Alfa 147 1.9 Jtdm Problem with lack of power - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Tuning & Upgrades Discuss performance enhancements for your Alfa Romeo

 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 15 Old 19-09-18 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Tomi Cvetkovski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Skopje
County: Macedonia
Posts: 11
Garage
Alfa 147 1.9 Jtdm Problem with lack of power

Hello everyone.... I need help....When I installed the new bigger front intercooler i noticed the car is responding on bigger rpm ,slower than before....the car used to increase in power after 1700RPM before... now I noticed that the car does not accelerate as before, I installed new standard oem turbo, what can the issue be?? Do I need to install bigger turbo so it can have more boost? or is it something else.

Yesterday I have race with alfa 159 1.9 150ks, he got away almost 2 cars in front, I feel that I lose torque when I install big intercooler. Is it possible that the air flow is longer with the new intercooler and doesnt have enough presure?!

- I check Injectors (all is good)
- I check maf sensor is ok

Can you give me some suggestion where I can find the problem ?
Tomi Cvetkovski is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: -
AO COTY Winner 2017
Membro Premio
 
BobanR's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 2393
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Serbia
County: -
Posts: 286

Member car:

Brera 2.4 8C Red

You need a remap. Bigger IC leaves bigger void to be filled, and it takes more time for turbo to do it. That's why your spool up is worse than with standard IC.
BobanR is offline  
Status: New quiet lifters, aircon works!
AO Silver Member
 
halftone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater London
Posts: 1,752
Garage

Member car:

147 Sport Q2

You need a bigger turbo to go with it, of course :-)
Autolusso - Hybrid Turbo
halftone is offline  
(Post Link) post #4 of 15 Old 20-09-18 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Tomi Cvetkovski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Skopje
County: Macedonia
Posts: 11
Garage
First, Thank you for your help.... It really matters to me, One maybe stupid question, but I dont know some people told me to try.... What if I play litle with adjustment of actuator, can I see some differences in torque ?
Tomi Cvetkovski is offline  
Status: -
AO COTY Winner 2017
Membro Premio
 
BobanR's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 2393
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Serbia
County: -
Posts: 286

Member car:

Brera 2.4 8C Red

You'll be working in the dark. Do yo have some data logs that would suggest adjusting VNT would lead to better performance?
My advice to you would be to find someone who knows thing or two about remaps, and have things done professionally. From your two posts, it seems that you're falling victim to some "experts" and their ideas.
BobanR is offline  
(Post Link) post #6 of 15 Old 20-09-18 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Tomi Cvetkovski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Skopje
County: Macedonia
Posts: 11
Garage
Here in Macedonia where I live doesn't have good experts for cars. That's why I need to find some answers.... So for now I think to back my old standard intercooler, and then see do will have some improvment with acceleration and torque, because Im lost and I invest I lot of money till now, I will go step by step...
Tomi Cvetkovski is offline  
Status: -
AO COTY Winner 2017
Membro Premio
 
BobanR's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 2393
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Serbia
County: -
Posts: 286

Member car:

Brera 2.4 8C Red

You might want to start here:
https://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/tuni...dm16v-gtb.html (Project 147 JTDm16v GTB)

You'll find all the info you need in that thread.
BobanR is offline  
(Post Link) post #8 of 15 Old 17-11-18 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Tomi Cvetkovski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Skopje
County: Macedonia
Posts: 11
Garage
Hello guys, I have couple of question.... Now I have 0 445 110 111 Injectors...

1.Can I upgrade to 0 445 110 243 ?
2.What I need to do if I put new 243 injectors ?
3.Can I expect some differences in power ?

Thank you
Tomi Cvetkovski is offline  
Status: Suck , Squeeze , Bang , Smoke!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Allerd's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 1723
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Netherlands
County: Drenthe
Posts: 770
243's is just a minor upgrade to your current injectors. better look voor 308's or 341's.
As all of these injectors are ph4 and your car is ph3 you'll need have you ecu mapped to work with ph4 codes or they'll be of no use for you.
Allerd is offline  
(Post Link) post #10 of 15 Old 18-11-18 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Tomi Cvetkovski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Skopje
County: Macedonia
Posts: 11
Garage
Thank you...
Tomi Cvetkovski is offline  
(Post Link) post #11 of 15 Old 19-11-18 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Tomi Cvetkovski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Skopje
County: Macedonia
Posts: 11
Garage
Hello, does anyone know what kind of error p1614...pops up when starting the engine only
Tomi Cvetkovski is offline  
(Post Link) post #12 of 15 Old 09-12-18 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Tomi Cvetkovski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Skopje
County: Macedonia
Posts: 11
Garage
anyone?
Tomi Cvetkovski is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Germany
County: Bayern
Posts: 560
Reason: bad tuning!

Flash back to stock file and see what happens.
crossshot is offline  
Status: 329 hp
Club Member
Membro Medio
 
JS JTD's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 1004
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Netherlands
County: Noord Brabant
Posts: 1,713
P1614 could be related to the immobilizer.
I have seen this error also on a 147 JTD 16v racing car where I worked on, that has the immobilizer disabled.
JS JTD is offline  
(Post Link) post #15 of 15 Old 07-01-19 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Tomi Cvetkovski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Skopje
County: Macedonia
Posts: 11
Garage
Thank you JS JTD.... I will check...
Tomi Cvetkovski is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Tuning & Upgrades

Tags
147 , alfa , jtdm , lack , power , problem

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome