2.4jtd into 147 - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Tuning & Upgrades Discuss performance enhancements for your Alfa Romeo

 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Pud237
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 21 Old 16-02-17 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
SketchYDG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Bucks
County: Bucks
Posts: 105

Member car:

Brera SV 2.4JTDm

2.4jtd into 147

Hello one and all,

So I might planning a project, I want to put a 2.4jtd into a 147.

Question number 1.... will the engine even fit?

Question 2.... if I took the engine and sub frame from a 156 2.4 could I bolt that to a 147 JTD without out too much hassle? (Are the subframes from a 147/156 compatible in both cars?)

Question 3.... will a standalone ecu work with the rest of the electrics in a 147?

Many thanks for any and all info
SketchYDG is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,752
Quote:
Originally Posted by SketchYDG View Post
Hello one and all,

So I might planning a project, I want to put a 2.4jtd into a 147.

Question number 1.... will the engine even fit?

Question 2.... if I took the engine and sub frame from a 156 2.4 could I bolt that to a 147 JTD without out too much hassle? (Are the subframes from a 147/156 compatible in both cars?)

Question 3.... will a standalone ecu work with the rest of the electrics in a 147?

Many thanks for any and all info
1) Yes

2) Yes

3) This is the hard bit. If you're building a track car and don't care about the rest of the electrical systems on the car then it would be easy, just take what you need from the donor 156. But if you want to do the conversion so that it works like it would if Alfa had done it from the factory its going to be very difficult and expensive. There aren't a lot of standalone diesel ECUs.

If I was asked to tackle a conversion like this for a customer I think I would prefer to transplant the whole car wiring loom from the 156 and adapt it to suit the 147, completely losing the body computer, canbus etc.

Autolusso Penrith - UK's leading independent Alfa Romeo specialist with branches in Bedfordshire, Cumbria & Dorset

Wizard Exhaust systems available here

Tel: 01768 879 171
Pud237 is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 21 Old 16-02-17 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
SketchYDG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Bucks
County: Bucks
Posts: 105

Member car:

Brera SV 2.4JTDm

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pud237 View Post
3) This is the hard bit. If you're building a track car and don't care about the rest of the electrical systems on the car then it would be easy, just take what you need from the donor 156. But if you want to do the conversion so that it works like it would if Alfa had done it from the factory its going to be very difficult and expensive. There aren't a lot of standalone diesel ECUs.

If I was asked to tackle a conversion like this for a customer I think I would prefer to transplant the whole car wiring loom from the 156 and adapt it to suit the 147, completely losing the body computer, canbus etc.
So if I transplanted the engine loom and ecu from the 156 would that be a viable option to keep the rest of the 147 electrics?


*EDIT* Ignore the above, that makes no sense in reply to what you'd said. But on another note would I be able to keep driveshafts,gearbox and hubs from the 156 to bolt onto the 147?
SketchYDG is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,752
Yes just take everything from the 156 and bolt it on to the 147. Thats the easy bit
Pud237 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
County: -
Posts: 400
It won't physically fit in the 147 engine bay though, will it?
User Unknown is offline  
(Post Link) post #6 of 21 Old 16-02-17 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
SketchYDG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Bucks
County: Bucks
Posts: 105

Member car:

Brera SV 2.4JTDm

Okay, so if I want the electrics to function as factory with that engine, how would you recommend I went about that? Would a stand alone ecu do the job with the right wiring/programming? Or would putting a stand alone on the engine work with all the other units in the car?
SketchYDG is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,752
Quote:
Originally Posted by User Unknown View Post
It won't physically fit in the 147 engine bay though, will it?
Its the same engine bay as the 156 & GT so yes it fits. In fact Alfa did a few and raced them years back.
User Unknown likes this.
Pud237 is offline  
(Post Link) post #8 of 21 Old 17-02-17 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
SketchYDG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Bucks
County: Bucks
Posts: 105

Member car:

Brera SV 2.4JTDm

Okay so I've been looking around and from what I can tell the following linked ECU system should work for the application required. It is a standalone system but has expansion capabilities for CAN systems.

https://www.bodylogicuk.com/index.php/9/

Anyone able to confirm my hypothesis?
SketchYDG is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,752
Thats the difficulty, you're on fairly new ground here. You're going to need to buy a 156 2.4 JTD for a donor, buy that ECU system and do a hell of a lot of mechanical, wiring and mapping/programming work to find out if you're right or not.
Pud237 is offline  
(Post Link) post #10 of 21 Old 17-02-17 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
SketchYDG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Bucks
County: Bucks
Posts: 105

Member car:

Brera SV 2.4JTDm

I was thinking the best way to figure out if it works is to get a 147 that is known to be working on standard setup, attach standalone without swapping the engine, trial and error programming/wiring to see if standalone will work with all the other computers in the car.

Reason I'm thinking that is, if a standalone works with a standard 147 setup then it will work with the 2.4 engine transplanted into it
SketchYDG is offline  
(Post Link) post #11 of 21 Old 20-02-17 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
SketchYDG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Bucks
County: Bucks
Posts: 105

Member car:

Brera SV 2.4JTDm

Okay so over the weekend I was discussing this project with a friend, and he had a crazy idea that might just work.

Run both ECUs, so use a 1.9jtd 147 as a starting block, take out the engine keep the ECU put new engine and ECU in, splice appropriate wires to keep both ecus running. Would this work?
SketchYDG is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,752
Quote:
Originally Posted by SketchYDG View Post
Okay so over the weekend I was discussing this project with a friend, and he had a crazy idea that might just work.

Run both ECUs, so use a 1.9jtd 147 as a starting block, take out the engine keep the ECU put new engine and ECU in, splice appropriate wires to keep both ecus running. Would this work?
Yeah it might do, that could be one way of doing it.
Pud237 is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
typos1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 3,776

Member car:

147 Ducati Corse

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pud237 View Post
Thats the difficulty, you're on fairly new ground here. You're going to need to buy a 156 2.4 JTD for a donor, buy that ECU system and do a hell of a lot of mechanical, wiring and mapping/programming work to find out if you're right or not.
Not that new ground actually - in this thread :

https://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/tunin...o-2-4-20v.html

GT 2.4 says he attached the immobiliser directly to the ECU to get it to work, everything was fine, apart from no rev counter or temp and that the fuel gauge was erratic, the last I think could be down to a faulty sender unit rather than the conversion.
typos1 is offline  
(Post Link) post #14 of 21 Old 22-02-17 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
SketchYDG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Bucks
County: Bucks
Posts: 105

Member car:

Brera SV 2.4JTDm

This is all very helpful, but when the immobiliser was wired to the ECU which key/ignition barrell was used? Also did he go through the loom straight into the ECU or run new wires bypassing the loom?

My aim is to get everything working together e.g. Body computer, can bus and a 2.4 ECU/standalone.

I'm thinking the standalone route while expensive will be less hassle in the long run. But unsure what will work with can bus and body computers
SketchYDG is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,752
Quote:
Originally Posted by typos1 View Post
GT 2.4 says he attached the immobiliser directly to the ECU to get it to work, everything was fine, apart from no rev counter or temp and that the fuel gauge was erratic, the last I think could be down to a faulty sender unit rather than the conversion.
Yes he is using 156 ECU & 156 codebox, I presume the GT's body computer is still present? The body computer will still be talking to ABS and the various car nodes but I wonder what he has done to stop it from reporting errors for example flashing odometer or how he has managed to get the GT ABS unit to talk to the 156 engine ECU?
Pud237 is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
typos1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 3,776

Member car:

147 Ducati Corse

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pud237 View Post
Yes he is using 156 ECU & 156 codebox, I presume the GT's body computer is still present? The body computer will still be talking to ABS and the various car nodes but I wonder what he has done to stop it from reporting errors for example flashing odometer or how he has managed to get the GT ABS unit to talk to the 156 engine ECU?
Quote:
Originally Posted by SketchYDG View Post
This is all very helpful, but when the immobiliser was wired to the ECU which key/ignition barrell was used? Also did he go through the loom straight into the ECU or run new wires bypassing the loom?

My aim is to get everything working together e.g. Body computer, can bus and a 2.4 ECU/standalone.

I'm thinking the standalone route while expensive will be less hassle in the long run. But unsure what will work with can bus and body computers
Dunno, he didnt give a lot of detail in that thread, I ve posted and asked him how he got on with the gauges. If he responds I ll direct him here and hopefully he can tell us what he did.

In your other thread SketchYEG, I also linked to the thread about that Sicilian 147 2.4 from a few years back, they were links to Italian forums about it, I m sure there was some info on how he got it all working.

Last edited by typos1; 22-02-17 at 16:28.
typos1 is offline  
(Post Link) post #17 of 21 Old 02-03-17 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
SketchYDG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Bucks
County: Bucks
Posts: 105

Member car:

Brera SV 2.4JTDm

I had a look at those threads you linked me to but I can't see any reference on there about the electronics issues.

The further I delve into this the more it's starting to look like it's going to be a trial and error to see what works kind of project.
SketchYDG is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
typos1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 3,776

Member car:

147 Ducati Corse

Quote:
Originally Posted by SketchYDG View Post
I had a look at those threads you linked me to but I can't see any reference on there about the electronics issues.

The further I delve into this the more it's starting to look like it's going to be a trial and error to see what works kind of project.
Lol, really ? One thread links to a thread about a working GT 2.4 where the poster, "GT 2.4", talks about having issues with getting the 2.4 ECU to talk to the 147 BC and eventually gets it almost fully working - only the rev counter and temp gauge dont work. The other links to a thread about a working 147 2.4, within that thread are google translate links to threads on Italian forums where similar problems with the 2.4 ECU talking to the 147 BC are discussed.

Probably best to read them again more thoroughly !

Almost everything is plug and play - the 2.4 just slots in cos the 147 and GT are just different versions of the 156, the only issues you ll have are the 2.4 ECU talking to the 147/GT BC, which can be overcome as the 147 and GT 2.4s in those threads show.
typos1 is offline  
(Post Link) post #19 of 21 Old 03-03-17 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
SketchYDG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Bucks
County: Bucks
Posts: 105

Member car:

Brera SV 2.4JTDm

Sorry I meant the links to the Italian Alfa forum, haha. (Should have been more specific)

But yes I did read through 2.4gt's thread and it was helpful in some respects, although I'd love to know what wiring diagrams he used as I can't find any anywhere.

I know that the engine and drivetrain will fit, along with suspension, just need to find time/space to start this project
SketchYDG is offline  
(Post Link) post #20 of 21 Old 03-03-17 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
SketchYDG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Bucks
County: Bucks
Posts: 105

Member car:

Brera SV 2.4JTDm

Also after reading through again, and seeing that a 159 ECU was mentioned, would that be more compatible than a 156 ECU?

From what I can gather, in theory it should work with the Body computer and can bus, but might need modification to work with the older 2.4 engine
SketchYDG is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
typos1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 3,776

Member car:

147 Ducati Corse

Quote:
Originally Posted by SketchYDG View Post
Also after reading through again, and seeing that a 159 ECU was mentioned, would that be more compatible than a 156 ECU?

From what I can gather, in theory it should work with the Body computer and can bus, but might need modification to work with the older 2.4 engine
Wel, its more than just theory, it WILL work, its been done, plus Alfa and other companies raced some 2.4 JTD 147s and GTs.

If it was me I d get all the mechanics done, then park the car in the drive and work on solutions for the ECU.
typos1 is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Tuning & Upgrades

Tags
147 , 24jtd

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome