JTD 8v Owners who Upgraded MAP sensor - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Tuning & Upgrades Discuss performance enhancements for your Alfa Romeo

 1Likes
  • 1 Post By sussexa
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 18 Old 20-12-17 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Padrada's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Portugal
County: Lisbon
Posts: 33
JTD 8v Owners who Upgraded MAP sensor

Hi everyone,

I have a JTD 8v engine, and i'm preparing everything to start the great upgrade (gtb2056v)
So, i need to upgrade my MAP sensor, that's for sure, but i would like to see some picture from who made this upgrade to see how it looks.

My initial idea was to upgrade to 3bar with 3pin, but i think is not possible, because the only one that i found is straight and for sure i will need to bend the water pipe...

3bar TMAP (4pin) i think that will touch on egr?

So, i like to keep "stock look", and i don't want to remove egr physically, or bend water pipes.

And i also think that 3bar map maybe is not the best option? Probably 3.5?


Share with me mates!!

Last edited by Padrada; 20-12-17 at 13:43. Reason: Grammatical errors
Padrada is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Oldie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Argyll and Bute
Posts: 1,274
Quote:
Originally Posted by Padrada View Post
Hi everyone,

I have a JTD 8v engine, and i'm preparing everything to start the great upgrade (gtb2056v)
So, i need to upgrade my MAP sensor, that's for sure, but i would like to see some picture from who made this upgrade to see how it looks.

My initial idea was to upgrade to 3bar with 3pin, but i think is not possible, because the only one that i found is straight and for sure i will need to bend the water pipe...

3bar TMAP (4pin) i think that will touch on egr?

So, i like to keep "stock look", and i don't want to remove egr physically, or bend water pipes.

And i also think that 3bar map maybe is not the best option? Probably 3.5?


Share with me mates!!
Do you need one of these? Comes with 1-3bar adjustable map sensor.

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/231843333249
Oldie is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 18 Old 20-12-17 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Padrada's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Portugal
County: Lisbon
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oldie View Post
Do you need one of these? Comes with 1-3bar adjustable map sensor.

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/231843333249
eheheh, thanks mate, but that's not what i'm looking for...

Just need some more data to make my decision...between 3pin or 4pin MAP sensor.
Padrada is offline  
Status: [URL
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wrexham
Posts: 1,758
have a read here
https://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/tunin...-turbo-19.html
mentions a map sensor MAP = Bosch 0 281 006 059 (4 Bar from VAG cars)
no idea of wire numbers etc contact cossshot
crossshot likes this.
sussexa is offline  
Status: To err is human,but feel is divine...
AO Member
 
dusanGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Novi Sad
County: Serbia
Posts: 772

Member car:

GT JTDm + Q2

Maybe you need this scheme?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Wiring of MAPS.jpg (47.6 KB, 29 views)
dusanGT is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Germany
County: Bayern
Posts: 559
crossshot is offline  
(Post Link) post #7 of 18 Old 21-12-17 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Padrada's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Portugal
County: Lisbon
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by dusanGT View Post
Maybe you need this scheme?
Hi dusan, thanks for the scheme but that's not the issue.

What I'm looking for is just pictures from final result, how it looks, if i need to adapt beyond wiring and ecu.

Like i said, i don't want to change water pipe or remove egr.

3pin map I'm pretty sure that will touch on water pioe and 4pin from 16v i think will touch on egr and may also touch in water pipe.

I saw picture from a jtd 8v on a saab that the water pipe is perfect, but i don't know if thermostat is the same
Padrada is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Germany
County: Bayern
Posts: 559
Did you look at the link in my post? There you see pictures with the 4Bar sensor with egr.
crossshot is offline  
Status: To err is human,but feel is divine...
AO Member
 
dusanGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Novi Sad
County: Serbia
Posts: 772

Member car:

GT JTDm + Q2

Dear Padrada,
It is possible to simple replace 3pin MAP by 4pin MAP (with modify of coresponding values in ECU software) because of almost same way of fastening of both MAPs on inlet manifold.
I made this modification on my former 147 1.9 JTD 8v, by use described scheme of connection by use of simple male and female "blade" connectors.
I don't understand why you mentioned EGR in the question... because MAP instalation and function is completely independent from EGR.

Last edited by dusanGT; 21-12-17 at 12:10.
dusanGT is offline  
(Post Link) post #10 of 18 Old 21-12-17 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Padrada's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Portugal
County: Lisbon
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by crossshot View Post
Did you look at the link in my post? There you see pictures with the 4Bar sensor with egr.
Yes i saw it.
I'm not interested in parts outside brand sorry.
Padrada is offline  
(Post Link) post #11 of 18 Old 21-12-17 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Padrada's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Portugal
County: Lisbon
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by dusanGT View Post
Dear Padrada,
It is possible to simple replace 3pin MAP by 4pin MAP (with modify of coresponding values in ECU software) because of almost same way of fastening of both MAPs on inlet manifold.
I made this modification on my former 147 1.9 JTD 8v, by use described scheme of connection by use of simple male and female "blade" connectors.
I don't understand why you mentioned EGR in the question... because MAP instalation and function is completely independent from EGR.
Hi dusan,

You are misunderstanding me.
Original map position is on hood direction and just in front of it have a water pipe on his way right? Thats why the sensor have that inclination to not touch on the pipe.

As i can see from 16v sensor the plug will be to the left, and on the left you have the egr.

My question is, it will touch on egr or water pipe, or there's space to plug without any issues?
Padrada is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Germany
County: Bayern
Posts: 559
Outside brand? Its a normal Bosch MAP sensor like all other Bosch MAP Sensors...

I have also have a MAP sensor from my swap 120hp 8V JTD in stock with connector.
crossshot is offline  
Status: To err is human,but feel is divine...
AO Member
 
dusanGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Novi Sad
County: Serbia
Posts: 772

Member car:

GT JTDm + Q2

Padrada, I don't remember any placement problems about swap 3wire by 4wire MAPs...
dusanGT is offline  
(Post Link) post #14 of 18 Old 21-12-17 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Padrada's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Portugal
County: Lisbon
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by crossshot View Post
Outside brand? Its a normal Bosch MAP sensor like all other Bosch MAP Sensors...

I have also have a MAP sensor from my swap 120hp 8V JTD in stock with connector.
Lool, yes is Bosch but the connectors are different.
That one have two fixing holes,, and i know thats no big deal, but i don't like it, that's it.

JTD 120 is 3bar or 3,5?
The connector sounds great....
Padrada is offline  
(Post Link) post #15 of 18 Old 21-12-17 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Padrada's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Portugal
County: Lisbon
Posts: 33
Should i choose 4bar?
I think 3bar will be to tight...

I saw that 3bar is from 200mbar till 3000mbar and 4bar is from 500mbar till 4000mbar.

What lowest value means? Why 4bar is higher?
Padrada is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Germany
County: Bayern
Posts: 559
120hp 8V JTD has a 3bar sensor. It the fiat part number 55206797

But i dont have the sensor in stock. Only the connectors.

Male and female 4-pin connector and 3-pin female connector (perfect for make a 3-pin to 4-pin adapter)
http://www.danverclan.de/media/pics/stilo/map_001.jpg
http://www.danverclan.de/media/pics/stilo/map_002.jpg

Or the 4-pin male connector from the stock 120hp wiring loom
http://www.danverclan.de/media/pics/stilo/map_003.jpg
http://www.danverclan.de/media/pics/stilo/map_004.jpg
crossshot is offline  
(Post Link) post #17 of 18 Old 26-12-17 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Padrada's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Portugal
County: Lisbon
Posts: 33
Hi Chris,

I'm interested in the original connector...
I think i will go to the 4bar one, so that connector will be nice.

PM sent!
Padrada is offline  
Status: Suck , Squeeze , Bang , Smoke!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Allerd's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 1723
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Netherlands
County: Drenthe
Posts: 770
Iíve made a wiring loom for this application.
If you want a 4 bar map you could use the 0281 002 576 , Iím currently also running that one without problems.
Using these 4 pin map sensors goes without any clearance issues.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 77F17180-3F4F-4D01-99A3-057625ED51EB_1514844469159.jpg (43.7 KB, 17 views)
Allerd is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Tuning & Upgrades

Tags
jtd , map , owners , sensor , upgraded

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome