[Brera 06 200hp] Factory Boost gauge re-scale - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Tuning & Upgrades Discuss performance enhancements for your Alfa Romeo

 2Likes
  • 1 Post By gionag
  • 1 Post By gionag
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 13 Old 11-10-18 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
County: -
Posts: 26
Garage

Member car:

Brera '06 200hp

[Brera 06 200hp] Factory Boost gauge re-scale

Hello !
First post here.

I was wondering if is possible to re-scale the factory boost gauge in the cluster.
I enjoy thinkering with the ECU and i think i have found something.

I have found in the EDC16C39 damos the boost pressure "scaling" and "offset" for Canbus / Diagnostic / DSM (??)

I think i need to leave alone everything except for the "scaling of the ecu -> can...." (@1C0A62). Original is set to "1", maybe if i swith to "0.5" the pressures was reported with half the weight and then i can measure almost 3.2 bar.

Don't know if I am in the right spot or not... Neither if that modification alter other important aspects of the "whole picture" of the car management (nonetheless everything on the can network at that point will think that the engine is running with half the boost ) .

Please, someone can point me in the right direction... I am pretty positive that it is possible.

Thanks !
M.
emre2blue likes this.

Last edited by gionag; 11-10-18 at 12:13.
gionag is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
jwq
Status: driving Giulia Veloce AWD
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
jwq's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 857
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The Netherlands
County: Zuid Holland
Posts: 6,625
Garage
Isn't the boost also used by the ECU/motormanagement ? If so, it could cause a lot of problems/damage changing scale ......
jwq is online now  
(Post Link) post #3 of 13 Old 11-10-18 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
County: -
Posts: 26
Garage

Member car:

Brera '06 200hp

Quote:
Originally Posted by jwq View Post
Isn't the boost also used by the ECU/motormanagement ? If so, it could cause a lot of problems/damage changing scale ......
maybe... but not sure.
the damos talks pretty clear that is only for the ecu-To-Can(network) scale/offset... so it not affect the ecu internals operations (i think).
But, sure enough will spit on the canbus (so for other ecus around the car) the pressure / 2.

I don't think right now other things around the car that needs boost pressure for their functions...

But i am here asking
gionag is offline  
Status: Trying to Run
AO Member
 
emre2blue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Turkey
County: Istanbul
Posts: 559
I would like to do that,

Also I found a map start 0 to 2600 mbar with 0 to 100 Percentage. But I'm not sure if its the spot. I don't want to use external gauge. Cluster is perfect place to use. Keep in touch.
emre2blue is offline  
Status: -
AO COTY Winner 2017
Membro Premio
 
BobanR's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 2393
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Serbia
County: -
Posts: 286

Member car:

Brera 2.4 8C Red

All I can do is answer the first part of the question... Yes, it is possible to re-calibrate OEM gauge to your needs
I do have that done, but can't help you with "how to" part, since I have no Idea how that hex thingy works
BobanR is offline  
Status: Trying to Run
AO Member
 
emre2blue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Turkey
County: Istanbul
Posts: 559
@TribesMan may help, If he knows, He knows..
emre2blue is offline  
(Post Link) post #7 of 13 Old 12-10-18 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
County: -
Posts: 26
Garage

Member car:

Brera '06 200hp

Quote:
Originally Posted by emre2blue View Post
@TribesMan may help, If he knows, He knows..
He knows for sure, simply because i've started my quest from a post he made on this forum where he said that is possible... but... i think that if he was in the willing to share the "HOW", maybe, he would have already said it

For me 1C0A60 is the offset calibration and 1C0A62 is the scaling. (hw 145 sw 421)

I think i've found in the damos the map you are talking about... but is under "BPSCD"... Boost pressure sensing component driver. Don't know if relates to the cluster.

Last edited by gionag; 12-10-18 at 20:47.
gionag is offline  
(Post Link) post #8 of 13 Old 20-10-18 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
County: -
Posts: 26
Garage

Member car:

Brera '06 200hp

Quote:
Originally Posted by BobanR View Post
All I can do is answer the first part of the question... Yes, it is possible to re-calibrate OEM gauge to your needs
I do have that done, but can't help you with "how to" part, since I have no Idea how that hex thingy works
Do you mind sharing your mod file of the ecu ? maybe we can extrapolate the solution from that.
But don't know if that request is ethical or not ! We trust in your spirit of sharing.

thanks.
gionag is offline  
Status: -
AO COTY Winner 2017
Membro Premio
 
BobanR's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 2393
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Serbia
County: -
Posts: 286

Member car:

Brera 2.4 8C Red

Problem is, I'd be sharing someone else's knowledge, and I don't want to do that.
I'm sorry I can't help more with this
BobanR is offline  
(Post Link) post #10 of 13 Old 20-10-18 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
County: -
Posts: 26
Garage

Member car:

Brera '06 200hp

Quote:
Originally Posted by BobanR View Post
Problem is, I'd be sharing someone else's knowledge, and I don't want to do that.
I'm sorry I can't help more with this
It was worth a shot
gionag is offline  
(Post Link) post #11 of 13 Old 03-11-18 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
County: -
Posts: 26
Garage

Member car:

Brera '06 200hp

found it...

in my file was @ 1C78AA 25X1 scaled 1.0 for x-axis (absolute boost pressure) and 0.01 for data (% of pwm)

if someone needs i can adjust as your wish

Sent from my SM-G955F using Tapatalk
emre2blue likes this.

Last edited by gionag; 01-04-19 at 06:54.
gionag is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
SoftDev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
County: -
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by gionag View Post
found it...

in my file was @ 1C78AA 25X1 scaled 1.0 for x-axis (relative boost pressure) and 0.01 for data (% of pwm)

if someone needs i can adjust as your wish

Sent from my SM-G955F using Tapatalk
I am a little confused about this map. It seems to me that the boost pressure is more like actual than relative. If it is relative the device should stop reporting after ~0.47mbar actual pressure?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Curve to convert boost pressure into a duty cycle.jpg (32.7 KB, 9 views)
SoftDev is offline  
(Post Link) post #13 of 13 Old 01-04-19 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
County: -
Posts: 26
Garage

Member car:

Brera '06 200hp

Quote:
Originally Posted by SoftDev View Post
I am a little confused about this map. It seems to me that the boost pressure is more like actual than relative. If it is relative the device should stop reporting after ~0.47mbar actual pressure?
you are 100% right... my bad.
yes : pressure scale is absolute.
gionag is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Tuning & Upgrades

Tags
200hp , boost , brera , factory , gauge , rescale

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome