regular WOTs for hundreds of thousands kms before OEM DMF exploding and braking everything around 1 km.
ceecao is offline  
(Post Link) post #13 of 13 Old 2 Weeks Ago
Status: To GTB or not to GTB?
AO Silver Member
 
TribesMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Slovenia
County: -
Posts: 2,289
High torque is not a problem as long as you don't abuse it in low gears...
Biggest problem is high output torque on the final drive in 1st and 2nd gear, due to torque "amplification" of the gear ratios.
Any gearbox failures that I have seen were only on the final drive, and in most cases because of the abuse, and tire slipping in low gears...

In high gears there will be no problems, as long as you keep your DMF/clutch happy
TribesMan is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Tuning & Upgrades

Tags
drivetrain , f40 , handle , jtdm

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome