2.4JTDm DIY tune done. Can you have a look and advise me? :) - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Tuning & Upgrades Discuss performance enhancements for your Alfa Romeo

 4Likes
  • 1 Post By PoweredbyJTD
  • 1 Post By PoweredbyJTD
  • 1 Post By DavidAlfa166
  • 1 Post By DavidAlfa166
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 21 Old 30-01-17 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
DavidAlfa166's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Spain
County: A Coruna
Posts: 401
Well Happy 2.4JTDm DIY tune done. Can you have a look and advise me? :)

After a ton of hours learning on ecudedit and ecuconnections forums, I think I finally understood the torque, IQ limiters, NM/iq map, driver wishes, Rail pressure, duration maps...
It was a nice learning experience, a pity at first, reading matrix hex codes everywhere .
Turbo is a GT2256V.
Stock was 70mm3 IQ, 2400mbar boost and 1600bar Rail.
Currently all limiters rised to 90mm3, 2500mbar, 1776bar.
AFR lowered a bit, specially on 800-1500rpm to give more low end torque, the rest is lowered a bit too.
Duration extended to 100mm3.
tribesman, sarkan, sussexa, anyone already experienced on this, can you give your opinion and advices, if it's possible to make it better, or if I have to lower some values to prevent damage ?
The car feels much stronger, it's no longer dead before turbo spool, much better on the 1000-1300rpm range, the idle is also much stronger, like my 10V was, I can release clutch on 1st gear and it moves gently, before it stalled easily, specially if AC was on and the fans running.
It pushes me on the seat from 1500rpm even in 4th gear!
(Perhaps)Soon I'll replace the injetors with 308s from 159 for faster injection, lower EGT.

Download ols project:
http://www.mediafire.com/file/8dp7nfpmf41p3vw/10004.zip


3rd gear, video of first try:

That was with 80mm3. Now it's better
Sorry, dropped the phone while doing a run for logging purposes ...
Cheers!


Last edited by DavidAlfa166; 30-01-17 at 23:50.
DavidAlfa166 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
(Post Link) post #2 of 21 Old 30-01-17 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
DavidAlfa166's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Spain
County: A Coruna
Posts: 401
Well, this last file didn't work, I'm sure I put a wrong rail pressure svbl somewhere , engine starts and stalls.
Will repost the corrected file later

Edit: I wrote 1790 instead 17900 in the rail lim
Now running like a beast again. Very little smoke, just a light grey puff when flooring the pedal, did that even on stock maps
File updated

Edit2:
Uploaded wrong file, Now it's the good one!

Last edited by DavidAlfa166; 30-01-17 at 22:43.
DavidAlfa166 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
domholyfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
County: -
Posts: 322

Member car:

Alfa.......

How do you adjust the rpm? I want to raise mine a little?

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk
domholyfield is offline  
(Post Link) post #4 of 21 Old 31-01-17 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
DavidAlfa166's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Spain
County: A Coruna
Posts: 401
For more rpm you have to increase torque values in the Torque limiter, driver wish maps, IQ limiter Rpm , you'll see in the maps that over 4000rpm torque decreases quickly, at 5000rpm it's usually zero.
So increase torque at 400+Nm until 5000rpm, that way it will rev up nicely, but I wouldn't do it. Much more stress for the engine internals, turbo...

I'm fine tuning it, there were some mistakes, now its getting better and better, I'm adjusting N75 maps to reduce boost spikes but also keep the spool as short as possible.

By the way, it seems that tuners don't want to help, they prefer to keep charging 300 and keeping this world as closed as possible for their profit
It's amazing that they charge as much 90 for only disabling EGR, changing EGR switch SBV or EGR hysteresis maps
Found some tuning maps done by famous chiptuners here, and expensive, they make pure crap, +5% on all maps and that's all

Last edited by DavidAlfa166; 31-01-17 at 13:48.
DavidAlfa166 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
domholyfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
County: -
Posts: 322

Member car:

Alfa.......

Great info. I just want my tick over around 1,000rpm...No more.
I am Muiti ECU Scanner pro and so I was wandering if you can raise it with the software?

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk
domholyfield is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
PoweredbyJTD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
County: -
Posts: 19

Member car:

156 '04 1.9 16V

Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidAlfa166 View Post
For more rpm you have to increase torque values in the Torque limiter, driver wish maps, IQ limiter Rpm , you'll see in the maps that over 4000rpm torque decreases quickly, at 5000rpm it's usually zero.
So increase torque at 400+Nm until 5000rpm, that way it will rev up nicely, but I wouldn't do it. Much more stress for the engine internals, turbo...

I'm fine tuning it, there were some mistakes, now its getting better and better, I'm adjusting N75 maps to reduce boost spikes but also keep the spool as short as possible.

By the way, it seems that tuners don't want to help, they prefer to keep charging 300 and keeping this world as closed as possible for their profit
It's amazing that they charge as much 90 for only disabling EGR, changing EGR switch SBV or EGR hysteresis maps
Found some tuning maps done by famous chiptuners here, and expensive, they make pure crap, +5% on all maps and that's all
Yes i have a same experience with "pro tuners". Nobody help or anything only say that he can do it for x hundred euros. I have couple questions and i wrote on ecuedit, ecuconnections, and here. Only visit couple people but nobody answer. This is business...
domholyfield likes this.
PoweredbyJTD is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
PoweredbyJTD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
County: -
Posts: 19

Member car:

156 '04 1.9 16V

Quote:
Originally Posted by domholyfield View Post
Great info. I just want my tick over around 1,000rpm...No more.
I am Muiti ECU Scanner pro and so I was wandering if you can raise it with the software?

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk
You can't raise with multi ecuscan. Only download the software from ecu with another tools, not with MES. And after all you can raise or decreaise everything, but really really hard to understand. The software for this is winols, ecm, etc.
domholyfield likes this.
PoweredbyJTD is offline  
(Post Link) post #8 of 21 Old 31-01-17 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
DavidAlfa166's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Spain
County: A Coruna
Posts: 401
Yep you can raise tickover speed, there's a map for that based on temperature. Increase as you like.
Want to learn? It took me two months reading on ecuconnections, ecuedit, etc... before I became brave enough to finally tune and transfer it into the ecu.
Few mistakes at first, it wouldn't start, or got limp mode, just by small mistakes here and there.
Only way to change that is reading, editing and writing back to the ECU.
Mpps 13.02 is good for that, pretty cheap on eBay. Forget about using a diagnostic cable for that.
You have to find out what's the ECU on your car, edc15c5, edc15c7, edc16c8, edc16c39... Then try to find the maps based on the sw number, if you don't, don't worry, find for the same ecu on other alfas, the maps will have a slight offset but you'll find them very easily.

Current torque is pretty awesome, today was raining and I got wheelspin even in 4th gear!
domholyfield likes this.
DavidAlfa166 is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
typos1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 3,779

Member car:

147 Ducati Corse

Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidAlfa166 View Post


3rd gear, video of first try:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NQL0pQQTyLk
That video reminded me just how good the 2.4 sounds
typos1 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
domholyfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
County: -
Posts: 322

Member car:

Alfa.......

Thanks for your help with the tickover. I love my 2.4 sound too... Just wish the injectors were a little quieter.

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk
domholyfield is offline  
Status: 156 3.0 GTAm 1070kg 200kw
AO Silver Member
 
alan Q4+33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Slovenia
County: -
Posts: 2,020

Member car:

156, 166

Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidAlfa166 View Post
For more rpm you have to increase torque values in the Torque limiter, driver wish maps, IQ limiter Rpm , you'll see in the maps that over 4000rpm torque decreases quickly, at 5000rpm it's usually zero.
So increase torque at 400+Nm until 5000rpm, that way it will rev up nicely, but I wouldn't do it. Much more stress for the engine internals, turbo...
i wouldnt agree, engine is more stressed at 1700rpm at full throttle and building full boost. I have mine mapped more gasoline style as i like it like that. Revs to 5500 and torque builds slowly to save the clutch and dmf. Thanks to Tribesman

alan Q4+33 is offline  
(Post Link) post #12 of 21 Old 01-02-17 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
DavidAlfa166's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Spain
County: A Coruna
Posts: 401
Notice how the power is gone after 4500.
Rises much faster in 3500-4500 than 4500-5500
No sense flooring the pedal before 2000-2500rpm, that's pretty stupid ! 1500-1700rpm are for relax, not for racing
DavidAlfa166 is offline  
Status: 156 3.0 GTAm 1070kg 200kw
AO Silver Member
 
alan Q4+33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Slovenia
County: -
Posts: 2,020

Member car:

156, 166

ofcourse the power falls down, but with gtb2260vk it pulls strong till 4800 rpm and goes easy over 5000. This video was just made to show the revs, there is rarely a occasion when i would rev it over 5200-5300 rpm. But its nice to know that it goes hahaha.
alan Q4+33 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
PoweredbyJTD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
County: -
Posts: 19

Member car:

156 '04 1.9 16V

What maps are you modifiyng?Please enumerate all because im do it a map packs for 156 2.4 10v 150HP and im thinking everything finded succesfully what important?Thank you.
PoweredbyJTD is offline  
(Post Link) post #15 of 21 Old 02-02-17 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
DavidAlfa166's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Spain
County: A Coruna
Posts: 401
Just import my .ols and check it
All maps changes are shown in different colour...
Although that had few errors...
I have ed16c39, your's will be edc16c8 or 7, but the base is the same.
DavidAlfa166 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
PoweredbyJTD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
County: -
Posts: 19

Member car:

156 '04 1.9 16V

Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidAlfa166 View Post
Just import my .ols and check it
All maps changes are shown in different colour...
Although that had few errors...
I have ed16c39, your's will be edc16c8 or 7, but the base is the same.
this one is edc15c7 Really different
PoweredbyJTD is offline  
(Post Link) post #17 of 21 Old 02-02-17 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
DavidAlfa166's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Spain
County: A Coruna
Posts: 401
Yes , very different in map locations, but base is the same, driver wishes, IQ-Nm conversion, torque limiters, rail pressure, rail limiters, IQ limiters by temp and rpm, injector duration, turbo req. , turbo limiter, and also all limiter maps have single vale limiters.
Lots of stuff...
DavidAlfa166 is offline  
(Post Link) post #18 of 21 Old 06-02-17 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
DavidAlfa166's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Spain
County: A Coruna
Posts: 401
I see Ecuconnections, Ecudedit forums are pretty dead too.
Few years ago there was a lot of people helping, now I barely see any answers when people ask for help.
Now it seems they're only thinking on money, selling free Damos available on internet or sending PM with their prices when you ask something...
hicman3003 likes this.
DavidAlfa166 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Posts: 743
Not a tuning thing, but may I ask? That 70 mm3 IQ figure for a stock engine in post 1: is that across the rev range? I'm getting 69-70 mm3 at 2000 -2200 rpm, am wondering if that IQ is a bit low?
R.T. is offline  
(Post Link) post #20 of 21 Old 08-02-17 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
DavidAlfa166's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Spain
County: A Coruna
Posts: 401
That IQ is ok for stock 175hp. But it changes over the rpm range, check it in 1500-45000rpm.
Max IQ I ever saw running it original was 74mm3.
But at 4000rpm I think max. was 64mm3.Although that was with a dirty intake manifold, worn out swirl flaps...
Now I run 90mm3<3500 rpm, 85mm3 3500 rpm and 75mm3 4500rpm.
All you can inject cleanly(no smoke or very little smoke) depends on MAF reading..
I have 1240-1200mg <3500rpm, 1150mg 3500rpm, 1100mg 4000rpm.
Divide that to 16-16.5 (Lower AFR makes too much smoke) that will give mg fuel, divide by 0.85 and you'll get mm3 fuel.
Example:
1200mg air / 16 = 75mg fuel 75/0.85=88mm3 fuel.


Given 64mm3 fuel @4000rpm gives 390Nm at 4000rpm from the IQ/Nm map. Rest friction losses, about 70Nm, that's 320Nm
And [email protected] give ~180hp

Now with 80mm3 fuel, 450Nm-70=380Nm=~213hp.

If I had more air I could run [email protected], that's 241hp!

Last edited by DavidAlfa166; 08-02-17 at 01:02.
DavidAlfa166 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Posts: 743
Many thanks for those figures, and tips on calculating power. I'll take some more logs and compare.
R.T. is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Tuning & Upgrades

Tags
24jtdm , advise , diy , tune

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome