3.2 with 3.0 ECU???? - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Tuning & Upgrades Discuss performance enhancements for your Alfa Romeo

 2Likes
  • 2 Post By Pud237
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 8 Old 11-12-17 Thread Starter
Status: Rh - C8H18
AO Member
 
Speedmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bulgaria
County: Stara Zagora
Posts: 377
Garage
3.2 with 3.0 ECU????

Question is if i will be able to run same ECU again - used before on my 3.0V6 from AR 166. It will be rolling road live remaped as well.
Any experience?

Last edited by Speedmaster; 19-02-18 at 13:55.
Speedmaster is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,752
I guess you use 2.5 V6 CF2 ECU in your 156, with single lambda sensor? If so, you'll have no problems. I've ran 3.0 & 3.2 engines in 156 2.5 V6 cars with the original ECUs, no issues, as have many others on the forum.

Obviously the remap will be able to correct the air/fuel ratios and optimise timings.
Pud237 is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 8 Old 11-12-17 Thread Starter
Status: Rh - C8H18
AO Member
 
Speedmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bulgaria
County: Stara Zagora
Posts: 377
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pud237 View Post
I guess you use 2.5 V6 CF2 ECU in your 156, with single lambda sensor? If so, you'll have no problems. I've ran 3.0 & 3.2 engines in 156 2.5 V6 cars with the original ECUs, no issues, as have many others on the forum.

Obviously the remap will be able to correct the air/fuel ratios and optimise timings.
Actually i'm using AR 166's 3.0V6 CF2 ECU and IIRC is same as 2.5 V6. So it's good news.
Is there any problem with MAF readings if i use same 3.0V6 maf because it seems that 2.5\3.0V6 maf number different from 3.2.????
Speedmaster is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,752
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedmaster View Post
Actually i'm using AR 166's 3.0V6 CF2 ECU and IIRC is same as 2.5 V6. So it's good news.
Is there any problem with MAF readings if i use same 3.0V6 maf because it seems that 2.5\3.0V6 maf number different from 3.2.????
Just use the MAF for the 3.0 ECU in the correct diameter housing, it will see the extra airflow.
Pud237 is offline  
Status: 156 3.0 GTAm 1070kg 200kw
AO Silver Member
 
alan Q4+33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Slovenia
County: -
Posts: 2,020

Member car:

156, 166

Yep shouldnt be a problem to run on same ecu.
alan Q4+33 is offline  
(Post Link) post #6 of 8 Old 17-12-17 Thread Starter
Status: Rh - C8H18
AO Member
 
Speedmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bulgaria
County: Stara Zagora
Posts: 377
Garage
Don't want to bump another thread, can someone tell me exact ID of OEM GTA(or other 3.2's) maf housing.
I thought that it's same as 3.0 V6 which is 70mm, but i saw here that it might be 80mm or bigger. It seems that i must machine one for this setup.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pud237 View Post
Just use the MAF for the 3.0 ECU in the correct diameter housing, it will see the extra airflow.
Browsed here a lot for correct OPEL maf sensor replacements with Bosch F00C2G2063 sensor, and my mapper said less risk will be taken if i use original 3.2 sensor......i can buy cheap new Bosch's here cause we have good shop discounts, but having one new for 3.0V6 and one barely used is pointless to buy new if only new housing soft it out. To be fair i have some doubts that changing F00C2G2063 sensor between Opel maf's and Alfa 3.2's will work 100% fine in high rev's, because i have some experience with changing same sensors(Bosch) between 2.0TS GF2 and 2.5V6 CF2, but i don't know if it's a case with 3.2's......
Thanks again, being very helpful.....

Rear Wheel Drive Mid - Engined Alfa 156 3.0 V6 '99 - trackday car
Alfa 156 2.0 TS '00 - daily car

Fiat Coupe 20VTurbo, GT2860RS,
water-meth injection 120cc, custom manifold, 3" Downpipe, FMIC - entertainment car
Speedmaster is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,752
You should use the MAF sensor & housing which is originally used with whichever ECU you are using. If you change to a different sensor or housing diameter you will have to re-do airflow/voltage linearisation maps in the ECU which is a lot of work. I very much doubt you will take a 3.0 MAF sensor out of range with a 3.2 engine, so stick with that for now would be my advice.
alan Q4+33 and Speedmaster like this.
Pud237 is offline  
(Post Link) post #8 of 8 Old 17-12-17 Thread Starter
Status: Rh - C8H18
AO Member
 
Speedmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bulgaria
County: Stara Zagora
Posts: 377
Garage
Many thanks, i will convince my mapper to stay with OEM maf i'm using now - 3.0 V6 (Bosch 0 280 217 531) and just to correct fueling on rolling road......

Last edited by Speedmaster; 17-12-17 at 20:12.
Speedmaster is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Tuning & Upgrades

Tags
ecu

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome